We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Didn't Want to Leave”
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Menomonie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“I Didn't Want to Leave”
Reviewed July 12, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights, it was our first time in Kauai. We choose this hotel based on the location (east side a good in between area for exploration) and because it had a airport shuttle (returned rental early to save some money). Also there was a good deal on the website at the time $99 with a free ocean view upgrade. We arrived around 9:30-9:45 am and did not expect our room to be ready (it wasn't), we just wanted to drop off our bags and explore. Two other groups from our plane were staying there too and got there before us so we had a bit of a wait at the front desk (no biggie). The lady at the front desk was very friendly and so were the bell and valet staff, this was true through out our stay.
Room:
So we returned at about 5pm and our room was ready. We lugged our stuff to the room, didn't seem like the bell service delivered. As we walked to our room in building four there was a hula show at the pool. Our room did have a great view of the ocean and the pools. It was fairly big and clean. We never had a problem with the cleaniness of the room or the resort. We always had plenty of towels and soap.
Parking/Shuttle:
We did valet most of the time, since it was the same price. There is a $12 or $13 service fee each night that covers parking valet or self. We di self park sometimes and it wasn't a bad walk. Oh, the drive into the resort is nice, a tunnel of trees. The valet never took that long. There were a couple special events while we were there we weren't bothered by any noise, but we made sure we used valet then (so parking was their problem!). The night before we left we returned our rental car (to save on the resort fee and car rental fee) and there is a service phone at the airport to call the hotel and the shuttle wait was about 15 minutes (the hotel is about 5 minutes away).
Pool/Beach
The beach is now swimmable (we knew that coming in so we weren't disappointed), however it is a nice walking beach with soft sand. Not much is around the resort so it had some good photo opps. The pools were lovely, and my husband liked the slide. The little sand pool with "beach" is nice but the sand is coarse there. The hot tubs were nice too. The hotel has nice beach towels for you to use, you can get them from the front desk or the pool desk, make sure you either get your towel card back or another towel. You need to turn in the cards back in at check-out or pay $25 per towel.
Food/Lounge:
We ate at the hotel once (although we thought about eating there more). The food wasn't too high priced, hotel prices, but it was incredibly good. At dinner there was a gresat salad bar included in the meal (as many trips as you wanted), and the portions were large. Our service that night was a little slow but our server was friendly and said they were understaffed that night (not a big deal). The lounge was nice and had music nightly. The bar typically had a special daily. There was a beach bar that served food (didn't eat it) and looked out over the ocean. They made a great lava flow! There isn't any restaurant within walking distance to the resort but a quick drive takes you too Lihue or Kapaa with many options, and Poipu is about 20 minutes away. We enjoyed Bobby V's (Kapaa), Duke's (Lihue), and Roy's in Poipu for dinner. Breakfast we ate at McDonald's (spam mcmuffin) and the Tip Top Cafe (Lihue) or skipped breakfast. Lunches were at Bubba Burger (Hanalei), Deli & Bread Connection (lihue), Puka Dog (poipu), L&L BBQ (Waimea).
Other Thoughts:
To save on baggage fees we did laundry here and the cost was $1 for 45 minutes of dryer time, and $1.50 for a load in the washing machine. There were four washers and four dryers. The resort was very quiet and peaceful overall. A little windy on the east shore and got a little chilly at night. I found a lot of people's complaints unfounded for me. The staff was nice, resort was clean, and grounds looked great. And I felt safe here (there is a safe in the room). There is a small buisness center and a gift shop that had decent prices.
I was not expecting much based on the reviews and I wasn't expecting a 5 star deluxe resort based on price but what I experienced was definately 4 star awesome! I would highly recommend this resort and wouldn't hesitate to book this resort again. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ajrwdwgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    921
    905
    321
    78
    46
See reviews for
438
1,317
93
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kyiv
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

It was our honeymoon and we stayed there just for 3 nights and then went to Maui.
Hotel is amazing! We had ocean view room. So big and very good planned condo we hadn't ever!
It is so nice that I haven't words! Very great personal, very clean rooms, very beautiful location and a lot of beautiful places near!
It is the best hotel I've ever been in my life.

We are from Ukraine and have very different food and for us here was just one minus. They don't have any delicious restaurant near :(
Just for breakfasts there is some very delicious cafe in shopping center and thats it! We couldn't find any other for lunch and dinner :( And the restaurant that in the hotel is not taste for us. We didn't like their food :(
But you can make food for yourself in your condo! So this minus is too small for paying attention!

I recommend this hotel to all couples and all families!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaneTarasova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

We just returned from a 10 day stay at this resort and really enjoyed ourselves. We were automatically upgraded to a pool/ocean view which is a must. The staff was very friendly, the on-site restaurants served delicious food and we enjoyed the "extras"...lei-making demonstrations, hula dance shows, and the nightly showcase of musical talent in the lounge. It is a nice place, nothing over the top extravagant but a beautiful place to stay. It is very close to the airport but very quiet. Just a recommendation...if you want those beautiful Hawaiian sunsets, you won't see them on this side of the island. However, it is a good in-between location for all major points on the island.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OntheMove77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

I am not a prissy world traveler, but in my humble blue collar opinion the Kauai Beach Resort was a great place to stay. We stayed for 8 nights and basically slept there and used the pool and hot tubs a few times. Loved the hot tubs!

We were a little concerned after reading some of the reveiws, but with anything you have to discount some of them due to the "negative Nancy" factor where some people are pre disposed to find the bad in everything. We were happy to discover that that was the case with this hotel. The rooms were clean, our view of the pond was fine, and we had no problem with customer service, tho we didn't ask for much. We were too busy enjoying the beautiful island to nit pick the fact that one day the cleaning person forgot to empty our ice bucket.

Parking was a bit inconvenient, but we cheated and parked in one of the Village lots. They do offer free valet parking. I think we were charged $100 or so for the 8 nights to park, really not a big deal.

As for the beach, it was beautiful. Some beaches are good for swimming and some aren't. This one isn't the best, but it was beautiful all the same.

The location was also really good. We were centrally located on the island and super close to the airport. One concern I had was airport noise. The only time we heard a plane was while we were at the pool, and that was only a couple times. The room was impervious to airplane noise.

I would definitely stay there again and would recommend the Kauai Beach Resort to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sqdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

I researched every hotel/resort in Kauai starting with the $50 per night to the best on the island at $400 per night. This was the middle ground. Has everything you need, makes you feel you are in a great place and doesn't hurt your pocket. Beautifully built resort, friendly service, great pools/spas, watch the sunrise on the backside beach, nice clean rooms, nice housekeeping. We had a mountain view, but were lucky to have a ocean view room. They have internet in the lobby as well. They charge for parking, but add that cost to your hotel stay and it will still be cheaper than other places.....but now you can enjoy valet parking! .......I and my wife loved it! I haven't stayed at other resorts on Kauai, but If you are looking for a comfortable and a pleasant stay without troubles that cheaper hotels bring and don't need the class and elite service, this is the perfect place!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank viraljain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
187 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We stayed here for three nights & loved every minute!! Very nice and bright hotel. Our room was an ocean view and it was perfect. It is helpful to have a car while staying here as you are not able to walk to any other establishments as it is kindof isolated. It is near the airport which we found to be an advantage and had no problems with passing aircraft. Do wish that the hotel staff kept up the beachfront as it was often littered with ocean debris.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2010

The Kauai Beach Resort was a great disappointment. After having stayed a week on Maui at The Kaanapali Beach Hotel (incredible!), this hotel, first a Radisson, then a Hilton and now managed by Aqua, clearly has a long way to go. The property is nice but the "garden view" rooms overlook the employee parking lot in the back of the hotel, the dumpster and the unkept brush next to the property. The service is below par at best. Returning from the beach, we found our room door left ajar by the cleaning staff so anyone could have walked in. Our trash was not collected one day and we did not have towels. We called the front desk and were told someone would come up right away. After waiting an hour, we went to the housekeeping room at end of the hall and got our own towels. The trash stayed in the room for two days. We had to change rooms twice upon arriving because the air conditioning didn't work in the first room and there was the overpowering smell of mold in the second. On the positive side, the room was very clean but far too small. We had to pay $13. per day for parking and there weren't enough spaces for the guests. We had to park with the employees in the dirt lot at the end of the property quite often. The hotel regularly hosted special events and the few available parking spaces were then taken by those attending these events. The room refrigerator was broken and we were promised several times it would be addressed. When traveling we always choose moderate to high-end hotels. We recommend choosing another hotel when staying in Lihue, Kauai.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kardeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Property: Kauai Beach Resort
Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8109 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 Business Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. Guests enjoy stylish accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambiance. In a convenient location close to the airport, shopping, and championship golf, the hotel also offers FREE airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, a lounge, entertainment, 4 pool areas, a 75-foot lava tube water slide, a 24/7 fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms, a ballroom, and parking is a $25/daily fee. A daily resort fee includes WiFi internet access, movie and game rentals, and more. Experience the best in island hospitality and charm of Hawaii when staying at the Kauai Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing