We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gaylord's is back!”

Gaylord's at Kilohana
Reserve with OpenTable
Gaylord's at Kilohana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 120 Restaurants in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Nuhou
Description: Gaylord's offers one of Kauai's most beautiful settings for lunch, dinner or Sunday brunch. Located on the ground floor of the historic Kilohana Plantation home, diners are seated around an open-air courtyard with views of the plantation grounds and Mt. Waialeale in the distance. Our kitchen uses only the freshest, seasonal ingredients supporting our local farmers and fishermen. Our 67-acre sustainable farm provides much of the produce and herbs used in our dishes and cocktails. Menu items include starters like fresh Ahi Poke, Seafood Spring Rolls and Organic Greens Salads; Local Fish, Meat and Vegetarian Entrees; and Banana Cream Pie for Dessert! After your meal take a walk around the Kilohana grounds, shop in our assorted boutiques, visit the rum shop or take a ride on the plantation train. Join us at Gaylord's to enjoy the best of what Kauai has to offer in island food and experience. Call for reservations and details on weekly entertainment. Memorable by day...Unforgettable by Night.
SoCal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gaylord's is back!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our last visit to Kauai we were disappointed to learn that Gaylord's had been replaced by another restaurant with different character. Glad to report that the Gaylord's we knew is back plus some. Food was superb, service excellent and the addition of local talent with music and dance was a great touch. Highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank socalgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    777
    314
    113
    41
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fair Oaks, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“NOT WHAT WE EXPECTED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was supposed to be the highlight of our 2 week stay at Kauai with our party of four. We booked reservations a week in advance & did not get the table we were promised. Waiter could not get the drink order correct. Salad was served before the appetizer. To top it all, steak had to be returned to the kitchen twice & still came out wrong. We were warned by staff at Portofino Cafe & Beach House Resto. that there are management problems. Will never return to Gaylord's again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We are on a long journey through the States and this was the best restaurant where we had dinner. The atmosphere in the garden is great. Service was good and the food perfect. You must try the fish!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anw71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
570 reviews
525 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Gracious dining in a Hawaiian plantation setting”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

i'm suprised I haven't reviewed this before. I've eaten here many times over the years and while it's gone through several name and menu changes in that time it's always served an excellent meal. They still serve lunch in the covered patio with a nice view of the landscaped back yard. The meal and service are very good. They currently offer a plat lunch which they guarantee will have you in and out in 45 minutes but why would you take them up on this. Relax. Smell the roses (yes they have roses). This restaurant is all about the good life.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank denisx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macomb, Michigan
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A must if you're in or near Lihue.”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Impeccable service and superb food. We thoroughly enjoyed the experience. I can not for the life of me remember the name of the dish, but it was outstanding! It had a tomato broth, which had a nice kick to it, and plenty of fresh seafood; scallops, calamari, clams, shrimp. Absolute deliciousness!! They also had wonderful freshly baked bread and a great wine list. A must if you're in or near Lihue.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank georgiegirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaylord's at Kilohana also viewed

 

Been to Gaylord's at Kilohana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing