We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and delicious”
Review of Kalapaki Beach Hut

Kalapaki Beach Hut
Ranked #7 of 120 Restaurants in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent and delicious”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great value and friendly service. Egg breakfast sandwich a winner. Had to wait a little while during busy lunch but worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wrightio96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    374
    360
    83
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Breakfast With a View”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We needed to get a fairly early breakfast on our way to the airport and friends had recommended this place in Nawiliwili.
It's almost on Kalapaki Beach so when you order your food downstairs and take it up to the covered deck, you have a great view. We had a reggular American breakfast which gave you several choices for about $6.95. The people next to us had burgers for breakfast!
It was a good place to spend our last couple of hours on this visit to Kauai

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Inconsistent food, but good value”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We tried its twice...once right off the plane for an early morning breakfast. The omelet was good and relatively inexpensive. We sat in the upstairs patio, which has a limited view of the bay. Since our first experience was good, we tried it on a Sunday afternoon before leaving - big mistake! The fish wasn't fresh - had such a strong odor, it was impossible to eat. The taro fries were good and definitely worth a try. So, my review is mixed. Go on busy days and you'll have a good meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ReginaECalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Reliable”
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Flew into Lihue late afternoon an needed a quick bite to adjust our eating schedule to Hawaii time.

Had the Kalapaki burger and was pleased. Definitely have the taro fries. A healthier alternative with a great dipping sauce.

My wife enjoyed the fish and chips and rated them very high.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ninermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Lihue”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Don't turn away because of what you see - needs paint, wait in line outside to order and chickens roaming everywhere - you'll miss very good food. Very good omelets and burgers. Best food value in town.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kalapaki Beach Hut also viewed

 

Been to Kalapaki Beach Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing