We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best french fries in Kauai, maybe EVER!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Feral Pig - CLOSED

The Feral Pig
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Pub, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
dallas, texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best french fries in Kauai, maybe EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Was in Kauai for two weeks and went to this place first for dinner, then for breakfast, then for lunch. The burger was the best I have ever had on the island and the french fries were definitey the best I had eaten in a long time ANYWHERE! Not many places left that make their fries from scratch - the fries truly broke da mouth! (Word of warning: dinner on the Sunday night I was there was IMO tampered by a very loud live band that started with at 6:00 p.m. As talented as the band was, there was certainly no need for the lead singer to use a microphone in a room no bigger than my living room).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fbadaddallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    176
    76
    41
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
SF, CA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The name says it all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We went for lunch and enjoyed the food. It's what you'd expect from the name: a great bar with a love for pork. I had a Cubano sandwich with kalua pork and ham: twice the pork goodness.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JRandom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pretty good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Breakfast and lunch are pretty good. Although the service can be a little slow. Have not had dinner. Not a lot of ambience

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank GregStella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, CO
Level Contributor
158 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good local joint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had an early dinner here just before going to the airport. Heard about the place from a local tour guide who told us of their hamburgers made of beef and pork. He said they were very good and he was right. I had the Cuban sandwich which was not that close to a real Cuban (for example, they use cucumbers instead of pickles) but tasted good. The beers were good but they did not have much in terms of isaland cocktails.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeG1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Greasy food, slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We ate dinner here. Prices were high for the food and ambiance. We paid $14 for fish n chips. Other than quantity, we would have done better at Dukes Barefoot Bar across the street. Although this is near Anchor Cove (near the Marriott) it is on the other side of the road from the beach and you have to crane your neck to get any kind of view of the beach. We don't plan to go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tod66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Feral Pig also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing