We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Banyan Harbor Resort
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“love it”
Reviewed April 5, 2006

We bought a timeshare 1 year ago and this January was our first stay. The condo was great. It was neat and clean. It is close to grocerie stores, shopping, the beach. The people were extremely friendly and helpful.
Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    110
    45
    24
    12
See reviews for
110
78
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 14, 2006

We had a very rainy stay in Kauai. The most rain that they have had since 1996. We were quite tired from our flight and came in late. The security guard was wonderful and gave us our keys. The next morning we went to the front desk to sign in and they were WONDERFUL to us. The concierge was wonderful offering us all kinds of information on what to do on the island. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The only complaint that I had is that the people above us got up EVERY morning between 4:30 and 5:00 and were VERY noisy. They must work 7 days a week because we were there for a week and they did it every morning. The condo was very nice and clean. Everything that you could want. The kitchen was nicely stocked with everything you would need. Quite surprising from what we have experienced at other places. From our balcony, we saw 2 cruise ships that had come in during that week. The pool area was great. Nice barbeques and splendid views of the ocean. The water was cold because the island was running out of propane so they couldn't heat their pool. Certainly no fault of Banyan's. We are considering purchasing a time share from them. You will not be disappointed. Just hope that you don't get the one that we stayed in with the noisy neighbors!!!!

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
19 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 1, 2006

My wife and I stayed on Maui for a week before coming to Lihue. We go to Maui every other year. We did not know what to expect except from the reviews we read and comments provided by RCI.

The first thing we noticed was it's location at the harbor which is beautiful. At check in we were greeted by Ginger at the front desk. She really helped to kick things off in a positive way. She shared so much about the island and its people and history, we felt like we had been there before. She was so gracious and responsive our entire trip. At the end of our stay, we did not see her before we left. She had been so kind to us we called back after getting home in Ohio to thank her.

The condos had a drive carport which was convenient. The condo had two levels and was really comfortable, clean, and had a great view of the harbor.

We also had great recommendations by the concierge and ended up at the Smith Luau. We had gone to luau on Maui, but this was really excellent.

The owner gave us some recommendations on day trips and we had a great time going north as well as to the canyon. The owners were so friendly and discussed additional weeks with us. This was the most low key, no stress presentation we have had in 20 years since we first bought a time share.

We loved the island and Banyan Harbor and it's employees. We are going back!!!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
33 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southern cal
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2005

I was worried about this place because of the reviews I had previously read about too. My fears were put to rest as soon as we checked in. It had everything we needed. The units are spacious and everything you need is at hand. The best part for my family (ok, well the kids....hello it's Hawaii we were there for the beautiful beaches) was the pool. Awesome view of the ocean and surroundings. Maybe it's because we live near the Port of Los Angeles, the harbor didn't seem bad (we hardly even knew it was there!). Matter of fact one morning we were surprised to see the very top of a cruise ship sitting there...almost like we could reach out and touch it. They must have arrived before we woke : ) Please be aware that this resort has people living there full time as well (hence the motorcycle which we heard a few times). We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
26 Thank lovetotravel2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
3.7 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
782 reviews
6.7 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Kauai Inn
The Kauai Inn
#6 of 11 in Lihue
367 reviews
6.7 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
7.0 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Harbor Resort

Property: Banyan Harbor Resort
Address: 3411 Wilcox Rd, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-9553
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Banyan Harbor Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside in Nawiliwili, the Banyan Harbor Resort is ideal for your next getaway. From the moment you set foot in our island-styled lobby, you'll feel the Aloha Spirit that has made Kauai the popular destination it is today. Your "Home away from Home" is a block from Kalapaki Beach, shopping, restaurants, activities and entertainment. Anchor Cove Shopping Village and the Harbor Mall are both within a short walk. Three golf courses, Kauai's largest shopping center, Kauai's largest movie theatre and world class ocean & air charters are available within two miles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banyan Harbor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Harbor Hotel Lihue
Banyan Harbor Kauai
Banyan Harbor Resort Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing