We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Experience”
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
1 review
“A Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is a great resort. The staff are very attentive, helpful and friendly. We had a marvelous time at the Kauai Beach Resort. This is a good place for families, and kids. We had 17 members of our family there and the kids, and adults loved the pools, water slide, and hot tubs. If you're there on a Tuesday, be sure to be back to the resort for the guest-only poolside reception complete with free Mai Tais, live music and hula dancing! I would definitely recommend it and would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view of the pool and ocean! It's great to go to sleep and awaken to the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill27606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed the resort and our "E Komo Mai" reception on Tuesday evening. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the friendly service with aloha they provided. We look forward to welcoming you all back to beautiful Kauai in the near future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    922
    905
    321
    78
    46
See reviews for
438
1,317
93
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (697)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
WI
Level Contributor
144 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Due to the layout of the island, we split our 10 days and spent 1/2 in the north and 1/2 in the south. Plan your activities accordingly and save a lot of drive time. I picked this specific room on line (it was a individual owned rental) so really look for the right deal. Many, maybe most of the rooms, are just booked as part of the hotel. There are some that looked like the view was out the back... Which stunk view wise, so look carefully to find the personally owned units so you know what view you are getting. The cost for our unit was very reasonable (why I'm giving it an excellent rating) and it had a great view of the pool area. This property also has beach front, although it's not real swimable. We did like walking the beach every day to enjoy the ocean.
They have a nice lounge with entertainment, a casual fire pit for the evenings and a coffee shop on site. Service was always with a smile. We only had drinks at the pool bar so I can't speak to the food there.
This property is also close to the airport so it's convenient. As the room was only $89, I booked it for the day we flew out, too. As flights are almost all after 8pm, it was much nicer to be able to have the room all day and to shower up before flying home.

Room Tip: Find individually owned units on line to know what you view will be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmctimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and found our location to be convenient. We also appreciate your feedback on our accommodations and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island before too long. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Stayed at the Kauai Beach Resort from Sept.14 to 28 ,2013.Pictures can not do this place justice you have to see it to believe it.Our stay was fantastic great service, staff was excellent.Would go back again. Didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandals690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us and found the resort to be beautiful. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the great service they provided. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

It did not seem like a resort to us, just a hotel. Room was nice overlooking the pool area on the 3rd floor with balcony. Staff was nice. Prices for the restaurant were expensive, like most of the island, but the bar by the pool seemed a little high for ordering drinks & lunch and they charge a "split" charge if you split lunch. When it was raining and the bar inside was closed, if you wanted a drink you were supposed to go out in the rain and get it by the pool??? The grounds and pool were very nice, but they were ALWAYS mowing or edging or weed wracking all the time so that was very annoying at times.

Room Tip: Be sure and get one overlooking the pool or ocean partial view not over the mountains because it loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. Needless to say we are disappointed that you were not completely satisfied with your visit. We certainly appreciate your feedback and we will take into consideration your suggestions. We are pleased however that you enjoyed the accommodations and that you received friendly service from our staff. We hope to have the pleasure of your return visit in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

All Guest Services personal at Kauai are very nice. However Jodi, the director of Guest Services is the one really deserved specially mentioned. The first day after I checked in, I went to the front desk the second time because the room keys were not working. Jodi was there and when she learned the situation, she called the maintenance person right away, and at the same time she personally went to the room with us to check the room keys. When the maintenance person told her the door key in that room had some issues the day before, Jodi was so nice to switch us to the other room. It is not just how Jodi did things, but more importantly the way she handle things with so much grace which I believe that is the reason that the Guest Services in your hotel is ranked “Number 1” in my book.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wei H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and more importantly, that you received excellent service during your visit. We appreciate your kind comments on our staff and in particular, Jodi Omo, our Director of Guest Services. We take great pride in providing our guests service with aloha and we will be sure to share your review with all our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Great hotel! Our room (ocean view-worth the extra cost) was large, well maintained and near the beach. The staff were all fantastic, friendly and professional. The restaurant was great and prices were consistent with anywhere else on the island. The pools were spotless and the grounds manicured. The spa was good and convenient, as you can walk back to your room or stop in the suana (tips are included in the bill! So, don't get double downed). The beach isn't swimable, but offers a great view of the ocean and long walks. The hotel is also perfectely located near the airport, but without any annoying noise. We stayed 5 nights and loved every minute. You can't have a bad time here unless you work at it! The gift and jewelry shop are well appointed with quality items and are worth the time. The online hotel website pictures do not do it justice. It is a fantastic hotel at the right location and best value you can find. It is not a mega hotel and we like that, It is just right in every way.

Room Tip: Beach front or view in building #4
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you found the resort to be in a perfect location and that you thoroughly enjoyed our facilities and accommodations. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the fantastic service they provided you. We look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Location: Pretty good. Right near Kapa'a town and Lihue. 30 minute drive to Poipu. Close to two major waterfalls.

Resort: Very beautiful pool layout. Nice place to relax during the day. The lobby was very comfortable, and that was the only place for free WiFi.

Room: Nice clean room. Small lanai overseeing the pool and with an ocean view.

Breakfast: LOTS of options. A great buffet to fill up before the day's adventure.

Service: Very good service. We complained about some gnats hovering in the hall on our 2nd night, and they took care of it within the hour.

Fitness Center: Well stocked with water. Equipment (weights, treadmills, and elipticals) were sufficient for the quick workout we wanted.

Parking: They discounted it to $10 a night for us, which was very courteous.

Room Tip: Building 4 is definitely the best view of the ocean. Ocean Views are really just ocean views. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vjb22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you found the resort to be in a convenient location and that you enjoyed our facilities and accommodations. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Property: Kauai Beach Resort
Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8109 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#3 Business Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. Guests enjoy stylish accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambiance. In a convenient location close to the airport, shopping, and championship golf, the hotel also offers FREE airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, a lounge, entertainment, 4 pool areas, a 75-foot lava tube water slide, a 24/7 fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms, a ballroom, and parking is a $25/daily fee. A daily resort fee includes WiFi internet access, movie and game rentals, and more. Experience the best in island hospitality and charm of Hawaii when staying at the Kauai Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing