We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food Don't Miss Out”

Garden Island BBQ & Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 120 Restaurants in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Coachella Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Food Don't Miss Out”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The only issue we had with Garden Island BBQ was that we never knew it was there until our visit in October. Recommended by other guests at the pool we decided to try it out on our last evening in Kauai. The menu offers both Hawaiian and Chinese cuisine. This is truly an island gem and it is obvious by the number of locals eating in and picking up to go orders. The menu has something for everyone, the staff is friendly and service is fast and the food was great and potions enough to share. We both ordered from the Hawaiian menu BBQ and Lemon Chicken, Shrimp Curry, Macaroni Salad and spicy Kim Chee, wish we could have taken some home.
Not much on decor but the food, price and staff make it a great find.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank californiagirl072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    124
    21
    4
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Must've gone on the wrong day”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

In August, my brother fr Cali was visiting and emailed a photo of a combo plate w/ roast duck and kalbi. This past Tuesday, 10/16/12, I was in Lihue and decided to get the same thing as I'm a huge fan of both. I have to say that the duck had to be the driest, least tasty I have EVER had! Even soaking the pieces in the little cup of drippings didn't help. The 2 slices of kalbi was mostly fat. The little meat there was was fairly tender because it was only half cooked. Very disappointing!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NottoofinickyFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Where the locals go”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I found this on trip advisor after we stop trusting the hotel concierge recommending other touristy places. Anyway, very good food. Very affordable. Try the BBQ sampler. The teriyaki steak was amazing. The fried rice was perfect (not too over fried like most places)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Whitney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very good food; generous portions; inexpensive”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Locals eat here: it's very clean, airy, and not a tourist trap. Service is friendly and fast. Your food is served well prepared, hot, tasty, and will fill you up. Won't break your budget either.

The main menu is quite varied, featuring Chinese and "local" (ex. #1 and #2, a delicious Loco Moco or the pork and chicken combo). They also make excellent hamburgers! Most dishes are served local style -- with two scoops rice and choice of mac salad or kim chee). Pay with cash or credit card. For first-time visitors: Loco Moco is a beef patty topped with a fried egg and really good gravy, rice on the side and choice of kim chee or mac salad. Sounds goofy, but it's a staple on all the islands.

Located on Rice (main drag through town) at Hardy in downtown Lihue, with parking on Rice or in the rear (accessed from Hardy). As they say about good food: "Broke da mouf!" Try it: you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuperRVer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese”
Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

This place has to be authentic. Almost all the patrons at the tables and picking up take-out are Chinese! We had Szechuan Chicken and Szechuan Shrimp and it was delicious. Service was quick and super-friendly. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bsmith45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garden Island BBQ & Chinese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Garden Island BBQ & Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing