We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authenticity meets 2014”

Hamura Saimin Stand
Ranked #6 of 120 Restaurants in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Ashburn, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Authenticity meets 2014”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Get there shortly before noon or be prepared for a wait. This is a 4th generation noodle shop and once you go, you'll know why they're still in existence. Very reasonably priced. Grab a stool, work those chopsticks, and watch as the kitchen skillfully serves up your dish. Don't go any larger than a medium sized bowl or you won't have any room for the delicious, light and airy chiffon pie. Save room for this, or just order a piece to go.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holsva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    394
    301
    115
    35
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
306 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

We have been coming to Hamura's for years and have always enjoyed the saimen. On this visit we were disappointed. The broth was tasteless, the wontons lacked flavor. It was a big disappointment.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mid-Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Noodles and Pie”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Popular local spot, very busy for lunch. Been there several times over the years and enjoyed the noodle concoctions served by a team of loving Aunties who keep things moving along. This time, however, something didn't click for me. I think it was the Spam in the saimin that turned me off. But my friend had the shrimp saimin bowl, and said it was good. The Lilikoi pie is great. Be sure to order a piece of that, or take home a whole pie.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VistaDelSol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
768 reviews
541 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“Old school ”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

All counter seating. No tables. Local working crowd. Orders are not written down. Noodles are good and broth has good flavor. Get the pie for dessert too!

Helpful?
1 Thank BethlehemPaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“No frills taste of saimin”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Go here to experience a throwback in time. The building, furniture, service, and food give you a feeling of what local food was like 50 years ago.

Food is predominantly saimin and barbeque meats. Very reasonably priced. I found my saimin to be quite good.

While I have come to expect air conditioning, service with a smile, and well maintained restrooms... I did not find that here. However, I can appreciate that this is a business that stays quite busy on it's current business model.

I would recommend Hamura for those who enjoy saimin and old time local atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamura Saimin Stand also viewed

 

Been to Hamura Saimin Stand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing