We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome ride!”

Jack Harter Helicopters - Tours
Ranked #4 of 33 Tours in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Jack Harter is the Originator of Helicopter Tours on Kauai. Coming to Kauai in 1962, Jack began offering helicopter tours and charter flights with a focus on safety and quality. Jack's dedication to these important qualities is carried on by the company's hand-picked pilots and ground crew staff that are dedicated to continuing Jack's founding principles. The company offers scenic tours in two types of helicopters: Jack Harter Helicopters' luxurious 6-passenger Eurocopter AStar helicopter features huge floor-to-ceiling windows, BOSE noise-cancelling headsets, air-conditioning, and a cabin layout that has no physical obstructions to viewing the scenery outside. For the more adventurous, their 4-passenger Hughes 500s are flown with the doors removed. There is no luxury in the Hughes 500, but the doors-off flight is very cool! (Double meaning intended!) We ask you to be aware that there are WEIGHT LIMITATIONS for all helicopter tours. The 2 front passenger seats in BOTH helicopter types have more restrictive weight limits, so the SMALLEST PASSENGERS ON ANY GIVEN TOUR ARE USUALLY SEATED IN THE FRONT SEATS. Please look at the company's website to view the aircraft seating diagrams. The company's 60 and 90-minute tours feature Kauai's beautiful Na Pali Coast, the spectacular Waimea Canyon, numerous waterfall-filled valleys including the Hanalei Valley, and Mt. Waialeale, one of the wettest places on earth.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome ride!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We went with this company because it was one of the recommendations from our hotel. The ride without doors was a bit nerve wracking at first but glad we did it. It was very safe and it allowed for much better pictures/video and experience overall.

The staff and pilot was super friendly and knowledgeable. We haven't done any other rides, but it seemed our pilot was taking us places others wouldn't.

Totally worth the ride. It is a must, because you go places you can't appreciate or even reach by car or foot. A true experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CamdenSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helicopters-kauai, General Manager at Jack Harter Helicopters - Tours, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Aloha and thank you for posting a review about your experience with our company. We are glad you enjoyed your flight.

I would like to comment on your statement, "it seemed our pilot was taking us places others wouldn't." We are still flying a 60-65 minute tour as our shortest offering while all other tour operators on Kauai fly shorter flights. 5, 10, and especially 15 more minutes of flying time in a helicopter over Kauai provides the pilot the opportunity to fly slower and lower and make more turns to show scenic areas in more detail. If you have nothing to compare our flights to, you would not know the difference other than to do as you did and notice that the other helicopters were flying higher and faster than the one you were in.

Jack and Bev Harter founded their company with the idea of giving their passengers the best experience possible in a safe manner. We continue to follow his philosophy and reading reviews like yours is heartwarming. We feel reassured that we are keeping the Harters' reputation for quality and safety going.

Sincerely, Casey Riemer, General Manager/VP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,448
    86
    22
    13
    30
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime smiles!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I took a 60 minute tour of Kauai with pilot Chris M. I cannot even begin to describe the amazing experience we had... thank goodness we both had helmet cams on as well as our SLR to try to capture some of what we saw. Chris was super knowledgeable and fun; he had a few "surprises" up his sleeve as he flew and each of them dropped our stomach and jaws just a little bit more than the previous... his approach and entry into both Waimea Canyon and the NaPali coast were nothing short of stunning. Did I mention we flew in the Hughes 4 with NO DOORS?! Best way to get pics! We also lucked out and had a totally clear morning (tip: book the first ride of the day, you're most likely to get the cloud free sky) and were able to hover in and above the highest mtn top on the Island - which apparently only happens for about 5% of the tours. It felt as if he had revealed the world to us! I wouldn't trade one dime we spent for the smile on my husband's face and the rush we both experienced. Thanks!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Littlewing127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views = Priceless”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Jack Harter Helicopter open-air Hughes 500E was an amazing flight over the island of Kauai. Lift off was from Lihue, Kauai.

From the initial call to the end of the flight, it was top notch. Myles, our pilot, was EXCEPTIONAL with his first-class smooth flying, narratives and customer service. Safety was always first and EXCITING was every moment.

Breathtaking Views are PRICELESS. Just DO IT.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoSmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best tour ever!!!! (make sure you request Chris for your tour guide)”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Money well worth it!!!!!
Chris (our pilot) greeted every one by our first names, I have to be honest I was nervous and not sure that we made the right choice for out tour.Chris started by telling us how much fun the tour is, then he told us how he learned to fly helicopters in the U.S ARMY as a black ops operator, he give us the best tour of the island and by far the most exciting fly. He made sure both sides of the helicopter got a shot of the amazing water falls and canyons.
If you take this tour, which I 1000% recommend make sure you request Chris for your tour guide.
Everyone in this company is very pleasant and helpful.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank gerardo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Great way to see Kauai”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

The tour was amazing with one small reservation: the booking process was a bit disorganized. They want to book all seats so there were a number of phone calls to get that done. But the orientation was fun and professional. We chose the Hughes helicopter with the doors off which makes for much better photos. Our pilot was Chris, a former Black Hawk pilot who was entertaining and made the tour interesting. You will get a marvelous view of the Waimea Canyon, see a lot of water falls, fly low through a valley, see the Na Pali coast in a way you cannot otherwise, and have great views of the coast and beaches. It was worth the money.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Larkette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jack Harter Helicopters - Tours also viewed

 

Been to Jack Harter Helicopters - Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing