We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Northern Italian Quisine on a moonlite balcony by the beach”
Review of Cafe Portofino

Cafe Portofino
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Portofino is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 120 Restaurants in Lihue
Price range: $12 - $100
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Marriott Way
Description: True Italian fare, but also specializing in Seafood and Steaks! Cafe Portofino overlooking the Pacific Ocean near the Marriott hotel has been called "A honeymoon destination' by Martha Stewart, and 'one of the top 10!' by Gourmet Magazine. Please come and enjoy the gentle tradewinds and enjoy a classic dining experience.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Northern Italian Quisine on a moonlite balcony by the beach”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Fresh caught Hawaiian fish of the day served with pastas beautifully presented is to be savored here. The owner plays the harp as you dine by the beach. Very romantic. And you can charge to your room if you're staying at the Marriott.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alohajudy900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    190
    135
    85
    79
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great staff as well as food”
Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We ate here last night, and had a really nice meal. The restaurant itself is tucked behind The Marriott and is right on the beach. Lovely ocean views. The lady who served us was fantastic, very attentive and quick to refill the wine glasses. Really good service.
Starter of calamari which was very nice.
Main courses of pasta carbonara and cannelloni were both very good. Plus a free basket of bread.
They have a good selection of wine and other drinks. Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Colourqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
135 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Second time was a charm!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

In Dec 2009, my family and I ate here and the review was not very good back then. Although I was apprehensive to try it during this trip, we went and it has improved.

We were seated on the balcony and able to take in the beautiful views of the bay in the evening. The waitress was attentive and pleasant. The portion sizes of the pasta were good and both the pasta and the sauces were tasty. The prices are expensive (but what isn't on such an island paradise?) This was our favorite meal on the island.

If you tried the restaurant in previous years and did not have a positive experience - maybe try it again. I am glad I did.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Knightrider2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cafe Portofino”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

this place is over priced by far the strak I had was very fatty and not all that good,the sevice was very what ashame they let us down with the meal

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Waynearmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
132 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice views and good food”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

On the whole this was a nice place to eat. The waiters were attentive and pleasant. The same cannot be said about the man on the front desk. He was selective on who he wished to extend his charms.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank MyThoughtsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Portofino also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing