We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here for sure!!!”
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stay here for sure!!!”
Reviewed May 7, 2010

My husband and I just got back from Kauai Beach Resort -we went for our 'babymoon'. We DIDN'T want to leave. Everything was wonderful. The resort is beautiful, the staff is warm and friendly. We never ate a meal we didn't like. Check out the salad bar for sure! Fresh veggies galore! I have to be honest -I didn't know how nice it could be for the rate we got -$89 per night, but we could have easily paid more and still been satisfied. We would come back here again and again. The location is a bit isolated, but nothing that we couldn't handle. My husband really enjoyed the golf course right next door -green fees were only $60 and the course was nice.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honeymoon-wedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    928
    917
    324
    78
    46
See reviews for
444
1,329
94
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Issaquah,, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2010

We stayed here on the night we flew into the island and the night before we left, extending the nights at our timeshare at another location on the Island. It was very clean, very convenient to the airport and the people were wonderful. We will definately stay here again. Rooms were very confortable, the food was great and they make killer Mai Tai's.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ksschutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona City, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2010

Upon our arrival January 5, 2010 for a 15 night stay, as we were checking in, the receptionist informed us that they did not offer any room upgrades or other Hilton diamond benefits since they were no longer affiliated with Hilton as of January 1, 2010. She spoke very negatively about Hilton and assigned us a room overlooking the hotel entrance on the second floor.

The next day at breakfast we noticed several items on the menu, and were informed they were no longer available and were advised by the wait staff that the buffet was the best choice! We discovered the buffet was very poor quality and overpriced... Even the coffee was terrible! The lunch and dinner menu selection was pathetic. The service in the restaurant was poor, certainly not acceptable for a quality Hotel. We ate at the buffet several times during our stay, the food and service remained substandard.

Our room experience was even worse! There were dirty mirrors, trash on the patio, and a missing smoke detector! The back plate for the smoke detector was in place with the connection wires hanging out, and the smoke detector was "Gone"! This was not remedied for five days after repeated complaints.

We also discovered the room air conditioner could not be turned off or temperature adjusted and ran continuously. The maintenance man who responded, informed us the only way to remedy the situation was to go into the wall and disconnect the wires, which he did. We were told to call front desk for maintenance man if we wanted to turn air conditioning on or off between the hours of 8am and midnight daily and they would send someone to connect or disconnect the wires. as needed. We found this solution to be incredible.... We then opened the door wall and requested a fan, which was brought to us and used for the remainder of our stay. Our complaint that the latch on the screen and door wall was broken was ignored. Whenever in the room we could hear guests arriving and departing,, not exactly what we had in mind when we made our reservations! About halfway through our stay, we were offered a different room, however decided to stay where we were because we knew this rooms defects and did not want to chance a worse experience, and felt we could be penalized by the Hotel if we complained too much.

On Sunday January 10, 2010 @ 12:30pm we were awakened from a nap by a Hotel employee asking to come in and inspect the room to make sure there was "nothing in the room with the Hilton name on it". "There MUST BE NOTHING in the room with the Hilton name on it"!! he would have made good gestapo!!!! We had other complaints to numerous to mention.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jim041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2010

My husband and I have stayed at Kauai Beach three times in the last four years and will return again in 2011. The resort is equidistance from the Northern Coast and the Southern Coast which we truly appreciate since we drive the island pretty often. It takes one hour to travel to Princeville on the North and one hour to travel to Poi Pu on the South. Rent a convertible; the scenery is unbelievable! It is also located some distance off the main road which aids in the peace and quiet of the hotel and grounds. If you go during the right time of the year, you are not surrounded by large crowds of people; at times you feel as if you are the only ones there. The rooms are clean and comfortable for sleeping and watching TV, but as there is a lot to do and much to see in Kauai, you're very seldom in your room. We loved the pools and especially the poolside bar which also features a grill. My favorite? The meatless nachos. We ate breakfast in the restaurant almost every morning and always ordered from the menu, so I cannot comment on the buffet. One of the best parts of our stay is sitting around one of the tables just outside the lobby area very early in the morning watching the sunrise and drinking wonderful Kona coffee. Other than the restaurant, we didn't interact with the staff that much, although during our first stay, the concierge was wonderful in that she made arrangements for all our island activities in one sitting. Oh, and I visited the spa quite freqently and always received a most wonderful massage. So for peace and quiet and a get-away-from-it-all kind of place, this is it.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LLFOX61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2010

The Kauai Beach Resort was a convenient place to stay, the resort has been renovated, it has three pools with waterfalls, two hot spas, a waterslide into the pool. We hired a car through the resort which we collected at the airport. You must have a car here it is a very layed back quiet area. The rooms were beautiful nice marble bathrooms, we had an oceanview room which looked out to sea. The beach here was too dangerous to swim in, very rocky. The restaurant was great we ate here all three nights of our stay. We had lunch by the pool which was also good, hotdogs, fish and chips etc. The gym was great, the guest laundry handy. We drove up to Princeville and explored the northern area, we shopped at the local mall in Lihue, there is a foodland, Macys, foot locker surf shops, great prices. The resort is close to the airport and a great base to explore the island. Kylie Baldock (Sydney, Australia)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KylieBaldock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mililani, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2010

The staff is wonderful. Rooms are nicely decorated. Beautiful pool complex with a water slide, water falls, two spas and a sand pool. The beach here has rocky ledges which are great for tidepool exploring and long walks, but not so great for swimming. The surf was too high for us to venture over the rocks to deeper swimming water. If you plan to sunbathe and swim in the pools this is a great place. Not so much for beach swimming. They have some great rate deals as well. Try to get the Snooze and Crooze deal which includes a rental car. You'll want to explore more of the island to find the swimming beaches. Also if you are here on Wednesday, be sure to see "South Pacific" in the dinner theater. The all you can eat dinner buffett was good and the show was excellent! More info here http://www.southpacifickauai.com/south_pacific/home.html

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meevans21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2010

My Mom and I came to Kauai to enjoy a vacation together. I had arranged a private rental that unfortunately did not work out (see other reviews: SandPiper, Ahh Aloha Rental Services), so we ended up having to leave. After a quick internet search I called the Kauai Beach Resort and was able to check in the same day!

We arrived after a full day of play in Kauai. The staff were amazingly helpful, super kind and the beginning of our experience was off to a great start. This fantastic customer service was just what we needed after having to leave our previous accommodation for safety reasons and noise issues and then dealing with horrific customer care from the private vacation rental agency.

We had a drink in the lounge - affordable, tasty, prompt and kind service then made our way to our room.

The room was clean, the beds were extremely comfortable, great shower, awesome view...it could not have been any better. We slept great - our first night of quiet uninterrupted sleep on the island.

We stayed here for two nights. I originally did NOT want to stay in any type of resort - like atmosphere as I prefer to be away from superficial and materialistic atmospheres, the Kauai Beach Resort was none of that. It was a pure delight to stay here. I will return and will recommend to others.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HawaiiSun4Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Property: Kauai Beach Resort
Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8109 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#3 Business Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. Guests enjoy stylish accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambiance. In a convenient location close to the airport, shopping, and championship golf, the hotel also offers FREE airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, a lounge, entertainment, 4 pool areas, a 75-foot lava tube water slide, a 24/7 fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms, a ballroom, and parking is a $25/daily fee. A daily resort fee includes WiFi internet access, movie and game rentals, and more. Experience the best in island hospitality and charm of Hawaii when staying at the Kauai Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing