We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place sucks”
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“This place sucks”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I won't stay here again, and I'll tell everyone else I know not to stay here either. Looks good initially, but upon closer examination, it's terrible. A few of the things that I encountered: dirty soap that was in the wrapper as if it was clean and new; room smelled like mildew, moved to another room, then I lost the WEEK's worth of Internet access that I already paid for; no clean towels given to me during room cleaning; staff that has no idea about the events that are going on at their hotel (busboy responds with, "I don't work tomorrow, so I have no idea what's going on and I don't care." oh, and I forgot to mention the attitude problems from the staff in the dinning room and the mediocre food. Entire thing was a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Erivers123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. Needless to say, we are disappointed that you were not completely satisfied with your stay and we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. There are no excuses for the concerns you had with our staff and rest assured, we have addressed those with the appropriate department managers. We appreciate the time you took to speak with us while you were here and we only hope that we may have the pleasure of your return visit so that we may redeem ourselves and provide the excellent experience that all our guests enjoy. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    894
    319
    78
    45
See reviews for
432
1,300
92
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (694)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pipersville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at the Kauai Beach Resort at the end of our seventeen day Hawaiin vacation since it was so convenient to the airport. We found the rooms to be in good shape the the grounds and facilities to be fanatastic, especially for the price paid. The food and drinks at the on-site restaurant & pool-side bar were incredible, especially the Saturday night seafood buffet! I wish some of the other places we stayed at in Kauai were this nice and offered as much! We will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: We booked a room with a mountain view in order to cut costs but were surprised to find that most if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are pleased that you found the resort location to be convenient and that our facilities and accommodations were of great value. Your feedback is very valuable to us and we look forward to the pleasure of your return visit in the very near future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The staff was very friendly and helpful. When we first arrived the air conditioning and the phone in our room did not work. My husband spoke to the manager at the front desk who was very nice and apologized for the inconvenience. They relocated us to a suite with a pool/ocean view without hesitation where we stayed for the entire 7 nights. We were very pleased with the willingness to accommodate us. The property and especially the pools have a very private, intimate feel with lots of niches to tuck your lounge chair next to a waterfall or under a group of banana trees and still have a view of your children in the pool. Loved the shallow sand pool next to the water slide pool. The beach in front of the resort is not swimmable at high tide, but is wonderful at low tide for exploring. There is a lovely beach for swimming right next to the resort that is very unpopulated. It fronts what appears to be a public campground/park that only had one tent. The resort is an easy drive to Wal-Mart and the town of Lihue. We loved this resort and will definitely come back!

Room Tip: The suites have two balconies and are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Allens92584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you found the resort to be exceptional for your family vacation and that we were able to accommodate you in a comfortable room. We appreciate your feedback on our facilities and how you enjoyed the beaches fronting the property and beyond. We certainly hope to have the pleasure of your return visit in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

When I arrived here from the included airport ride, I was was blown away. It looks and feels like a beach plantation at its best. The rooms are so comfy and of course there is not a bad view from any of them. The pools were great... on the days the resort did'nt allow many locals to come and pay for a play day, which makes all the fun parts very crowded and loud with screaming kids. I heard they only do that once a week (I think it was a Tuesday). And as nice as the grounds were, the staff was very cold, condescending and at times insulting, in particularly at the front desk. I wont hash out the details but just fyi. A few insider tips: rent your car directly at dollar car at the airport. The hotel is only a mile away. Dont use the Expedia desk, book everything in advance directly with each excursion. Do try the mango coconut rice at the restaurant! There are also a few places to eat about a mile north that are less expensive. Walk the beach early in the morning but know its not for swimming. Enjoy the dance show at 5:00 by the pool. They are great! One last tip is when checking in...they charge per night for a parked car ... in which they never check and there is no way that have to check...There's fun to be had!

Room Tip: Every room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CyndeesOffTheCouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found the resort to be beautiful and the accommodations to be clean and comfortable. With respect to some of the concerns you had with our staff, we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and we will address those issues with the appropriate managers. You also commented on the use of our pools by kamaaina families and we want to assure you that only paying guests use the resort facilities and there are no select days of pool use. We appreciate you feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of your return visit to the Garden Island. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is not a five-star hotel - but it is a very good venue for a family holiday. The pool area is large and well planned and is the feature of activities here. Kids will love it. The bar near the pool does a brisk trade in drinks and snacks, and the main restaurant as well as another bar facility overlook the pool area. The restaurant food is basic and the menus are not very sophisticated. You cannot walk to any other restaurant, you will need to drive north or south to find one.
I found the room I was in (ocean view) was comfortable and clean. A small balcony looked out to the beach and was an excellent place to relax with a drink. People do not swim at this beach, but a walk along it is possible and worthwhile.
There are expansive lawns near the beach, suitable for a game of soccer or throwing a frisbee,
The car park is rudimentary and very busy. You do need a car if you stay here, as it is a little isolated. There is a small shop in the resort, but apart from that you need to drive into Lihue (5-15 minutes depending on traffic) for anything else.
My stay was enjoyable and relaxing. There is instant wind-down from the normal world at this friendly venue. I just wish that it was a little closer to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newmsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that your stay with us was enjoyable and relaxing. We appreciate your feedback and thank you for your kind comments. With respect to the distance of the resort to our main town of Lihue, we do offer complimentary shuttle service to the shopping center or you may rent a car directly at the hotel. Again, thank you for taking the time to write and we look forward to the pleasure of your return visit. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Loved this place, will definitely stay there again. Our view room for 2 for a weeks stay was very well priced and the view of the Pool and the Ocean was amazing. the breakfast buffet was very good with a wide variety of food choices, staff was friendly with lots of amenities. I liked that it was so close to the Airport and so secluded you could not see another building in sight. really liked the pool and spent some relaxing afternoons there. The entertainment was good and I just can't say a single bad thing about it. just be ready To be awakened each morning by the Kauai Alarm clock....Roosters are everywhere you go on the Island.

Room Tip: We had an ocean view room at the last building on the Right....C Bldg I think.get the brunch inclusi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found the resort to be in an ideal location and that our facilities and accommodations exceeded your expectations. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the excellent service they provided you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our family stayed at this hotel for a few days in May 2013. When I arrived it looked vaguely familiar and I realized I stayed at this hotel probably 20 years ago. The hotel was still in excellent condition and the staff just as friendly and helpful as I remembered.

The hotel is well situated with its pool located right on the beach. In fact, the kiddie pool is a shallow sand pool that blends in right with the beach 10 yards away. Our kids loved it. And with it being maybe 12" deep or so, parents can lounge on the chairs and not have to worry as much.

For more adventurous kids and parents, they also have a good slide which was another pleasant surprise. Needless to say, our kids loved that too. For dining, they have an onsite restaurant/bar. We didn't dine there but when we passed by, there was live music and lots of people having a good time.

A 24-hour fitness center was also a plus. Not very big but clean and modern. Some aerobic equipment and also some kettle bells, dumbbells, and cable machines.

Great stay and definitely worth another stay the next time we're on Kauai. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyaway4eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Aloha and thank you for you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. Your feedback is very important to us and we are delighted that your return visit was excellent and that you found the resort to be in excellent condition. We appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the friendly service they provided you. Again, thank you for taking the time to write and we look forward to the pleasure of your return visit to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Property: Kauai Beach Resort
Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8109 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#3 Business Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. Guests enjoy stylish accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambiance. In a convenient location close to the airport, shopping, and championship golf, the hotel also offers FREE airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, a lounge, entertainment, 4 pool areas, a 75-foot lava tube water slide, a 24/7 fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms, a ballroom, and parking is a $25/daily fee. A daily resort fee includes WiFi internet access, movie and game rentals, and more. Experience the best in island hospitality and charm of Hawaii when staying at the Kauai Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing