We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“aqua kauai beach resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Simi Valley, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“aqua kauai beach resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Overall a very nice location. Our only problem was that when we first arrived late Friday night our room smelt a little like a boat. You know that little bit of a old water smell. That could have been from all of the rain they had been having. Woke up quite early the next morning to the sound of the Island of Kauai national bird, the Rooster at 4:30am. Then when the sun did finally come up I saw our view, mind you we paid quite extra for a "Ocean View." The view, a very tiny view of the ocean, a nice view of the parking lot and a great view of the dumpster below. Apart from the roosters, the bottles being thrown into the dumpster made a great sound also.

In the morning I went to the reception desk to see about getting a room change. I was told a better room would be available across the hall in about 6 hours. I still thought that these rooms were not ocean view but just partial ocean view. I asked the very nice girl at reception if any upgraded rooms were available and of course they did have an ocean view suite available. We checked this room out and it was much, much better. A little bigger than the previous room and it was a true ocean view, just about right on the beach. But it did have it's draw backs also, it was an additional $60 a night. Now we are up to @$255 a night.

Best aspects of the hotel… the staff was great. I wish I could remember the name of the guy at the bar, he was fantastic. From telling us that the kitchen was closed when we arrived late the first night, he said he would make us a sandwich, to finding me the hockey game to watch, he is a great asset to the hotel.

The hotel has a great beach to go for a walk on but don't plan on going swimming here, too much reef and not enough sand. You can go for a short drive to go swimming on the beach

The valet service was also fantastic. They called us by name, asked how our day was and were also very informative as to what to do and where to go on the island.

Pools were exceptionally clean and well maintained with a very nice water slide for the kids or wish we were still kids, kids.

The breakfast buffet was fabulous. Excellent omelets and fantastic fresh fruit, a truly great breakfast.

Overall a very nice resort and we will probably be back again next time with the kids.

Room Tip: building 4 is the best, it's on the beach with a great view, building 2 has a great view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank safari338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. Needless to say we are disappointed to learn that the accommodations offered upon your arrival were not satisfactory and we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. We are pleased however, that the remainder of your stay was enjoyable and that our staff provided excellent service. Again, mahalo for your feedback and we look forward to your return visit with your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    819
    293
    74
    41
See reviews for
395
1,200
87
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (647)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The Kauai Beach Resort is a nice place to stay. The grounds are very nice. The pools (there are 4) are large enough and deep enough, and one even has a water slide. I found the bed comfortable, and the service friendly and competent. The room was quiet until the local roosters (found all over Kauai) had something to say - but being on the fourth floor, I left the lanai door open to feel the tropical breezes, and I could have closed them and muffled the rooster.

It could use some minor sprucing up (some of the usual results of being in a seashore environment, such as a little rust here and there. The beach is not for swimming, but that is why they have the great pools.

The biggest negative is trying to get out of their driveway during the high traffic times. The only north/south road goes past the entrance and is busy during morning and evening commute hours. I was also not impressed with Naupaka, one of their restaurants, but I'll save the details for a specific review of that.

Room Tip: The pool/ocean view we had on the fourth floor provided a great view, and couple spectacular sunrise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DustyBottoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you found the resort facilities to be very nice and the accommodations comfortable. We appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the friendly service they provided you. We value your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyside, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We chose this resort because it was centrally located on the island. This was important as we had not visited the island before and wanted to see everything. We found everything to our satisfaction and would recommend the resort in the future. I believe the server we had in the Shutters Café one evening was new and his service was a bit slow. We all have had to start somewhere and I am willing to be patient and kind -- besides we were on vacation. I appreciated the associate at the front desk printing out our boarding passes -- we had four of them -- with a smile on her face. Our stay on Kauai was absolutely wonderful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side of the building is like having our own little oasis with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found the resort to be in a convenient location for island activities and that you were very satisfied with your overall visit. We appreciate your feedback regarding our service staff in Shutters Lounge and we will address those concerns immediately. We look forward to your return visit in the very near future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mililani, Hawaii
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

The hotel staff are wonderful, and best of all they are there every year we go back, the grounds are breathtaking, the rooms are clean and lovely, the food is delicious! We go every year and we love it!

Room Tip: Ground floor with pool access is very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamaaina8082013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased to have you as our return guest annually and we appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and the service "with aloha" that they provided to you. We will be happy to share your wonderful review and we look forward to welcoming you "home" next year. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberec
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Would recommend to every traveller! Nice hotel resort with friendly staff, great restaurant and bar. Pool area and courtyard is just perfect. Located about one minute walk from beach. Perfect location, hope to come back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JakubFucik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you found the resort to be in a perfect location and that you enjoyed our accommodations and facilities. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the friendly service they provided. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night only. Our flight from LA arrived very late, we decided to stay overnight near Lihue airport rather than drive all the way north in the dark in the middle of the night as we were so tired after a long day of delays. We were very happy with this hotel and got a great rate. Our room was very nice, a very comfortable bed, nice bed lines, and a good size bathroom. We took an early morning walk along the rugged beach, which we had to ourselves, before we checked out. The location seems a bit isolated and would necessitate a car to get around, but overall we were very impressed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinnagoebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are very pleased that you found our resort to be in the perfect location for your one night stay and that you enjoyed our accommodations and facilities. We hope to have the pleasure of your return visit and for a longer length of time so that you can truly enjoy what an outstanding resort we are. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We found the description of the amenities and hotel were accurate. Very clean and well maintained. Good location if you plan on seeing the entire island since it is centrally located to everything and close to airport. Would stay there again and recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found the resort to be in an ideal location for all island activity and you enjoyed our accommodations and facilities. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to recommend our resort and we look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 stars 651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Property: Kauai Beach Resort
Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8109 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#3 Business Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kauai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. This hotel features stylish vintage accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambience and is conveniently located close to the airport, shopping, championship golf and more. The hotel also offers complimentary airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, lounge, entertainment, 4 pools, 75-foot lava tube water slide, fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms and ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing