We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for the Price”
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Booked a 7 night WestJet Vacation Package (air and hotel, ocean front view - Oct 26, 2013). Checked in late (after 10 PM), hotel was busy. We were greeted and checked in promptly. While the hotel was very busy the room was very quiet. This is the first hotel we have stayed at in a long time that has been this quiet every night. Had breakfast in the dining room every day, food good and comparably priced to what we would pay at home (Calgary AB Canada). Ate at the Shutters bar most nights. Happy hour daily featured a small selection of drinks (the same every day) would have been nice if the drink selection changed. Food good. Service friendly. Room - average, very clean,

Room Tip: Ocean view - building 4, nice location
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lwedz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you found the resort to be relaxing and our accommodations to be clean and comfortable. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we will take into consideration your suggestion on our drink menu in the Shutters Lounge. We look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,333)
There are newer reviews for Kauai Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,152 - 1,158 of 2,335 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013

So-so resort. Nothing fancy. It was very sleepy. The tiki bar at the pool closes at 6. Why? It should be open till like 10 or 11pm. Very nice pool area. If you are a smoker, forget it. You can't smoke on your deck and you can only smoke at 4 designated areas on the property. 2 of which were benches in the parking lots. I'm sorry, but why can't you smoke outside by the pool? The only night life here is a 1960s lounge/bar with bad music. Very sleepy! The need to jazz it up at night. Keep the tiki bar open!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pafuden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed our facilities during your visit. We appreciate your feedback regarding the Shutters Lounge and we will consider your suggestions. With respect to your concerns about the smoking areas within the property and around the pool, Hawaii became a "smoke free" State in 2006 and adheres to strict policies for designated smoking areas and required distances from guests and employees. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and we hope to have the pleasure of your return visit in the near future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Just spent 3 nights here and was under whelmed...The view from the lobby to poolside is nice, as is the fire pit near the lobby. What was wrong with the place is how old the rooms looked and smelled. It appears that they tried to update the look of the place with a fresh coat of paint but if you look carefully all they did was paint over dirt and grime. They should have updated the carpets because the room smelled really dank and musty. The last night it started raining and the smell in the room got even worse.

The concierge seemed nice enough but if you ask for other options or vendors that she didn't mention she gets surly.

The food poolside was good and the wait staff was nice enough, as were the guys at the valet.

I did feel like this place likes to nickle and dime. 13 bucks a day for WiFi in the room seems like much, and if you ask for late checkout they want to charge you 10 bucks an hour.

As for the beach, it wasn't as nice as some of the beaches on the north side of the island.

During checkout I found a discrepancy on my bill. When I pointed it out they corrected it which increased my bill. Good customer service would have acknowledged the error and let me save the 5 bucks instead of charging me after the fact.

In the end I would really caution people from staying here. Money would be much better spent on the north side of the island.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Zisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. Needless to say, we are disappointed to learn that you were not completely satisfied with your overall visit with us. We apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and we hope to have the opportunity to redeem ourselves with your return visit to show you what an outstanding facility we really are. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

On reflection and this is only my personal taste, I would have looked for a vacation rental property instead of a resort. Just so much more reasonable when you can make your own breakfast and lunch then head to a nice restaurant for dinner.

That said, I have mostly good things to say about this property. The rooms were clean and relatively recently upgraded. We stayed in the main building with a view of the pool and ocean.

A tip: if staying in the main building. Get a room on the top floor as with anything lower, your view may be blocked by the palm trees.

The food at their restaurant was just average although the service was extremely friendly and professional.

There is a beach at the resort but I would not advise swimming, as its quite shallow and full of rocks and coral for quite a ways out. Also, we took a walk out to the beach and to the right for a beach stroll and were disappointed to find that as soon as you were off the hotel property, which is pretty quickly, you are on a trail with trash and debris - not my idea of a pristine beach walk.

We ate at Gaylords - very nice, did the Luau at Smith's - decent but nothing special and ate at the Hulilau Lanai in Kapaa (a 7 minute drive) TWICE. Absolutely fabulous restaurant but make reservations as soon as you arrive.

The resort does host a number of conventions which can clog the parking lot and restaurants as well as a weekly performance of South Pacific which is open to the public.

Expect to pay $10-15 per night to park your car and $15/ day for wifi in your room.

Room Tip: Top floor in the main building is your best chance for a true ocean view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolandAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay with us and that you found our staff to be friendly and professional. With respect to the beach fronting the property, we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced with the debri you came upon when walking. We often experience large currents that bring in debri (especially with the last tsunami from Japan) to the coastline. Our team diligently cleans the outskirts of the property as often as possible to keep our coastline pristine. We look forward to your return visit to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Very accommodating staff. Well appointed rooms. Comfortable beds & pillows. Nice layout of rooms with ocean/pool views.
Good location on island for driving around. Short drive to Poipu & Na Pali trailhead.
Loved the pool bar. Restaurant is only average. Food is ok. Service was average.
Beware of early morning rooster calls if your a light sleeper. Didn't bother us but Im sure it could be problematic to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are pleased that you found the resort to be in an ideal location and you enjoyed the accommodations and facilities. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back before too long. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights on the 18th oct as part if our honey moon. This hotel was superbly placed, had a free shuttle from the airport - 5 mins away and was really kind in upgrading us as it was our honeymoon. They also gave us a bottle of champagne. Room was very spacious, pool area immaculate, gym very clean and restaurant served great food with equal service. Recommend hiring a car to get round the island and then you can visit some great beaches. Of note was the guest services who sugared a great agenda for our week including some great beaches to visit as well as Tubing through and old Sugar Cane Plantation. Didn't want to leave here , it was so relaxing.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Gerbs2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you chose our resort to celebrate your honeymoon and that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit. We appreciate your kind comments and your five-star rating. We look forward welcoming you back in the very near future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We saw an offering on Travelzoo and thought that it was too good a deal to resist. We had planned to be in Maui so this was a 4-day excursion. Hotel was great. Nice room. Good amenities. Cool weather but should we blame the hotel???? The hotel concierge set us up with a helicopter ride which blew our minds! Fantastic.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HermesParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our accommodations and amenities. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back before too long. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8109 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#3 Business Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: $181 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. Guests enjoy stylish accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambiance. In a convenient location close to the airport, shopping, and championship golf, the hotel also offers FREE airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, a lounge, entertainment, 4 pool areas, a 75-foot lava tube water slide, a 24/7 fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms, a ballroom, and parking is a $25/daily fee. A daily resort fee includes WiFi internet access, and more. Experience the best in island hospitality and charm of Hawaii when staying at the Kauai Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing