We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff but dry chicken”
Review of Chicken In A Barrel BBQ Cart - CLOSED

Chicken In A Barrel BBQ Cart
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Barbecue
Description: This is a cart is located in Lihue right in front for the kama'aina surf shop at anchor cove . Awesome food!
Restaurant details
Description: This is a cart is located in Lihue right in front for the kama'aina surf shop at anchor cove . Awesome food!
Utah
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Friendly staff but dry chicken”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We love BBQ chicken and read the good reviews. However the day we were there our chicken was overcooked and dry. The flavors were smoky and the BBQ sauce was excellent. Will try it again and hope for better

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SaintGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    8
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best chicken in a long time”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Normally I don't eat quartered chicken although I love bbq. This chicken is truly special. It's all very good and the coleslaw is excellent. Yummy ribs also. It's a wonderful little bbq stand with a simple menu and food done very well! Amazing chicken done by wonderfully friendly people who also love jesus. It was so good that we ate here twice during our week stay in kauai.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great spot for Chicken!!”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

this little spot in Kapaa is a awesome little spot and the chicken is super juicy!! We were driving by slowly checking out shops and the guy gave us the thumbs up and waved us in. I am always impressed by someone going out of their way to try and get our business by interacting with us.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OurearthOnelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Roadside fun”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stopped at the Kapaa location - right next to the road, with limited seating at picnic tables. The chicken is cooked in 50 gallon barrels right next to the stand. The sides were amazing,in particular the slaw was like none I ever tasted. The owner was working the window, and was very pleasant. Also had the fresh lemonade which was a great addition to the food, There is a lovely little park right back the street from here. Take your food, walk over there, and enjoy the water view.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MamaM60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turlock, California
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Cart closed, but Hanalei and Kapaa is open”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We got off the plane and headed over to the cart in the Home Depot lot. We drove around and around then gave up. The next day we came across the Hanalei location and had lunch there. I talked with the owner and he confirmed they closed the cart and are concentrating on the two locations.

I mentioned that the cart was still found on their site and here on TA, and they said, updates happen on "Hawaiian time".

The food was great, chicken some of the juiciest chicken breast I have aver had!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank monikamichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chicken In A Barrel BBQ Cart also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing