We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of Kukui Grove Cinema

Kukui Grove Cinema
Ranked #4 of 4 Fun & Games in Lihue
Attraction details
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

As others mention its the only theater on the island and the movies that are shown have been showing on the main land for a while. It's a small movie theater 2 rows seating and the chairs are older style they do recline a bit. The rules of conduct is very strict which I think it helps with the cleanliness of the place. Weve been there few times and the first time if felt I was sitting with family and friends as everyone was so kind, friendly and respectful very different from mainland. I'm not giving it a 5 star just because when it comes to movie theaters we are a bit spoilled having lived in San Francisco and San Diego area. But for a small island this is a perfect theater. ;0) as for the stroller and wheel chair I'm not certain I think there was space for wheel chair but don't remember strollers although there were babies and small kids there.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Journeyoflight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    22
    24
    8
    18
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Movie Theatre”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I like the Kukui Grove Cinema. The movies have already played on the mainland (what Hawaiian's call the continental US) so the movies you see on Kauai have already been out for a month. The theatre is very clean, quiet, very well cooled, comfy comfy comfy seats, smaller theatre. Very very nice and the concession prices are actually reasonable, imagine that! Go and have fun at the Kukui Grove Cinema. Have yourself a ball and enjoy the popcorn. Go ahead, you can afford it!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank deanamae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orinda, California
Level 6 Contributor
528 reviews
149 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Only option on Kauai--but they try!”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Just got a real 3-D theatre so that is a HUGE change. The place is VERY DATED and the staff is WAY too vigilant. You can't buy tickets in advance which makes no sense. However, the prices are reasonable, and the theatres are very very clean. It's your only option for current movies so we are stuck.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kesslane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilauea, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The Only Game in Town”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is Kauai's only theater complex, and it's right in the middle of the island. They are very strict about bringing in food or drinks, and you'd probably like a little more flexibility there. They are also strict about disturbances; I have seen them ask people to leave who are being noisy, and that's great! There are four movies at a time, and the choices are good. You can get a lot of different things to eat. You might want to sweeten up the staff with a little more warmth, however their hearts are in the right place.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MerlynKauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batesville, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Movies theater”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

It a nice movie theater. we had a few hours to kill before our flight left so we went see Spiderman. the movie theater is nice and hasA/C. We thought the movie tickets and snacks were a great price.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank redbirds1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kukui Grove Cinema also viewed

 

Been to Kukui Grove Cinema? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing