We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very professional”

Jack Harter Helicopters - Tours
Ranked #3 of 34 Tours in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Jack Harter is the Originator of Helicopter Tours on Kauai. Coming to Kauai in 1962, Jack began offering helicopter tours and charter flights with a focus on safety and quality. Jack's dedication to these important qualities is carried on by the company's hand-picked pilots and ground crew staff that are dedicated to continuing Jack's founding principles. The company offers scenic tours in two types of helicopters: Jack Harter Helicopters' luxurious 6-passenger Eurocopter AStar helicopter features huge floor-to-ceiling windows, BOSE noise-cancelling headsets, air-conditioning, and a cabin layout that has no physical obstructions to viewing the scenery outside. For the more adventurous, their 4-passenger Hughes 500s are flown with the doors removed. There is no luxury in the Hughes 500, but the doors-off flight is very cool! (Double meaning intended!) We ask you to be aware that there are WEIGHT LIMITATIONS for all helicopter tours. The 2 front passenger seats in BOTH helicopter types have more restrictive weight limits, so the SMALLEST PASSENGERS ON ANY GIVEN TOUR ARE USUALLY SEATED IN THE FRONT SEATS. Please look at the company's website to view the aircraft seating diagrams. The company's 60 and 90-minute tours feature Kauai's beautiful Na Pali Coast, the spectacular Waimea Canyon, numerous waterfall-filled valleys including the Hanalei Valley, and Mt. Waialeale, one of the wettest places on earth.
Zuerich
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very professional”
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

This company does an awesome job. very friendly on the phone when we booked the tour. extremely well organized when it came to the security briefing and the explanations on the day of the flight.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Verena8050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,525
    89
    22
    13
    32
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Breathtaking experience”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

My husband, son and I made a reservation on the door-less helicopter ride. The decision was based on less photo glare... and therefore better pictures. That was true, but more importantly I think the ride just seemed more in touch with the amazing nature that you glide over. Breathtaking views at every turn for sure... but I was amazed at how close they would get you to a waterfall or rock arch for a photo. The pictures are amazing! Unfortunately I do not have the cord with me to download them to my computer.... so I can't share them now. The guide/pilot, Jason, was reassuring and relayed stories and information about the Island for the entire one hour trip. As you circle the island we encountered rain, clouds, and sun. It was truly amazing and worth every penny.... we will never forget it.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank charris724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
“The only way to see the beauty of this very special place”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Fantastic company: personable customer service, very accommodating, know their stuff, and they make it feel like it's all about you. The very funny, and puts-you-at-ease pilot we had was Harry. He's flown some celebrities and has extensive flying experience and solid knowledge of the island. The prices are reasonable and they make it a point to make sure you get your bang for the buck.

For photographers, if flying with doors on: wear black, and cover the belt buckle with your arm when shooting (buckle is metal) and just enjoy the ride. I would recommend doors off.

Thanks Jack Harter Helicopters, for making our experience one we will never forget. It truly is, the only way to see the beautiful and special energy of Kauai.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank 294keithr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An Amazing Experience”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was a wonderful tour. We chose the 'Doors off-Hughes 500' tour. It was expensive but well worth it. The views were amazing. The pilot was knowledgeable. Definitely glad we followed instructions and dressed appropriately---long pants and a jacket.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrTude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
675 reviews
242 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Amazing - open sided helicopter tour :)”
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Took the small, open helicopter tour of Kauai. One of the most amazing experiences we've had. Gorgeous views; you really get up close to the landscape and get a view that you will not be able to get any other way. The open helicopter was amazing - once you got use to it ;)

Would highly recommend.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank traveller2332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Harter Helicopters - Tours also viewed

 

Been to Jack Harter Helicopters - Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing