We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is our special place for dinner on Kauai.”
Review of Duke's Kauai

Duke's Kauai
Reserve with OpenTable
Duke's Kauai is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 120 Restaurants in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Scenic view, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Shoreline Access
Transit: Bus stop on Rice Street
Description: On the sand at Kalapaki Beach, Duke’s is dedicated to legendary surfer Duke Kahanamoku, Hawaii’s Ambassador of Aloha. The restaurant’s open-air design offers stunning, sweeping ocean views while the 30 foot waterfall plunges into a koi pond below that meanders through the tables. Enjoy a leisurely lunch, romantic dinner, or tropical cocktail in a fun, friendly atmosphere.
Eugene, OR
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“This is our special place for dinner on Kauai.”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We have a tradition: get off the plane, unpack at the hotel and drive to Duke's for dinner on your first night.

It's just wonderful: wonderful food and wonderful view over the ocean bay.

We've only ordered Opah here. I'm not a fish fan, but this is delicious. Dinners come with a premium salad bar and its too easy to fill up.

I've only had Mai Tais on Hawaiian Air, and they're bad. Ordered an authentic one here and it blew my socks off.

Do yourself a favor and make this your tradition.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,826 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,927
    1,265
    478
    105
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant on Kauai”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

I love Duke's! The food here is so good. Definitely go with the fresh fish (you're in Hawaii after all). We prefer the macadamia nut preparation--so delicious. The salad bar is fantastic and the muffins are killer. The star for us is the Hula Pie. A monstrosity of mac nut ice cream and hot fudge goodness. Save room because this is not to be missed. Make reservations and ask for an upper railing table. Those have the best views.

Helpful?
Thank Lindsey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“We Loved Duke's Lemonade”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We had dinner and drinks at Duke's and enjoyed a beautiful Hawaiian sunset in the process. The bartenders were fun and be sure to get a HULA PIE..... YUM !

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We tried both the upstairs restaurant and the downstairs/outdoor menus. We took advantage of the happy hour and Tuesday specials for fish tacos downstairs. Very yummy! The view in the downstairs part is so pretty; koi pond inside and the beach outside.

The restaurant upstairs is of course a bit more expensive but the food was very delicious! The salad bar that was included had lots of great options and was very good as well. We receive a free Hula Pie since we were staying at the Marriott. We were so full but it was so so so good that we couldn't pass it up. This is a must try so make sure you save room. Our view sitting here was great as well. We were seated upstairs on the balcony overlooking the water/mountains.

Great service all around, wait staff is very friendly!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank traveholic87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
267 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Nice view. Food not that great”
Reviewed May 17, 2014

The title pretty much says it all! The view is great...directly across from the beach. The food is mediocre...on par with Chilli's or Applebees.

It's simply priced WAY above what the quality of the food should be! We would not return.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LQGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duke's Kauai also viewed

 

Been to Duke's Kauai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing