We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs work but some interesting oddments.”
Review of Kauai Museum

Kauai Museum
Ranked #8 of 55 things to do in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A natural history museum in Kaua'i.
Holland
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Needs work but some interesting oddments.”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Located in an interesting building on Rice, this is a rather dated and dusty collection of Kauaiiaana - if you are after interactive displays stay away. However, if you are prepared to read, there is some interesting material on the sugar plantations which really helped us to understand some of what we had seen driving round the island. Upstairs there is also a good section on the experience of Japanese Americans on Kauai in WW2 which is not as sanitized as some of the museum displays on Oahu. Also told here is the full story of the Japanese pilot who crashed on Niihau after the Pearl Harbor attack and what happened to him, right down to the tail light from the plane.

Surprisingly good museum shop for a small museum. Worth a stop, preferably after doing the island by car.





Visited November 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Walpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    149
    56
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Escondido
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“An active Museum”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

4428 Rice street, Poipu. $8, or 6 for AAA or seniors. parking is free. Today, 10-5 they are celebrating Kauai Awareness Day, and admission is free for locals. Part of that celebration is a marathon of talks from locals, as they share some of their early experiences in Kauai. About 50 people in the audience when we passed.

We spent 2 hours in the Museum. Nonreaders could breeze thru in perhaps 30 minutes. One building was full of the story of Kauai. There were a couple of videos that could take up an hour or so. The main building, has TOI's, a gift shop and displays that likely are actively changed during the year. The building has 2 stories.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ranles76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful museum”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We so enjoyed this museum. The beautiful handmade quilts were stunning. The other interesting items depicting the history of Kauai were so well done. I especially liked the video that showed the history of Kauai. Also, very helpful docents. We plan to return.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank music-woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“I wish it were better”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

There are tidbits scattered here and there, but most of the items that caught my interest were either un- or incompletely labeled or badly lit or both. Displays are disjointed and some are out of date.

Although the gift shop is highly touted here, I found it overpriced and disappointing, with rayon pareos made in Indonesia for twice what they should cost.

If you have a rainy day, spend an hour here -- or not!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank oscar505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I have.been coming to the Island of Abundance for decades now and have always said, next time I gotta go to the Kauai Museum...so this tine I did.

My tip?

Don't bother.

This sprawling collection of junk from the historical attic of Kauai is badly displayed, fitully labelled and badly lit. I went in with an oh-boy spirit and got depressed in like 5 minutes.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kauai Museum also viewed

 

Been to Kauai Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing