We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two lunch trips and each was excellent”

Gaylord's at Kilohana
Reserve with OpenTable
Gaylord's at Kilohana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 120 Restaurants in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Nuhou
Description: Gaylord's offers one of Kauai's most beautiful settings for lunch, dinner or Sunday brunch. Located on the ground floor of the historic Kilohana Plantation home, diners are seated around an open-air courtyard with views of the plantation grounds and Mt. Waialeale in the distance. Our kitchen uses only the freshest, seasonal ingredients supporting our local farmers and fishermen. Our 67-acre sustainable farm provides much of the produce and herbs used in our dishes and cocktails. Menu items include starters like fresh Ahi Poke, Seafood Spring Rolls and Organic Greens Salads; Local Fish, Meat and Vegetarian Entrees; and Banana Cream Pie for Dessert! After your meal take a walk around the Kilohana grounds, shop in our assorted boutiques, visit the rum shop or take a ride on the plantation train. Join us at Gaylord's to enjoy the best of what Kauai has to offer in island food and experience. Call for reservations and details on weekly entertainment. Memorable by day...Unforgettable by Night.
Northern CA
Level Contributor
169 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Two lunch trips and each was excellent”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We enjoyed our two lunches at Gaylord's. Lunch is much more affordable than the dinner service. The outdoor seating was restful and pleasant. The server was attentive, excellent, friendly and professional.
The salads are huge, well presented and very fresh. I had a special of chicken, mushroom and brie crepes with a small green salad. It was excellent, moist and tender. Hamburgers and ruben sandwiches were also enjoyed. However, the special coconut cream pie with a coconut crust, and a banana cream pie with rum cream topping in a coconut crust (another day) were excellent. On one cool day, my Mother also enjoyed her Baileys and coffee after dinner.
Their lunch is something that we look forward to on our yearly trips to Kauai.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank patsyannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    777
    314
    113
    41
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Easter Brunch”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We ate here for the first time while on Kauai last week during Easter. We booked a reservation for their Easter brunch, which from what we were told, differs just slightly from their normal Sunday brunch held weekly. The price was $52 dollars pp and we felt this was well worth each penny! I can't remember walking away from a restaurant as satisfied and raving about the food as I did with Gaylord's. The brunch was a buffet, and naturally with buffets you expect to taste maybe something, one thing, you don't love or care for along the way. Nope, not here. Every last thing we tasted, which I believe was all of it, was fantastic. My goodness, even the juice was delicious. The selection was fresh, hot and plentiful. Our only disappointment was that we filled our bellies too fast and we would have loved to go back for more and more. But, I suppose the malted waffles with guava and coconut syrups, crab mac and cheese, prime rib, potatoes, granola and yogurt, omelets, quiche, pastries, salad, cheeses and desserts were enough :) Delicious. This will be a restaurant I will plan my vacation around. I will ensure I am on the island on a Sunday so we can enjoy this brunch again!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank educ8tor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A work of art”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We had a set menu which gave a range of local foods and tastes. Still can't get to grip with the wallpaper paste stuff!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank StickandFit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Meal”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We received a coupon for Gaylords in one of our "Welcome to Kauai" booklets and so we decided to give it a try. We had no reservation but were warmly welcomed and seated promptly. The outside setting is quite lovely. Our service was excellent. The waiter was attentive and knowledgeable. The food was quite delicious. My adult daughter (who loves steak) said that the steak she had was quite possibly the best she had ever eaten. Our entire party was pleased.

We were all full after dinner and would not have ordered dessert except that we had the coupon for a free dessert. It was quite good.

By the time we got there that night, it was dark and the other areas of the plantation were closed. We did, however, enjoy an after dinner walk through the mansion and we also spent a little time browsing in the shops.

A very nice experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BunnyGirl1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A real treat in Kauai”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Throughly enjoyed a lovely dinner at this quaint restaurant. Set in a historic old house, this unique restaurant provides an interesting setting to eat in an outdoorsy atmosphere. Unfortunately we choose a rather rainy cold night which required the lowering of rain screens. Food was delicious and service was excellent. A high end restaurant with prices that reflect such but well worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dutchgirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaylord's at Kilohana also viewed

 

Been to Gaylord's at Kilohana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing