We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Sushi”
Review of Toro Tei

Toro Tei
Ranked #40 of 119 Restaurants in Lihue
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
522 reviews
296 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We didn't expect to find such great sushi in a Marriott hotel, but Bryce, the sushi chef, blew us away with wonderfully fresh fish and innovate rolls and other dishes. Being from LA, and having 10 sushi bars within 2 miles of our home, I can say that this place measures up.

Sit at the bar and ask Bryce to surprise you.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Max G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    13
    10
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
208 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Skip this”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The sushi was OK. Nothing special, but my biggest gripe is the rolls were only 4 pieces, but we're priced liked 8 piece rolls. It was the only time I had sushi on this trip, so I wish I better recommendation, but skip this one.

Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pretty ehhh...”
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

We are from Alaska, so we are sushi snobs. This was over priced and boring. I wouldn't go back, even if it's easy.

Helpful?
Thank Spinell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
61 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“YUM YUM YUM!”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Granted it was convenient as it was at our hotel but the sushi was creative, fresh and just plain terrific! (A little pricey but if truth be told, we didn't have sushi anywhere else this trip so we don't have a true comparison.)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank AlbqBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
2 reviews
“Average Sushi”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

The sushi is good. Mine fell apart easily at times soon after it was served to me which made it almost impossible to eat in one bite.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toro Tei also viewed

 

Been to Toro Tei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing