We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sooo nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sooo nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

This place was so nice to arrive to. We enjoyed our stay here very much. The Expedia expert was amazing as our travel agent screwed up a booking and she tried to fix it. Pools were lovely and the room was nice also. It's close to lots and is right on the beach

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you found our resort to be in a convenient location to all island activities and the accommodations and facilities met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Isle. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    900
    885
    315
    78
    45
See reviews for
432
1,288
91
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Love Kauai for the layer back living. One thing to mention is how abstract the weather is from one side of the island to the other. If your feeling done with the rain and lush vegetation, head feast toward the for HOT HOT weather and NO RAIN. totally abstract to the rest of the island. Kauai beach resort is very clean and great value. Don't be scared by the value. It really is a nice place and centrally located. Enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doug r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found our resort to be very clean and of great value. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of your return visit in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is really a 2.75 Star. Staff is excellent but ... Liue is not the best location for good weather. The south at Poipu or north to Princeville has more sun and warmer temps. The hotel - Kauai Beach Resort - is dated,even though the reviews say it was remodeled in 2007 - that was 8 years ago. (Most hotels are remodeled every 7 years.)
The cost is less here and the bar food is good. Rent a car at the airport and see the island, visit other beaches during the day and enjoy the fact you are saving a little while enjoying Kauai.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are pleased that you found the resort to be of good value and that our staff provided you with excellent service. With respect to your feedback on our accommodations, we are currently in the early stages of guestroom renovations and hope to have these improvements completed in the very near future. Again, we appreciate your comments and we hope to have the pleasure of your return visit. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed there for four nights. It's centrally located between north and south coasts, and is close to the airport. Staff were very friendly, rooms were great, pool areas were nice & relaxing, breakfast was yummy.
One night there were blackouts, but the staff were super helpful & nice. They upgraded our room and allowed us a very late checkout on our last night so we could relax before our red eye flight.
The prices are very reasonable, especially on Priceline. It's not the fanciest place in the world, but it's everything we needed and more.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ted L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us and that our facilities and accommodations exceeded your expectations. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the helpful service they provided. We hope to have the pleasure of your return visit in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Totally impressed by this facility and the people who work here. Great food, facility and housekeeping along with the support staff in all departments of this place. I would highly recommend and go back to this establishment in a flash!

Room Tip: You definitely want an ocean view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickeym4560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us and that you found our facilities and accommodations to be outstanding. We also appreciate you recognizing our staff and the excellent service the provided. We look forward to welcoming you back before too long. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
137 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

The Kauai Beach Resort, is better than first impression. They make a mistake irritating people with paying for parking and then having to park in Dirt,, and this is a first impression when you park your rental car to check in and get charged to park.

It also makes a mistake in charging a lot to use the computer. Beyond that, nice pools, on a beach that is not swimmable but nice enough, nice grounds, reasonable position in the Island to go North or South but not too in Lihue.. a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are pleased that you found our resort to be in a good location on island and that our facilities and accommodations met your expectations. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Isle. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
581 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 555 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

This is the first hotel that we have booked and were misled by the TripAdvisor reviews. The decor was old and shabby rather than elegant. Our room had old peeling wall paper and a musty carpet smell pervaded the room even with the sliding doors open. There was also very poor lighting in the room, and to make matters worse one of the bedside lights did not work. It was impossible to read as we only had one working bedside lamp and a small table lamp. The pillows were doughy and lumpy and the mattress gave uneven support.

We stayed in building 1, the lobby design to the elevators were extremely poor as you had to go up and down two half flights of stairs to get to the elevators.

The internet was complimentary in lobby, connections in the rooms was an extra $12.95 per day. Covered parking is available and valet parking is the same rate as self parking at $ 16.95 per day.

We had terrible and inattentive service at pool bar, cold food, overcharge on bill. After our poolside experience we decided not to chance dinner on site and went to excellent Italian local restaurant , Kauai Pasta Kapaa, 4 miles north in Waipouli.

The hotel grounds had mediocre landscaping with two small pools, one of which being dedicated to children and featured a sandy area. The beach at the hotel is narrow, rough and rocky.

Buffet Breakfast was average resort fare but quite expensive at $20 per person, the resort does give two $5 vouchers so the buffet works to same price as most al la carte items with coffee.

Only positive was the friendly front desk staff and our server at Breakfast, Anna. The hotel is only 5 minutes away from the Airport at Lihue.

The Kauai Beach resort is a basic hotel suitable for an overnight stay close to the airport if you are willing to tolerate mediocre quality.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank FunOnly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. Needless to say, we are disappointed to learn that you were not completely satisfied with your visit. Your feedback is very important to us and we sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced We will address the areas of your concern and we hope that we may have the opportunity to redeem ourselves with your return visit so that you may enjoy the outstanding facility that we are. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Property: Kauai Beach Resort
Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8109 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#3 Business Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. Guests enjoy stylish accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambiance. In a convenient location close to the airport, shopping, and championship golf, the hotel also offers FREE airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, a lounge, entertainment, 4 pool areas, a 75-foot lava tube water slide, a 24/7 fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms, a ballroom, and parking is a $18/daily fee. A daily resort fee includes WiFi internet access, movie and game rentals, and more. Experience the best in island hospitality and charm of Hawaii when staying at the Kauai Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing