We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Tinley Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

The staff is what makes this hotel great. From the time you drive up, to check out the staff is great. Everyone I had contact with went out of there way to help you .The ground & pool lobby are charming. The beach can not be used for swimming . The rooms do need to be up graded. the carpeting is really old and smells. If the rooms were redone im sure the room rates would go up.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank backkauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and that our staff provided excellent and friendly service with aloha. We also appreciate your feedback on the condition of your guestroom and rest assured, we will be addressing that issue with future improvements. We hope to have the pleasure of your return visit in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    900
    885
    315
    78
    45
See reviews for
432
1,288
91
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (690)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Granada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

We had a really enjoyable stay. Lovely room, it was spacious and well-appointed. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was excellent, lots of choice and very well run restaurant. We had dinner one night and the food was good, though not a vast choice of menu. The bar and snacks service was enjoyable, great cocktails! The hotel is very pleasant, both inside and out. We thought the gardens were beautiful and there are several swimming pools, complete with water falls. Highly recommended. Its close to the airport, and about mid-way in distance from most parts of the island.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avenabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found the resort to be in a convenient location and that our facilities were clean and comfortable. We also appreciate your kind comments on the friendly service you received from our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island before too long. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I just returned last night from a week at the Kauai Beach Resort. It was my first time at this hotel and only the second time I've been on Kauai (first time was at the Hyatt, 18 years ago). I picked it because it seemed affordable (I was in need of 2 rooms, but many of the condos seemed booked up), the location seemed central and the reviews were very good. My verdict: Two thumbs up, way up. If you like megaresorts, go to the Hyatt (I dropped by for old time's sake and was a bit intimidated by the hugeness, the formality of it, the dark woods, the pool that's hard to find, etc.) But if you want a nice, conveniently located midsize hotel, this is the place. It's by itself just north of the airport, about equal distance from Hanalei or Waimea. Since it's on the windward side, there was a lovely, constant tradewind blowing waves against the beach, which isn't particularly swim-friendly, but that's OK. Swimmable beaches are nearby, and if you go to the left as you look at the ocean, you'll see a beautiful beach that's great for walking and exploring, largely by yourself. It fronts the Wailua Golf Course, so there are no other hotels or condos around...which makes for a nice secluded spot. Yes, you can hear planes and seem them taking off to return to the mainland, but you can barely hear them over the roar of the surf outside your room. The hotel is oriented like a horseshoe toward the ocean, with the pool complex (which is great) in the middle. My wife was primarily focused on pools (not an ocean person for swimming) and this one looked great in photos. It is. It even had a waterslide that was a blast to go down. I could go on and on, but I'll just add one more thing: The staff here was super friendly, from the greetings by the valets at the front door, to the reception desk, to the housekeeping and groundskeeping folks. I just hope it's not another 18 years before I return to this lovely spot. Oh, and the rooms are great. Beds are among best I've slept on in a hotel. And at night with the tiki torches and the surf ourside, WOW!

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor, oceanfront, of the main building and had a great vista. My daughter and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review on the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit with us and that you found our facilities and accommodations exceeded your expectations. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the friendly service with aloha they provided. We hope to have the pleasure of your return visit in the very near future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed 5-30/6-7.
Picked Kauai Beach Resort for its location, TA reviews and price. Found it to be all we hoped it would. Beautiful location, lacking only a swimming beach. Very friendly helpful staff. Especially our Registration manager who cheerfully upgraded us at nominal (internet) cost upon request. While moving our belongings we bumped into housekeeping manager Edna who personally assisted us and led us to our beachfront room in building 4, 2nd floor. The room was to die for. Thank you Edna! A beautiful lobby with great lounging areas. Beautiful poolside areas with trees and umbrellas, great pools and spas with waterfalls. A great team of valets promptly bring up your car for little more money than regular parking cost. No complaints here at all. If we ever get back to beautiful Kauai, we will choose this resort again without hesitation. Thanks for a great vacation, KBR...

Room Tip: Building 4, 2nd floor facing ocean cannot be beat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DGH17205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you found the resort to be all you hoped for and that our staff provided you with excellent service with aloha. We appreciate your kind comments and we will be more than happy to share your feedback with everyone. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island and to the Kauai Beach Resort in the very near future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Kauai Beach Resort has a great location, nice rooms, a beautiful view and friendly staff. This was my first trip to Kauai and I would definitely stay here again if/when I return. It doesn't have the "too busy" "too commercial" feel of many larger resorts. I also love being able to hear the ocean at night (you will also hear the roosters, but being on CA time, I was already awake at 5am anyway!). There is not a "swimming beach" at this hotel, but in Kauai you should definitely explore the island via rental car and can easily stop at a number of other beaches. You can't go wrong at a hotel in Hawaii that you can get an ocean view for $200. Also the food at the hotel is quite delicious and not completely outrageously priced (heading to the Westin Maui after staying here definitely stung a bit!).

Room Tip: Splurge for the ocean view...they all overlook the beautifully landscaped pools with the ocean in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyssa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found our resort to be in a convenient location and the accommodations met your expectations. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the excellent service they provided. Again, we thank you for taking the time to give us your wonderful feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Garden Island in the very near future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

The accomodations were excellent. The people that work there were very nice & helpful.
The only thing that we had issues with were the extra charges
(ie. total cleanup of room $50+ B4 we arrived, while there $30 each time for towels, garbage & new lsheets etc., an exit cleanup of $26, computer use billed @.25cents/min. etc).
The parking lot was a lot futher away than we anticipated, which I'm sure
promoted valet service.
Otherwise, everything was fine. We had a great time swimming there.
Getting married on the beach was pretty special as well.
Thx Much

Room Tip: Ground floor I think is an advantage'cause of quick access to the grounds & your lanaii.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tommydewd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found our accommodations to be excellent and that the service you received from our staff was warm and friendly. With respect to your concerns of the charges you incurred for room cleaning, this is due to you booking the unit through a private owner. These are not the standard resort fees. Nevertheless, we hope that you were not too inconvenienced and that you enjoyed your wedding celebration. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

The grounds of this resort were outstanding. You got that "wow" moment when you walked through the entrance. The staff is very friendly. Only thing we didn't like was "no extras". You have to pay for parking (I don't care if you have to in other cities too ...be a leader, not a follower), have to pay for Wi-Fi and no complimentary breakfast. These items make it easier for travelers to enjoy their stay. Little things make a big difference. We still had a great stay, beds were extremely comfortable!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Aloha Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to our resort and found our facilities beautiful and our staff to be very friendly. As you mentioned, we do have a small daily parking fee, unlike other resorts in Hawaii that charge a resort fee of $30 and more per day. We do appreciate feedback and we will share your comments with our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island before too long. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Property: Kauai Beach Resort
Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8109 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#3 Business Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. Guests enjoy stylish accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambiance. In a convenient location close to the airport, shopping, and championship golf, the hotel also offers FREE airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, a lounge, entertainment, 4 pool areas, a 75-foot lava tube water slide, a 24/7 fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms, a ballroom, and parking is a $18/daily fee. A daily resort fee includes WiFi internet access, movie and game rentals, and more. Experience the best in island hospitality and charm of Hawaii when staying at the Kauai Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing