We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Paradise”
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent a week at this location from June 8 through the 14th. Our room was immaculate, beautiful, and the king bed was comfortable. We booked an ocean view room but upon arrival, twice they wanted to place us in a room that did not have an appropriate view. Once this was cleared up, everything went well. The view from our lanai was absolutely breath taking. This is a former Hilton hotel and everything about this hotel is perfect. The pool area is a paradise with waterfalls everywhere and a man made volcanic mountain that looks so real, you can't tell the difference. There are two Jacuzzi pools with one having a waterfall, four swimming pools with one being a salt water pool that has its own shallow beach overflowing into an adjacent pool containing a water slide. By midday, the sun would heat the pools up to a comfortable level. The beach at the ocean is about three miles long and mostly unused because the first time you step out onto the beach, you will find a dangerous reef at the waters edge, but just walk about 100 yards to the left/north, cross the stream and you will have a beautiful private sandy crescent of a beach with no rocks or coral to cut you and all to yourself most of the time. The surf here can be strong but it is suitable for body boarding or body surfing but not safe for small children or for swimming beyond the range where you can stand up. We took the package that included the daily breakfast buffet and it was so very delicious and the staff here was so nice and friendly to us that we just loved the place. The dinner menu was not that great but they do have a nice salad bar with soup at dinner time. Everyone at this hotel is polite and we were treated like royalty here. This location is five minutes from the airport and five to ten minutes to either Lihue or Kapa'a so it is easy to get supplies or find another restaurant. Costco gas was much less in Lihue and this was great for our rental car. This location has shaded parking spaces and there was never lack for a space. Tuesday night had free entertainment at poolside with complimentary Mai Tai's. The performance was awesome. Our room had a safe and a refrigerator, and there was a nice lounger in the room as well. If someone was traveling with a child no larger then four feet tall, the lounger could be used as an additional bed. This is an older place, but don't be fooled. This place has maturity and is first class and I would stay here before the Sheraton in Poipu. If you can get a room in building two and be positioned in rooms above the lobby area, you can even pick up the free wi-fi and not have to pay for it.

Room Tip: If you book an ocean view room, make sure they have placed you in a room that has a view of the pool...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scrivy78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us and found the resort to in a convenient location and the accommodations met your expectations. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the friendly service they provided you throughout your stay. We look forward to the pleasure of your return visit in the not too distant future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,330)
There are newer reviews for Kauai Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,287 - 1,293 of 2,332 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was a nice resort with great pools and spas and great access to a beach. I got a deal off of Living Social and thought I'd try it out. The staff was friendly and accommodating and the room was clean and nice. Cons were that my husband slipped and fell in the shower and hurt himself. I think perhaps there needs to be some non-slip devices available for the showers. I'm hoping wi-fi can be more readily available in the future too. I had to go to the lobby to listen to and watch a webinar, but I guess I at least had a nice view of the pools while doing so. Also, I would have preferred conventional curtains since the sliding wooden shutters either had to be all the way open or all the way closed. Lastly, we both thought the pillows were too soft, which caused a sore neck the next day.

Chickens and birds are everywhere, which I enjoyed very much minus the roosters crowing starting at 3:45 am Hawaii time. We also enjoyed the evening with poolside entertainment and free cocktails. Also the evenings with the singer in the lounge area was enjoyable. I didn't find that the parking lot was far as some others mentioned, but I'm someone who walks quite a bit. This was convenient to get to the airport and other destinations were just a short drive away. I would stay here again if I get the chance to come to Kauai again. Overall we had a wonderful time!

Room Tip: Rooms in building 4 with a beach view are great!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DogMom916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found the facilities to be clean and comfortable. With respect to your concerns of the guestroom accommodations, we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced and we will address those issues with our Housekeeping Department. Regarding the chickens on property, we do practice a removal program that places them outside of the resort. We value your feedback and appreciate your comments. We hope to have the pleasure of your return visit in the very near future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Like many vacationers heading back home to the mainland, we had a mid-morning check-out at our resort in Princeville, but a late night flight out of Lihue. Rather than drive around unnecessarily, and incur an additional day of rental car charges, we opted to book a room at the Kauai Beach Resort and are really glad we did. The hotel is close to the airport and provides complimentary shuttle service to/from the airport. The hotel was beautifully clean with lovely grounds and right on the water. We had a fine dinner at the hotel restaurant, and then took the shuttle back to the airport in time for our flight. We were able to relax, shower, etc., for the long flight home. The only complaint I have is that the pool was so cold as to be un-swimmable. It would have been nice to spend some time poolside before our flight. All in all a great experience and one I would do again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie87508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you found our resort to be in a convenient location and our accommodations to be clean and comfortable. With respect to your comments on the resort swimming pool being at a cold temperature, at the time of your visit in November 2012, we did experience unusually cold weather statewide and we rely on our year round sun to heat our pools. We apologize for any inconvenience this caused you and we hope to have the pleasure of your return visit. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

The exterior of this hotel is gorgeous, including a beautifully landscaped pool area with wonderful waterfalls. The outdoor areas, such as the pools and outdoor dining and sitting areas were all clean and well maintained.
The rooms at this hotel are older and in need of some maintenance and remodeling!! We had to change rooms once because the screen and sliding glass doors were not lockable, as the locks were completely rusted out!! They took a few hours to do this, but at the same time, were helpful and understanding!
Breakfast buffet was plentiful and had good food and a pretty wide selection. We were unimpressed with some of the waitstaff, as they were friendly, but failed to check in on us once served!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank georgiegirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found the resort to be beautiful and well maintained. We appreciate your feedback on the condition of the accommodations you were offered and rest assured, this the next improvement phase the resort will be addressing in the near future. Again, we thank you for taking the time to write your comments and we hope to have the pleasure of your return visit. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had a really enjoyable stay. Lovely room, it was spacious and well-appointed. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent, lots of choice and very well run restaurant. We had dinner one night and the food was good, though not a vast choice of menu. The bar and snacks service was enjoyable, great cocktails! The hotel is very pleasant, both inside and out. We thought the gardens were beautiful and there are several swimming pools, complete with water falls. Highly recommended. Its close to the airport, and about mid-way in distance from most parts of the island.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avenabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found the resort to be in a convenient location and that our facilities were clean and comfortable. We also appreciate your kind comments on the friendly service you received from our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island before too long. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

I just returned last night from a week at the Kauai Beach Resort. It was my first time at this hotel and only the second time I've been on Kauai (first time was at the Hyatt, 18 years ago). I picked it because it seemed affordable (I was in need of 2 rooms, but many of the condos seemed booked up), the location seemed central and the reviews were very good. My verdict: Two thumbs up, way up. If you like megaresorts, go to the Hyatt (I dropped by for old time's sake and was a bit intimidated by the hugeness, the formality of it, the dark woods, the pool that's hard to find, etc.) But if you want a nice, conveniently located midsize hotel, this is the place. It's by itself just north of the airport, about equal distance from Hanalei or Waimea. Since it's on the windward side, there was a lovely, constant tradewind blowing waves against the beach, which isn't particularly swim-friendly, but that's OK. Swimmable beaches are nearby, and if you go to the left as you look at the ocean, you'll see a beautiful beach that's great for walking and exploring, largely by yourself. It fronts the Wailua Golf Course, so there are no other hotels or condos around...which makes for a nice secluded spot. Yes, you can hear planes and seem them taking off to return to the mainland, but you can barely hear them over the roar of the surf outside your room. The hotel is oriented like a horseshoe toward the ocean, with the pool complex (which is great) in the middle. My wife was primarily focused on pools (not an ocean person for swimming) and this one looked great in photos. It is. It even had a waterslide that was a blast to go down. I could go on and on, but I'll just add one more thing: The staff here was super friendly, from the greetings by the valets at the front door, to the reception desk, to the housekeeping and groundskeeping folks. I just hope it's not another 18 years before I return to this lovely spot. Oh, and the rooms are great. Beds are among best I've slept on in a hotel. And at night with the tiki torches and the surf ourside, WOW!

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor, oceanfront, of the main building and had a great vista. My daughter and...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review on the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit with us and that you found our facilities and accommodations exceeded your expectations. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the friendly service with aloha they provided. We hope to have the pleasure of your return visit in the very near future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed 5-30/6-7.
Picked Kauai Beach Resort for its location, TA reviews and price. Found it to be all we hoped it would. Beautiful location, lacking only a swimming beach. Very friendly helpful staff. Especially our Registration manager who cheerfully upgraded us at nominal (internet) cost upon request. While moving our belongings we bumped into housekeeping manager Edna who personally assisted us and led us to our beachfront room in building 4, 2nd floor. The room was to die for. Thank you Edna! A beautiful lobby with great lounging areas. Beautiful poolside areas with trees and umbrellas, great pools and spas with waterfalls. A great team of valets promptly bring up your car for little more money than regular parking cost. No complaints here at all. If we ever get back to beautiful Kauai, we will choose this resort again without hesitation. Thanks for a great vacation, KBR...

Room Tip: Building 4, 2nd floor facing ocean cannot be beat.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DGH17205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you found the resort to be all you hoped for and that our staff provided you with excellent service with aloha. We appreciate your kind comments and we will be more than happy to share your feedback with everyone. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island and to the Kauai Beach Resort in the very near future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8109 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#3 Business Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: $181 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. Guests enjoy stylish accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambiance. In a convenient location close to the airport, shopping, and championship golf, the hotel also offers FREE airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, a lounge, entertainment, 4 pool areas, a 75-foot lava tube water slide, a 24/7 fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms, a ballroom, and parking is a $25/daily fee. A daily resort fee includes WiFi internet access, and more. Experience the best in island hospitality and charm of Hawaii when staying at the Kauai Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing