We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel.. but how can you go wrong in kauai!!!”
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel in February. We booked thru the hotel web site and got the Car and ocean view room special. both were exactly as advertised. the resort grounds are nice but its obvious where they spent most of the budget is on the gorgeous pool area. This is good because the ocean and beach isnt good for swimming or lounging around. especially during the winter. We ate (and drank) numerous times at the pool bar , lounge and restaurant. it was average hotel grade food, you will do much better to go off and explore what the beautiful island of Kauai has to offer you.I do recommend the breakfast buffet. there is good value there and who wants to be driving around looking for somewhere to eat first thing in the morning. On that note. make sure you get a car. nothing is in walking distance, and you do not want to be taking taxi's everywhere..... get out and explore!! so would we stay there again.... sure... if the price was right... again... There are so many fantastic places to go and stay and see on this island we would defiantly not pass up on any opportunity to go!!

Room Tip: we had a ocean view room in building "c" nice and quite nothing but field and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robashwootton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Kauai Beach Resort. We are very pleased that you found our resort to be of great value and that you took advantage of our car promotion package when booking your reservations witih us. We have been undergoing some property enhancements throughout the resort and we are delighted that you enjoyed our beautiful pools and your accommodations were comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Garden Island soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,428 - 1,434 of 2,355 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

Our experience this resort was near perfect & not overpriced. 2 couples spent 10 nights in February 2013. In summary:
- parking: not a secret you have to pay and self parking is easy. Try parking and WALKING. What a concept!
- staff and service: courteous and responsive. All questions and needs addressed promptly
- food: breakfast buffet is varied and tasty (includes omelet station); no issue with onsite restaurant
- rooms: clean and updated; beds are comfortable; oceans views are available; includes fridge and safe
- pool area: well maintained; 2 hot tub areas; several pools & 1 has pool slide
- beach and weather: not the resort's responsibility; enjoy the total experience

There seems to be ongoing construction and maintenance, but it's minimally invasive.

We were looking for a base of operations and did not have a list of expected entitlements. This resort more than fit our needs and we would not hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Agree with other comments. We stayed in Building 3, ground floor pool side which allowed pool/ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to write your feedback on your recent visit to the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you found our resort to be in a convenient location as your base for island activities, but most importantly, our accommodations, facilities and service exceeded your expectations. We will be more than happy to share your kind comments with our staff. We look foward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island before too long. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Kauai is really laid back and so beautiful. The Kauai Beach Resort offers a free shuttle from the airport. Upon arrival at the resort the staff was very courteous and willing to help. From the hotel lobby you can look out to the Pacific Ocean and the beautiful pool area. That breathtaking site had me sold. This is a must stay when travelling to Kauai.
The rooms are spacious and spectacular. We had an ocean view with a balcony. The view is absolutely magnificent. There are restaurants located poolside and inside the lobby. The hotel also has several shows that take place there for a fee. Upgrades were been done to the Internet and the buildings.
I would highly recommend the Kauai Beach Resort and visit the hotel upon my return.

Room Tip: Make sure you stay in building three floor number three even number side which provides ocean view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morvant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of your recent stay with us here at the Kauai Beach Resort. Needless to say, we are delighted that you found our resort to be in a convenient location and our accommodations met your expectations. We take great pride in providing our guests with excellent service and we appreciate your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Garden Island in the not too distant future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Got a special deal for the Kaua'i Beach Resort so after spending 4 weeks on Kaua'i in a condo, ended the trip by staying there a few nights. Since we often attend the live music event, E Kanakapila Kakou (EKK), that's held there Monday evenings January - March, we were looking forward to actually staying at the resort. We had a wonderful room, corner unit in building two, top floor, that overlooked both the pool area and had ocean views, as well. Very nice! The pools were very attractive with lovely colorful landscaping around them, as well as waterfalls. Although we didn't try it, the water slide looked like fun, as well. Ate a casual dinner before EKK at their bar, Shutters, that was very good. The buildings could use a touch of maintenance ... a little rust was noticed ... but I'm sure it's difficult to keep up with the effects of the salt air on metal. We didn't have to pay the parking charge, but I agree with others ... to have to pay for valet OR self-parking is pretty ridiculous. Who DOESN'T have a car when in Hawai'i?! Overall, a very nice little resort.

Room Tip: Top floor, at least in building two, offers views of the pool AND the ocean - nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzanne721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so delighted that you found our resort to be beautiful and relaxing while you attended the EKK event. We appreciate your feedback on the condition of our buildings, we are currently undergoing spalling repair and painting on all areas of the resort. With respect to your concern of the parking fee, our resort is one of a few hotels on Kauai that charges only for parking and not a resort fee that runs from $30 and up per day. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kauai Beach Resort. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The best hotel in Kauai! We have stayed at multiple hotels in Kauai, but this one was by far the best. The view and rooms were amazing. The staff were very friendly and the service was awesome. Room service was brought promptly to our room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HONdominik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you and your family enjoyed yourselves at our resort and found the facilities and services to be excellent. We take great pride in providing excellent service "with aloha" and we will be happy to share your kind comments with our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island in the not too distant future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We just returned from six nights at Kauai Beach Resort. At check-in, there were some issues locating our reservation (an error by Delta Vacations), and the room class we had booked (ocean view) was full and no rooms were available.

Sandy at the front desk was very helpful and super friendly! She upgraded us to a pool view one-bedroom suite for the inconvenience, which was very nice and roomy.

The property has immaculate grounds, and a nice (very cold) pool(s). I wish that even one of the four pools had been heated. Marvin at the pool was also very personable, and gave us a great weather report.

The beach is not swimmable, but if you walk left down the beach, there are some swimmable areas.

The gym was small but workable. Parking was not a big deal, but we were always worried when driving that our flimsy parking pass was going to fly out the window. Maybe the resort should invest in parking passes that go around your rearview mirror?

The bar area was lacking a bit a night. I really wanted to sit outside for cocktals at night, but everything was inside.

A shuttle to coconut marketplace would've been nice too. The resort is very secluded, so once you start drinking, you're a prisoner, unless you call a very expensive taxi to drive you around.

Overall, it was a nice place for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whatadanimal23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of your recent visit to the Kauai Beach Resort. We are very pleased that you found our resort to be of great value and that you experienced excellent service from our staff. We do offer an outdoor lounge area which has been enhanced with a firepit for our guests. We value your feedback and will take into consideration your suggestions. We look forward to your return visit to the Garden Island in the very near future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The resort is very close to the airport and it is a great value. The interior of the property (elevators, hallways, walls) needs some TLC but the price was very right. The pool and beach areas are fantastic. The bar area is fun but the resort needs more activities. The resort was not overcrowded. There was no functioning internet in the room. Most people seemed to be working on their computers in the lobby. Our pay movies kept getting scrambled but the resort did issue a refund. The best restaurant we ate at was Hukilau Lanai! Surprisingly good food and drinks. I wish I had realized it much sooner in the trip. You absolutely must have a car here if it rains since there is not much to do at the resort when it is cold, rainy and windy.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stonepink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found our resort to be in a convenient location and the accommodations and facilites to be of great value. We greatly value your feedback and we will address the suggestions you made regarding resort activities. With respect to the WIFI in the guestrooms, we do charge a small fee for usage, however, WIFI is free of charge in the resort lobby areas. Again, thank you for taking the time to write your review and we hope to have the pleasure of your return visit in the very near future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8109 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 Business Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: $183 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. Guests enjoy stylish accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambiance. In a convenient location close to the airport, shopping, and championship golf, the hotel also offers FREE airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, a lounge, entertainment, 4 pool areas, a 75-foot lava tube water slide, a 24/7 fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms, a ballroom, and parking is a $25/daily fee. A daily resort fee includes WiFi internet access, and more. Experience the best in island hospitality and charm of Hawaii when staying at the Kauai Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing