We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast with the locals”
Review of Tip Top

Tip Top
Ranked #10 of 120 Restaurants in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $7
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Bowen Island, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast with the locals”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is a popular place with Lihue residents and it was full on a Tuesday morning. We all loved the pancakes but the chicken and pork options with eggs and rice looked really good. Look for the cream puffs in the cooler at the entrance!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cates_Hill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    211
    58
    22
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Local eatery, quaint”
Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

we went here because of the good reviews and are glad we did. I'd recommend the pancakes with pineapple and guava jelly. quite a few breakfast dishes offer rice as well. for lunch they have sandwiches, noodles, and a sushi bar. the waitresses wear flowery shirts look like hospital scrubs, and wheel the dishes over. very filling, quaint and fun.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigCitiesBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
238 reviews
183 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Big Food, reasonable prices”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This really is local food with generous portions. Atmosphere is questionable, and it's not "healthy" eating. It is BIG food that we found to be much less pricey than other places. Kauai sadly now has McD's, Burger King, and Taco Bell. For the same price as a cheap burger at those places you can get an entire meal that you will have leftovers to eat next day! Their BLT had about 6 large slices of bacon on it for only $3.75, a price i couldn't match anywhere here in the Midwest.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marjieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockwall, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
97 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Breakfast Time on Kauai”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Outstanding breakfast place which we did not find until the last couple of days. Just a short drive from our hotel, but a lot better food. Good service and good coffee served, which was Kauai Coffee.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Harry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
181 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Kauai history”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel and resteraunt are old, but that does not mean they aren't good. I had the banana pancakes, instead of mashed they have slices of banana very unique, but awesome if you love bananas.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Foodsthegame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tip Top also viewed

 

Been to Tip Top? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing