We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good mild Mexican food”
Review of La Bamba Mexican Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
La Bamba Mexican Restaurant
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Lihue, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good mild Mexican food”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Good Mexican food for typical plates such as enchiladas. Very good margaritas and Mexican beers available. We like more spicy food so we just ask for jalapenos on the side. The special fajitas for two were a good value, but I like larger strips of chicken and beef.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShirlKauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    10
    7
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Mexican restaurant with no carne asada burrito??!!”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

How can you call yourself a Mexican restaurant and not have a crane asada burrito? They do have carve asada tacos but the waitress said they don't have enough carve asada to serve it in burritos....confusing. So I ordered the chimichanga with shredded beef. It could only be described as subpar generic Mexican food. The service was bad. We were one of two parties in the restaurant and had to flag down the waitress to refill out water. I will not be going back to this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dmorimoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The food is not the same Mexican food you find in the US Midwest.”
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We ate around 6:30 on a Friday night so it was busy. The service was a bit slow but nothing to complain about. The food was good but different from what we get in the Midwest. ( I prefer my meat ground rather than shreaded)The portions were large. It was the least expensive meal we had all week. I felt we got good value. The atmosphere is family friendly,

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Parkinghog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good food, large portions and affordable, wrong name”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Please note this restaurant is La Bamba which might lead to some miscommunications. You may need to check some other review sites as well. I have eaten here over several years while on vacations to Kauai. It remains one of the best values for portions and taste on the island and the take-out service is a great idea for those of us staying in condos and when they are swamped, like on Fridays when the mall is open late. Sometimes the service is slower in this family run place because everything is made fresh to order. They have also improved the atmosphere with fresh paint and wall decor in the last year. This Hispanic family knows well how to make good Mexican food and does not confuse it with Southwestern or Tex/Mex.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Owners need a trip to Arizona and Texas”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

This was one of the worst excuses for Mexican Food I have ever had no matter where I have been in the world.The service was good and a great beer selection but they really need to go get educated on real Mexican Food.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank onlymyview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Bamba Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing