We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience Rum Tasting like no other”
Review of Koloa Rum Company

Koloa Rum Company
Ranked #3 of 55 things to do in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For the first time in history, Rum is being distilled legally on the island of Kauai. Visit Koloa Rum's Premier Tasting Room and Company Store at Kilohana Plantation in Puhi, Kaua`i where our award winning Premium Hawaiian Rums are available. Also popular are our rum cakes, rum fudge sauce, Kukui Brand Mai Tai Mix, jams, jellies, syrups, Koloa Rum logo wear and other unique Hawaiian made products. Open daily at 9:30am. All tastings and alcohol sales require a valid photo ID and all individuals must be 21 years or older to enter the tasting room. Please enjoy responsibly!
San Marcos, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Experience Rum Tasting like no other”
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Participate in informative rum tasting, comparisons of rum varieties and locales and then take home their prize winning spiced rum

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank pippin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanne T, Public Relations Manager at Koloa Rum Company, responded to this review, April 21, 2017
Good afternoon pippin007, mahalo for your 5-star review. We appreciate your brand support. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    118
    23
    8
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Staten Island
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Interesting.”
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We visited the Plantation at the end of 2011 for New Years. I did not know what to expect but the trip was recommend by friends. The grounds themselves are lovely and there is an antique train that you can ride. However, the one “must do” we were told was the free rum tasting. I have never tasted anything like this rum. Depending on type, the rum could taste like vodka, tequila, or the best spice rum you will ever taste. Be warned, you will not leave without at least one bottle.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank simommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanne T, Public Relations Manager at Koloa Rum Company, responded to this review, April 21, 2017
Good afternoon simommy, better late than never! I apologize for the delayed response. We appreciate your review and hope that you have been back to visit us since this review.
Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dekalb,IL
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Tasty Rum”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Nice place to visit and get a great tasting of Hawaiian made rum. The tastings are run every 30 minutes or so. The "bartender" has a great sense of humor and is ready to swap a story with you. You get to try 3 rums a day, and on top of the tasting you will get a bit of history and some jokes. Definitely worth a stop. Easy to find and get to.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank soccer01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanne T, Public Relations Manager at Koloa Rum Company, responded to this review, April 21, 2017
Happy Aloha Friday soccer01, we are so sorry for this several year late response. Thanks so much for taking the time to review us, you were the first! We hope the next time you are back on the Garden Isle you will come back and visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koloa Rum Company also viewed

 

Been to Koloa Rum Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing