We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local place”
Review of Splash Cafe - CLOSED

Splash Cafe
Restaurant details
San Diego, CA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great local place”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We found this place in Kalapaki Beach, Kauai, just under the popular Kalapaki Joe's. We loved it! It was a short walk from our hotel and they serve lots of fresh fruit dishes in addition to their signature crepes and omelettes. Apparently the owner makes an effort to provide healthy meals. We really liked the yogurt, granola, and fruit dish. We never tried the crepes but we really liked everything else. The atmosphere is laid back Kauai-it takes a long time to get your food but you have a wonderful view to look at while you wait. All the servers were long time locals and we really enjoyed chatting with them, and they took good care of us. If you're a rushed mainlander you'll be frustrated, but if you came to Kauai to relax this is your place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SDtraveler-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    6
    1
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Sometimes yes, sometimes no”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Tried them a second time after having a pretty good experience the first time - good egg crepe, dessert crepe made "creatively" by chef.

Second time - no utensils, no water (although outdoor table next to us got that service). Hubby's food arrive. Nothing to eat it with so I went and got utensils. LATER my food arrived with the syrup missing (again, no utensils but I'd gotten them myself by then). Plate was put in front of me with no comment about the syrup being missing. Took plate inside and was told they were "making the syrup"!

Wish we could have stayed with the first impression but sorry, would NOT RECOMMEND.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlbqBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Slow, slow, slow”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Poor service, after waiting 1/2 hour for a cheese plate, we asked for our money back! Food was okay, but nothing special. Won't come back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adama500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Splash cafe food was not great.”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Egg crepes were not good at all. Service was not at all good. It took a long time for our food to be cooked and the avocados were not ripe at all.
Staff was unorganized.
Costco Croissant are being heated and served for $6 a piece.
For the price they are charging I would expect a better service and food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nutella crepes were good!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We read reviews in Yelp that were really good - however, they were listed under "Creative Crepes and Coffee" - which is the tag line for Splash Cafe. Our family of 4 went for breakfast during the week. We walked over from the Marriott -short walk. We enjoyed the service - very friendly, but the food was just okay. Both omelettes were VERY small portions with minimal fillings. Almost tasteless. The Nutella crepes were good, but nothing special - and nothing was served hot, just room temp. The best thing was the macadamia nut hot chocolate. We left hungry - and I'm not a big eater. Total bill with tip came to $55.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MomMCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Splash Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing