We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest balcony on Kauai”
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel, great location. Biggest surprise was the on property restaurants. Best food and atmosphere, while the prices were in line with others on the island. Duke's Kauai was great. Good food, good music and the best view.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wineryrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and found the resort to be in a great location. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and look forward to your return visit to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,335)
There are newer reviews for Kauai Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,198 - 1,204 of 2,335 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at Kauai Beach Resort for five nights April 2013 and it was the best hotel we had during our three weeks on the Hawaiian Islands. Its located not too far from the airport and Lihue but still is a quiet and remote resort by the waterfront. The rooms are spacious, clean, very well equipped and with great beds. With pools for every need, a cozy bar for you afternoon drinks and a very good restaurant, the resort covers all your needs. Great staff and an excellent consierge service that can help you with everything. If we ever go back to Kauai we will choose this resort for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bigasstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and found the resort to be in an ideal location for all island activities. We appreciate your feedback as well as your kind comments on our staff and the excellent service they provided. We look forward to your return visit in the not too distant future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights, and really enjoyed it. The hotel is central and easy to find from the airport, there is minimal noise from being so close.
Beautiful beach for walking on, swimming pools to relax by and very clean for swimming in. The rooms are clean and very well cared for by the service staff. Had the buffet breakfast included in our room rate and we were very happy with the choices, lots of fresh fruit and local pastries, and the hot choice was changed daily. The staff we encountered were very friendly and provided great service.
Would have liked free wireless in room, but the service is free and fast in the lobby and restaurant areas. They could use a small golf cart for bringing you back from the car park when you have spent the day in the sun :-) but you can valet park easily.
Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kiwialaskan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and found our resort to be in a convenient location and our facilities were clean and comfortable. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the friendly service with aloha they provided. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Garden Island in the not too distant future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and both felt it would have been nice to have stayed longer to explore more. The resort was very nice. We had a buffet breakfast every morning that was ok, i was not impressed with the service of some of the staff. Very close to the airport we ended up hiring a SUV being a long weekend we missed out on the cars that were available, you need a car to get anywhere. Should have done my homework more on the hotel before we left as i was so disappointed that we could not swim at the beach! The pools were great and the rooms were large the bed was fabulous along with the pillows! We had a room with sea views and looked onto the pool as well. After spending over a week at Waikiki it was nice to slow down and rest, very quiet compared to Waikiki as you would expect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon3007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit and found the resort to be in an ideal location. We appreciate your feedback on the cleanliness of our accommodations and we will be happy to share your comments with our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

From the first, this resort hotel seemed impersonal and lacking in Aloha spirit. The grounds would have been beautiful if they had not been full of construction equipment. The pool area is spectacular, though. Apparently the hotel was under renovation, but we were not warned of that fact when we reserved. It had rained the day before we arrived, and the only place to self park was in a muddy field behind the hotel. To avoid the self-park fee, we reserved a car through the hotel. When we arrived at the Dollar Rent A car desk in the airport, they had no record of our reservation, even though we had made it several months ahead of time. Thanks to the extraordinary efforts of the Dollar Rent A Car clerk, we did get our car and it was included in the room rate.

We had booked an ocean view room, and there was certainly a view to the ocean, but it also included some of the construction equipment, which could just as well have been parked out of view of the guests.

If you like walking on the beach, this is a good place to be, but there is no swimming because of the heavy surf and rocks.

The best thing about our hotel package was the buffet breakfast. The food was very good, but the staff were often surly, and I got the feeling that they did not enjoy working there.

I hope this hotel has improved since we were there a few months ago.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaestraM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. Firstly, we apologize for any inconvenience you might have experienced during your visit back in the first part of the year when the construction of our photovoltaic parking structure was taking place. We are happy to report that the project is complete and the resort is in beautiful condition. We hope that we may have the pleasure of your return visit so that you may truly enjoy the resort. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

First let me say, Kauai is one of the most beautiful places on earth and it a must visit for any serious traveler.

The hotel is located quite close to the airport and it's impossible to get lost if you have a car.
The rooms are spacious and have all the relevant facilities, but no WiFi in the room, they wanted another $16 per day which so many other hotels offer for free these days.

If you are going there for the beach, then stay somewhere else, this beach isn't for swimming, there are far too many rocks. There are a number of pools which weren't crowded and the surrounds are pleasant. There is virtually nothing much around the resort, so if you don't have a car then you can use their shuttle to eat elsewhere or eat in the hotel itself.

The breakfast buffet was horrible, and I wouldn't pay the $15 per day extra for this. The selection was very poor and the quality was average.

Overall, the staff are friendly and the rooms are ok, however the location somewhat lets it down. If you want to eat outside the hotel, then you need a car, but expect to pay a parking fee if you have a car.

Room Tip: Get a pool view room. You will have a partial ocean view from one of these rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kram66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. Needless to say, we are disappointed that you were not completely satisfied with your visit. With respect to your concerns regarding the WIFI in-room charge, the fee is $12.95 per day and $39.95 per week, however, we do offer complimentary WI-FI in the lobby areas of the resort. We apologize if you had experienced any inconvenience. We appreciate your feedback and hope that you will reconsider us again on your next visit to the Garden Island. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

After doing a lot of research into hotels and vacation rentals in Kauai I settled on the Kauai Beach Resort after hearing a friend's positive review. The hotel isn't as fancy as some of the high end places on the island but it is certainly very nice and in my opinion is a great value. I would definetely stay here again. There is a fitness center here but I did not look at this. The pool area is very well kept. We used the pool twice and enjoyed it. The hotel room is pretty standard and I was very happy with the room as it was clean and the bed was comfortable which lead to many excellent nights of sleep. There was also a nice TV in the room. We booked an oceanview room and were in the central building overlooking the pool. It was nice to spend a few moments in the morning/evening looking out over the pool towards the ocean. I usually had a cup of coffee out there as I waited for my wife to get ready. We booked a package which included the breakfast buffet. It was a treat to walk downstairs for breakfast each day and we really enjoyed the omelet station and fresh fruit. The price for the buffet if you go to the restaurant is $20 each but you can get a better price by booking a package. In my opinion it is worth the price for the convenience. The location of the hotel is nice, it is close to the airport (airplane noise was a complete nonissue) and it is easy to get on the main road to get to the north/west shore. The beach is a nonswimmable beach which is the main disadvantage of the hotel. However, we looked at the beaches by the Marriott and the hotels on the south shore and they were all very busy so this didn't make much of a difference.

Room Tip: Oceanview rooms are nice. There are two buildings which are right on the ocean and the second and th...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dewalt12635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and found the resort to be of great value. We very much appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back before too long. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8109 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#3 Business Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: $181 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. Guests enjoy stylish accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambiance. In a convenient location close to the airport, shopping, and championship golf, the hotel also offers FREE airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, a lounge, entertainment, 4 pool areas, a 75-foot lava tube water slide, a 24/7 fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms, a ballroom, and parking is a $25/daily fee. A daily resort fee includes WiFi internet access, and more. Experience the best in island hospitality and charm of Hawaii when staying at the Kauai Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing