We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!”
Review of Kalapaki Beach Hut

Kalapaki Beach Hut
Ranked #8 of 120 Restaurants in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Takeout
Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great value!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Great burgers and fries! I am vegetarian and the tarot burger was just as good, if not better, than any meat burger I ever had in the past. My husband also really enjoyed his cheeseburger. I highly recommend this place !! Try walking, however, if you are staying close..there isn't much parking.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CostaRicaSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    360
    83
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best food on the island for the best price!”
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Best bang for the buck here!

Food is delicious. Food is well priced (especially compared to the other resteraunts nearby).

Everything is fresh and tasty.

Love the loco moco ($6.95) and their papa burger ($8.95) is so juicy and fresh!

And don't forget to finish it all off with shaved ice!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank North2024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heber City, Utah, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Breakfast!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This place served amazing breakfast. Served from an actual hut I got a breakfast sandwich which was very reasonably priced and a good quantity. We sat up top of the hut and had a great view of the ocean. Good for a quick bite to eat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Libbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Welcome to Kauai... Let's Eat!!!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Kalapaki Beach Hut is a great way to immerse yourself when you get off the plane in Kauai. LOCATION: It is an easy 2.2 mile drive from the Lihue airport. Left on Hwy 51/Kapule Hwy at the airport exit... Left on Rice Street at the car dealership. Look for it on the left just past the entrance to the Marriott resort. It's next to a surf shop with a yellow sign. VIBE: This is a small beachy place with walk-up, order-at-the-window service. Lots of surfers and other beach goers were here. We found and sought it out as being a top local pick. VIEW: Walk upstairs to take in the view overlooking Kalapaki Beach and feel your stress melt away, especially after a day of travel to get here. FOOD: We visited as soon as we arrived on day 1 and again before we went to the airport to leave. The blue cheese burger was super-messy and delicious both times. My partner had the grilled Ono (fish) sandwich on the first visit and grilled sword sandwich on the second. It was fresh, full of flavor and he could clearly taste the lime both times. My mom enjoyed a different salad each time and raved about the local dressings. PRICE: It is in line with standard higher Hawaii prices compared to the mainland, and well worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MattandBrandon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good and convenient.”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I like the way the food is served in the large bamboo container that you put on your lap while sitting on your lounge chair by the pool. The service is good. The fish, onion rings, and salad is good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalapaki Beach Hut also viewed

 

Been to Kalapaki Beach Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing