We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Minden, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

An older property but has a nice Hawaii Plantation vibe. Location is great for a night before you leave on an early flight or if you arrive later in the day . Close to Airport and offers a shuttle.
Bar had music and great BBQ ribs . Brunch on Sunday was good nice outdoor seating, it was include in some our packages.

Room Tip: Bldgs 1,2 or 3 facing the pool ,upper floors for pleasant view and a peak at the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winkingatlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found our location to be very convenient to the airport along with our complimentary shuttle. We are also pleased that you enjoyed our Shutter's lounge and Sunday brunch in Nauapaka. We look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    929
    917
    324
    78
    46
See reviews for
445
1,329
94
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

The Kauai Beach Resort is perfection in it's own way. The location to everything can't be better. The grounds take your breath away whenever you walk around. The staff is friendly and helpful (even most of the guests get into the island spirit). This isn't your five star, high end Mega resort. This is a comfortable room, great people and views, make you feel happy resort. If your looking for high end, wait on you hand and foot, Mega resort....this isn't for you. If you want to enjoy your stay on Kauai and like the island way than stay here - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisaandkeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us and found our location to be convenient for all island activities. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the friendly service they provided you. We will be happy to share your review with all and we look forward to your return visit to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Ga
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Friendly staff, great service, clean, ocean view room was great. Room a/c worked good, parking is close, this was a problem in other reviews we didn't have any issues. The room, car package is a super deal. We will stay here the next trip.

Room Tip: 3rd floor ocean/ pool view rooms are the best!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ed755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit with us and we sincerely appreciate your feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of your return visit in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

This resort is situated right on the beach & is absolutely gorgeous. The grounds are well kept, the pool area is amazing with waterfalls, spas & a waterslide & just steps from the beach. The beach isn't good for swimming, but relaxing to stroll down, sunbathe or enjoy the stunning sunrises. The staff is friendly & you feel welcomed here. I was upgraded to an oceanfront suite & the room was immaculate. I spent hours researching & reading reviews to different places to stay on the Garden Isle & very pleased that we stayed here. It takes a lot for me to give 5 stars, but this resort was above & beyond my expectations. I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ready4Adventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort! We are so pleased that our resort exceeded your expectations and that our staff provided you friendly service with warm aloha. We take great pride in maintaining the cleanliness of our facilities and we appreciate your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Palma, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great location, close to Lihue, beautiful, redone pools and rooms. Ambience is very relaxing. Great location for the entire family. Beach is in front of the property, but is not a great swimming beach. The beach is very good for strolling with the family. Weather in Sept was warm and humid.

Room Tip: Only 5 minutes from Lihue and less than 3 miles to the airport.There is a fee for parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Docmark320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found our location to be ideal and that you and your family enjoyed our facilities. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hercules, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have stayed at the Kauai Beach Resort seven or eight times over the last decade and it never fails deliver a magical time. The setting is just lovely, the grounds are beautiful and you usually have the beach all to your self. What really sets this property apart is the great staff, many who have been there for years. It really is a friendly place, and it's very relaxing and unpretentious, I would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the Garden Island!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pango32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We sincerely appreciate you making our resort your choice to stay when visiting Kauai and we are pleased that you acknowledge our staff who provide service with aloha. We will be happy to share your comments with everyone and we look forward to your return in the very near future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nipomo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The grounds are beautiful, the views were great when you ask for mountain you get mountain when you ask for ocean you get ocean. However the ground floor is boring on the mountain view and the ocean ground floor view is pretty much in line with the pool. If people watching is your bag then the pool ground floor is for you. Take advantage on the daily excursions they were wonderful had a great time for the money.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are average on the non ocean side. Ground floor pool side is what you get a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elkmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found the resort grounds to be beautiful and you enjoyed the daily excursions around the island. We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Property: Kauai Beach Resort
Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8109 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#3 Business Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. Guests enjoy stylish accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambiance. In a convenient location close to the airport, shopping, and championship golf, the hotel also offers FREE airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, a lounge, entertainment, 4 pool areas, a 75-foot lava tube water slide, a 24/7 fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms, a ballroom, and parking is a $25/daily fee. A daily resort fee includes WiFi internet access, movie and game rentals, and more. Experience the best in island hospitality and charm of Hawaii when staying at the Kauai Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing