We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A long awaited tropical vacation”
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Overall, the Kauai Beach Resort is a very nice place to stay in Hawaii. And the price is especially attractive, all things considered. The rooms are clean, the deck/lanai is quite nice, it is quiet (roosters notwithstanding), the views are gorgeous, the pools are cool, and the staff is very friendly.
Kauai has it's own rhythm and the Beach Resort is right in step with that rhythm. My only criticism is the operating hours of some of the on-site services. The breakfast buffet does not start until 6:30. That is great for those lazy sleep-in days after too many mai-tais. But, quite a few of our island activities required us to leave the resort before 6:00AM. So, no breakfast for us on those days.
Similarly, some of our activities kept us away until the late afternoon or early evening. But, the pool bar closes at 6:00PM. That was a little disappointing. It would have been awesome to hang out at the pool with a drink after a hard day of hiking, 4-wheeling, or whatever. What's more, the resort is somewhat removed from any other civilization so the options are limited once they roll back the sidewalks.
That being said, the property is beautiful and great for families. And, since the pools and hot tubs close at 10:00PM, there is no need to worry about being kept awake by late night revelers. I would certainly have no problem whatsoever staying here again the next time we make it to Kawai.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are pleased that you found our resort to be a very nice place to stay and that you enjoyed the facilities and accommodations. With respect to your concerns of our food and beverage outlet hours of operations, we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced. However, we do offer grab and go breakfast items at our Shutter's Café open daily at 6:00 a.m. You may also enjoy drinks and appetizers from Shutter's Lounge that extends outside to the fire pit near poolside starting at 5:00 p.m. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of your return visit. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,288 - 1,294 of 2,355 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

This is what you expect a resort to be. Clean, great staff, excellent facilities, decent restaurants, etc. It is pretty centrally located, making it easy to go either north or south. Unfortunately, the beach that the resort fronts, while pretty, is virtually unswimable, so you have to drive to other beaches to swim or snorkel. Maybe that is why they have 4 pools.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrboma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found our resort to be in a convenient location and that our facilities and accommodations met your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of your return visit in the not too distant future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have stayed here a couple of times and I am never disappointed. The rooms are well-kept and clean. While the room themselves are not particularly large (and I usually book a mountain view...all the rooms are the same size), the additional hotel amenities make it worth it! Beautiful grounds, great pools, good restaurant and wonderful staff. A lot of folks complain about the wi-fi and parking fees but when you look at the total price you are paying for the room and compare it to the other hotels in Kauai, you are still getting a great deal. Finally, the location is PERFECT. Close to the airport (yet far enough away) and centrally located. I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you chose to return to our resort and once again enjoyed our facilities and accommodations. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the excellent service they provided and will be sure to share your review with them. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our stay at the Kauai Beach Resort made our honeymoon wonderfully memorable. we were treated constantly with warm courteous and friendly attention by the staff especially the staff manager Carol , Derek the valet captain, the front desk, dining and café, room service, pool and housekeeping. the room and facilities were clean, private and comfortable and the food was awesome. the room was excellent with great views to the pool and beach front. the spa left us wanting more! the pool facilities and staff are excellent. I will certainly make this may place of stay and recommend this hotel for anyone. I constantly asked other guests experience and got nothing but positive responses especially visitors from other countries. thank you KBR for sharing the Aloha Spirit.

Room Tip: the south wing has great views to the pool and ocean or the open fields to the south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so delighted that you found chose our resort to celebrate your honeymoon and that our facilities and accommodations exceeded your expectations. We sincerely appreciate your kind comments on our staff and in particular those that made your visit more memorable with their service with aloha. We will be more than happy to share your wonderful feedback with everyone and we look forward to your return visit in the very near future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is gorgeous. A little away from town but not far, perfect location to relax and unwind. We had an ocean view room which also overlooked the pool. I could have say on our balcony all day! Great service and friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrudiB359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you found our resort to be in great location to relax and enjoy your visit. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the excellent and friendly service they provided you. We hope to have the pleasure of your return visit before too long. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was a two-day get-away for my wife and me. Price was very good. 5 minutes from the Lihue Airport. Free anytime airport and shopping shuttle. Extremely friendly staff. Room was very spacious and clean. "Lagoon view" room actually had an ocean view from the lanai. Nice! Extremely clean and comfortable bed and pillows. Nice LG flat-screen in room, but TV/Movie controls were quite cumbersome and confusing. Pools were beautiful and grounds were very well kept. Overall, the Kauai Beach Resort was a great value! Would definitely come again!

CON: NO FREE WIFI in rooms! VERY BIG disappointment! One of the cheapest and most helpful and appreciated of hotel amenities, and the KBR decides to charge $13 per day for wifi. After charging you a $16 per day self-parking fee, free wifi would have been a welcomed perk. I would have rated the KBR "EXCELLENT" if free in-room wifi was offered.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddub808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found the resort to be in a ideal location and that the accommodations you received we were clean and comfortable. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the friendly service they provided. With respect to your concerns of the in-room WIFI fee, we apologize for any inconvenience this caused you and rest assured, we are addressing this issue for the future. Again, thank you for taking the time to write and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Garden Island. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at Kaua'i Beach Resort for our honeymoon after getting a deal through TravelZoo. Check in was a bit rough as they required our vouchers even though we had given the numbers over the phone in advance. Their wifi wasn't working, so we had to pay to use their (overpriced and very slow) computers in the business center just to check in. The woman at the front desk was gruff and unwelcoming. After this initial bad experience, things improved significantly. We ordered room service the first morning and had a wonderful breakfast. The woman who delivered our food was lovely, as were all the other staff we encountered at KBR. They should really focus on putting their best employees up front so it doesn't color your stay! Anyway, the room was clean and spacious. Housekeeping did a fabulous job daily. Some ocean resorts won't clean your room if you're not out by a certain time. Not KBR-- it seemed the cleaning crew was always working hard. The deluxe ocean view king (room 3221) had a nice enough view of the ocean off to one side, with a view of some sort of preserve with distant mountains head-on. Ocean view does not equal ocean front, but it was worth it for the balcony. We liked building 3 because it seemed more private given the view onto the preserve. The pools were nice and the pool bar served a good mai tai. We felt the location was perfect for exploring the island, easily accessible to everything. Overall the hotel served as a solid backdrop to our stay in Kaua'i-- after all, you're not there for the hotel room. Go out and enjoy!

Room Tip: We liked building 3 (the higher the number, the closer to the ocean). Odd numbers faced the ocean w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kenan15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you chose our resort to celebrate your honeymoon and that you found our location to be perfect for all island activities. With respect to your check-in, we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and we will address the issue with our Guest Services Manager. We are however, pleased that the remainder of your stay was excellent and that you received friendly service from our staff. We look forward to your return visit in the very near future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8109 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#3 Business Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: $183 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. Guests enjoy stylish accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambiance. In a convenient location close to the airport, shopping, and championship golf, the hotel also offers FREE airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, a lounge, entertainment, 4 pool areas, a 75-foot lava tube water slide, a 24/7 fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms, a ballroom, and parking is a $25/daily fee. A daily resort fee includes WiFi internet access, and more. Experience the best in island hospitality and charm of Hawaii when staying at the Kauai Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Otel, TravelUp, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing