We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful, pleasant, and awesome food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gaylord's at Kilohana

Gaylord's at Kilohana
Reserve with OpenTable
Gaylord's at Kilohana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 116 Restaurants in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $36
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Nuhou
Description: Gaylord's offers one of Kauai's most beautiful settings for lunch, dinner or Sunday brunch. Located on the ground floor of the historic Kilohana Plantation home, diners are seated around an open-air courtyard with views of the plantation grounds and Mt. Waialeale in the distance. Our kitchen uses only the freshest, seasonal ingredients supporting our local farmers and fishermen. Our 67-acre sustainable farm provides much of the produce and herbs used in our dishes and cocktails. Menu items include starters like fresh Ahi Poke, Seafood Spring Rolls and Organic Greens Salads; Local Fish, Meat and Vegetarian Entrees; and Banana Cream Pie for Dessert! After your meal take a walk around the Kilohana grounds, shop in our assorted boutiques, visit the rum shop or take a ride on the plantation train. Join us at Gaylord's to enjoy the best of what Kauai has to offer in island food and experience. Call for reservations and details on weekly entertainment. Memorable by day...Unforgettable by Night.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful, pleasant, and awesome food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

We were killing time waiting for our late night flight, and came out to the Rum Factory. Since it was about lunch time we decided to stop at Gaylord's for lunch. I had seen other reviews for it and thought we would try it. I was so impressed with our lunch. We sat outside in a beautiful courtyard enjoying the wonderful breeze while eating some of the best food we have had all week. We both had the Ono fish special and then the bread pudding for dessert. All I can say is WOW! Be sure and look throught all the great shops.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Manager at Gaylord's at Kilohana, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Aloha Sally H,

We appreciate you taking the time to write this 5 Star review. We take pride in bringing the best to our guests here at Gaylord's at Kilohana and are pleased to hear when we have succeeded. We are happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your Fresh Catch plates that were prepared with fresh Ono and our Funnel Cake bread pudding dessert is always a yummy choice. Thank you again for the kind words expressed in your review and we look forward to your continued patronage.

Mahalo,
Camille Parr
Manager for Eric Hanson GM
camille.gaylords@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    736
    295
    108
    39
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best dining experience in Lihue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

The food was very good and the best meal we had in our week long stay. The grounds and mansion were very interesting and it was enjoyable to browse through the shops.

The service was prompt and the suggestions helpful. A little pricier than the others we'd tried but definitely worth it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kittycat_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Manager at Gaylord's at Kilohana, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Aloha Kittycat_7,

Thank you for taking the time to write your 4 Star review. Here at Gaylord's at Kilohana we strive in bringing the very best to our guests and are excited to hear when we have succeeded. We are average in price with other comparative restaurants in the area and on the island. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience with us. Thank you for visiting the Kilohana Plantation and Gaylord's restaurant and we look forward to your continued patronage.

Mahalo,
Camille Parr
Manager for Eric Hanson GM
camille.gaylords@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely stop for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

We were trying to find a quality place for lunch in Lihue area when I saw this place. I wasn't sure what is was from the street - it is a plantation with tours and train cars out front so I didn't know if we could just wander in for lunch but I am glad we did. The fish tacos were the best I had in Kauai. It was lovely outdoor seating with amusing chickens and roosters wandering while we ate. My son had the spring roll but felt the portion was too small - it was basically one roll cut in half - more like a wrap - but tasty. For desert we stopped by the sweet shop and got oreo truffles that were delicious. It was an expensive lunch stop but very good food and atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank catherine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Manager at Gaylord's at Kilohana, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Aloha Catherine C,

We appreciate you taking the time to write this 4 Star review. We are glad that you stopped in and enjoyed your lunch with us. Our Fish Tacos are great and we are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed them as well! I will relay your concern to Chef Todd about the portion size of the Shrimp and Scallop Spring rolls. I'm sorry that you felt we were expensive but we are about average for other comparative restaurants in the area. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we appreciate your continued patronage.

Mahalo,
Camille Parr
Manager for Eric Hanson GM
camille.gaylords@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
Level Contributor
95 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Quiet Romantic and Roosters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Very relaxing for most but my wife is afraid of roosters as one attacked her when she was very young. The Red Roosters are all over the island but the ones at the restaurant came up to the tables. I guess they were being fed by previous patrons. On to the food which generally very good. We had Blue Crab dip and the tomato mozzarella as apps great taste. They were out of Pork Loin so I tried the Pork Ribs with pineapple rice, the ribs were very fat and many small bones along with the rib bone. Not much real meat. The wife's steak was good but a little undercooked. She decided not to send it back because experience shows it always comes back well done. Bloody Mary was mostly ice and celery in a small tall glass.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Navlinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Manager at Gaylord's at Kilohana, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Aloha Navlinc,

Thank you for taking the time to write this 4 Star review. We do apologize for the chickens and would like you to know that they are not common at the restaurant. These 2 are new and we do get rid of them humanely by relocating them to another part of the Kilohana Plantation when we see them in our restaurant; as to not have them bother our guests while dining. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your evening with us and will relay your concerns and comments about the Ribs and the steak to Chef Todd. We appreciate your feedback and would like to thank you for your continued patronage.

Mahalo,
Camille Parr
Manager for Eric Hanson GM
camille.gaylords@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect setting, very good food & Mai Tai's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Highly recommend. Romantic, quaint, good food. Jess, the bartender, makes the best Mai Tai's on the island. Not big drinkers, but it was great. Excellent filet and very good pork loin. Yummy. Will always go back to Gaylord's. Great staff too ! Clean !

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasMandD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric H, Manager at Gaylord's at Kilohana, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Aloha TexasMandD,

Thank you for taking the time to write this 4 Star review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Mai Tai's by our fabulous bartender Jess, as well as your entrees the Filet and the Pork Loin. Here at Gaylord's at Kilohana we take pride in bringing the very best to our guests and its always a thrill to hear when we have succeeded. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to your continued patronage.

Mahalo,
Camille Parr
Manager for Eric Hanson GM
camille.gaylords@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaylord's at Kilohana also viewed

 

Been to Gaylord's at Kilohana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing