We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious lunch!”
Review of Tip Top

Tip Top
Ranked #10 of 120 Restaurants in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $7
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Seoul
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch!”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Try this place for lunch. You will not regret it. I ordered what locals order here for lunch which is their oxtail soup. It is their version of Vietnamese pho soup with rice noodles. Delicious! Unlike most Vietnamese restaurants, this place does not use MSG to create that fake taste.

Dinner is a different matter. It is a Japanese restaurant at night. It is good but not good enough to rave about. It was rather anticlimactic after the oxtail soup I had in my previous visit.

Their macadamia brownies are also delicious.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victorinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    213
    58
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Coronado, California
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Local Cafe - a real gem”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We learned about Tip Top Cafe from the bellman at the hotel where we stayed. It is conveniently located near the airport and is filled with locals which is always a good sign. The restaurant has been in business for many years - and is now run by the 3rd generation. We had pancakes which were large and delicious. The local clientele seemed to all be eating the ox tail soup which was very popular. The service was quick and turning tables to meet demand seemed to drive efficiency. We enjoyed eating here and recommend it to other travelers. We will certainly go back to Tip Top on our next trip to Kauai.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank crowngirl619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy Valley, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delicious breakfast”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We came here because it was a place where the locals went. That held true as we were probably the only non-locals at the time. Service was very good, the coffee was never cold, and the food was delicious. Loco moco was good, portuguese sausage tasty, and eggs cooked perfectly. My only gripe is the hash browns were the frozen rectangle shaped type. Not so delicious.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jetspeed219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Unassuming - packs a punch!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Tip Top was recommended by a local and when we got there we almost left. If we would have, it would have been a huge mistake, HUGE.
The first trip we had pancakes and loco moco, seemed perfect before a big day of hiking and snorkeling. So good. If you see nothing but locals in a place like this and it is packed, you know its right.
The second time I decided to get the oxtail soup because it appeared to be a local favorite. I have never tasted a soup so good, it was amazing!! I stopped and got a to go container of it before heading to the airport and sat on a cement seat at the airport eating it as it was going to be my last meal in Hawaii for a while.
We grabbed a few bakery items to go and today as i sit in my office I am munching on some mac nut muffin!
Service is great, food is awesome!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seattlegrrl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Skip it”
Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

We tried it because of good reviews and local flavor. French toast was meh, eggs were greasy, service was slow and indifferent. Plenty of other places to spend your money and get better.

Helpful?
Thank MikeinOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tip Top? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing