We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly service, YUMMY gelato and great coffee!!”

Papalani Gelato - Anchor Cove
Ranked #3 of 7 Dessert in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Super friendly service, YUMMY gelato and great coffee!!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

This little cafe/gelato place was a short walk from the Marriott which is where we stayed. So after discovering it early on during our trip, we/I went back several times. They have very tasty gelato with a great selection of flavours. My husband loved the scones, which were fresh and they went out of their way to warm up for you. My brother in law loved the fresh coffee they brewed by the cup after you ordered, so it was never old or cold. My sister loved the ice drinks - which you could make with or without milk for a healthier option. There was literally something yummy for everyone. The girls working were all very sweet, and one was especially friendly and helpful (I'm sorry I forget her name!) we saw her several times throughout the 2 weeks. No it isn't cheap, it was 10 or 12 dollars for 2 gelato in waffle cones. But it was worth it, a nice treat. Great quality of food and drinks for a cafe establishment. Loved it!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    30
    14
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quality is not cheap.”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Tim Horton's this ain't. YAY! This place is a great little find, Papalani Gelato is a small Hawaiian franchise operation that still has the feel of a neighbourhood store, the people are extremely friendly and helpful, the products are superior. Although you pay a premium price for their drinks and desserts, they are worth it - the specialty coffee drinks are absolutely incredible and their regular coffee selection is varied and second to none. As for their gelato's, shakes, pies and other desserts - out of this world and they have flavours for every taste. I expect to see this franchise business expand rapidly, there are none comparable.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Billf999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
192 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best dessert on Kauai”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

"Wow" . What you will say when you go there. Next is "how soon can I come back?" This gelato place is the high point of the Anchor Cove shops. The hardest part is deciding which flavor to get this time. Unlimited samples make it even worse. I always get the take home pint, because a little cup is just not enough. The location is handy to all, especially the cruise ship passengers on foot. DO NOT MISS THIS!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank capncusp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great ice cream, STRONG coffee”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Their gelato selections look great in the freezer and taste wonderful. The coffee seemed less than wonderful but was OK when diluted to more drinkable strength.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank wolfg981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“YUM!”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

So so good! The perfect cool treat after a busy day. The range of flavors is excellent, peanut butter, chocolate and berries are the general favourites in our family and Papalani Gelato definitely didn't disappoint. The service was great, and nice shady seats outside for us to enjoy our treats.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papalani Gelato - Anchor Cove also viewed

 

Been to Papalani Gelato - Anchor Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing