We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Private beach, great pool”
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
158 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Private beach, great pool”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

The resort is located close to Lihue and Kapaa and makes getting around the island easy. The hotel was not overly crowded and had a great pool area and was near a nearly deserted beach. The lobby was breezy and comfortable and had water that was infused with different fruits. My favorite was pineapple, the pear not so much.

Our room was adequate and beds were comfortable. There was a refrigerator and coffee maker but I would have preferred a room that was higher up and overlooking the ocean. We overlooked the lagoon. We did not eat at the resort or use any of the facilities except the concierge. She was competent and we booked two activities. I was disappointed when she said there were no shuttles to the activities we booked, but I found out later that I could have been picked up by a shuttle.

The staff was courteous and friendly.

It was disappointing that WIFI was not free.

Room Tip: Had a room on the first floor overlooking the lagoon. Was good to see the chickens otherwise I would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickiLGreenOaks_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Kauai Beach Resort. We are pleased that you found our resort to be in a convenient location for your island activities and that our accommodations were comfortable and clean. We appreciate your kind comments on the excellent service you received from our staff and we will be happy to share those with them. With respect to the WiFi fee, that is in-room only, we do not charge a fee for WiFi in the lobby areas. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful island of Kauai in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    907
    894
    319
    78
    45
See reviews for
432
1,300
92
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (694)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a night when we arrived to Kauai, before our condo at Waipouli Beach Resort was ready. We loved the Kauai Beach Resort grounds, lobby, pools, out door bar & the room was decent.

However we did not care for the extra charges we came across. We valeted our rental car when we arrived, got told there would be an additional charge for 'over night fee' for valet ($16) and if we want to change to self parking, there was also a fee ($11). I had read from reviews that this resort charges for parking, but saw the responses from the resort that it was because their self parking lot was still under construction. Well, the construction of the self parking seemed complete when we stayed.

Also when I inquired about late check out, I was told there was a fee for late check out, at $10 per hour.

It was my birthday when we checked in, so we decided to go to the nicer restaurant at the resort and have a nice dinner. Well prepared to pay for $30 per plate, the food however turned out to be much less than what it should be (for even $20). My husband ordered the ribeye steak and though it looked good on the plate, the meat quality was not great. You can tell it was a lower grade of beef and hasn't been aged. The mashed potatoes was obviously from a box (haven't had fake boxed mashed potatoes in 15 years). Seasoning for the steak was bland. I ordered better, a seafood pasta, which I have to say was better. The pasta and sauce were bland but the seafood was really fresh. There was a salad bar option you can add to your meal for additional $, and it was decent. Nothing extraordinary but the salad bar was clean and well kept.

We enjoyed the resort pools and outdoor bar. The bar had happy hour and we ordered their signature cocktails. Although yummy, they were weak in alcohol. I even asked for drinks a bit stronger, willing to pay additional. I got charged for additional shots of alcohol in drinks but honestly I didn't taste the difference at all (I am not the person who likes drinks that taste like straight alcohol, these just taste like fruit juices and smoothies with no alcohol in them).

The staff there was friendly but its really hard to get a hold of someone at front desk by phone (from our room). Husband reminded me that's how Hawaiian customer service is like and told me to get used to it. I eventually did and slowed myself down to enjoy island time, but it does get some used to at first.

We really liked the resort grounds, but we are likely not going to stay there again. It didn't feel like we were on a relaxing vacation with the charges. I think they could have easily incorporated those operating expenses into the room rates so the guests wouldn't feel like they are being nickeled and dimed.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Findsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Kauai Beach Resort. Needless to say, we are disappointed that you were not completely satisfied with your visit. Your feedback is valuable to us and we will address your concerns of the quality of food preparation that you experienced in our restaurant. With respect to parking fees you mentioned, we do not charge a resort fee which at most resorts can be $30 and above per day. We are however pleased that you enjoyed the resort grounds and pools and that our staff provided you with friendly service. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed for a week 2/16-2/23. I almost hate telling others how great this resort is...don't want it to become overly crowded (I know...selfish of me, LOL). This resort is the perfect spot for us, not an overly large resort, relaxing, quiet, cose to the airport and central to the island. The staff there have always been great each and everytime I stay..great Aloha spirit. The food is good (pricey, but you're on vacation in Kauai!), there are plenty of pools (they even have a sandy bottom pool for the kids), hot tubs are great and there's even a waterslide (not like the mega resorts, but looked fun never the less).

Ocean-view rooms truly have a view of the ocean, the rooms aren't overly large, but perfect for a couple. The beds were comfy (pillows were a little soft, but I still slept like a rock), there's a large flat screen tv, refrigerater and safe. I love the new parking (paved, covered and lighted), yes you pay a daily parking fee, but that's it, no other "resort fees" included.

I know there are bigger, fancier resorts to stay at on the island, but this one is perfect for all of the reasons stated.

Mahalo!

Room Tip: Try to get the daily breakfast buffet added to your reservation..well worth it with a great selectio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gambit1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Aloha and thank you for giving a review of your recent stay at the Kauai Beach Resort! We are delighted that you found our resort to be the "perfect spot" and that our facilities were to your satisfaction. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the excellent service they provided. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
399 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here only two night. Next time we'll stay longer. We were a group of eight and had three rooms. All were clean, comfortable beds, ours had a terrific view of the ocean. We were all in the main building. The pools are beautiful. The service from front desk, concierge and restaurant staff was excellent. There's fun gift shops. The food at the restaurant is a bit pricey for what you get. Breakfast is worth the money. The other meals you're probably better off eating in Lihue or in Kapaa. The hotel's common areas and grounds are beautiful. Our only issue was the elevators. The whole time we were there only one was working.

Room Tip: If you have little ones or traveling with seniors you probably want to ask if you can get a room in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianAmericanGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the resort to beautiful and the accommodations clean and comfortable. We appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the excellent service they provided you. We do apologize for the inconvenience you might have experienced with our elevator dilemma. Rest assured, it has been resolved and all our elevators are operating nicely. We look forward to the pleasure of your return visit in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenox, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is an excellent hotel and very good value. It is an older property but well maintained. The Staff are courteous, helpful and knowledgeable. The nicer you are to them, the more they will bend over backwards to help. The pools are very nice as well as jacuzzis. The back pool is perfect for kids and families. The location is very good- i.e. close to airport and other places yet quiet and secluded at the same time. Food is quite good overall, but could be improved somewhat. Buy the breakfast vouchers and you save $5 a day for the buffet which is ok. A la carte is still $10 plus. I would recommend this hotel for couples, families where day care and game room is not necessary and quiet solo folks who are not looking for a party but a good solid nice place from which to venture out or just stay in and enjoy the pools and ambience. The Driftwood lounge is better than any I saw at other hotels, had better music, more room and better mood. Drinks were very good and food above avg. I will go again!

Room Tip: Rooms on wings closer to ocean are quieter. I had a garden view which is fine for most everyone. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charl0070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to wirte your review on your recent stay at the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found our property to be in a convenient location and our facilities to be of great value. Your feedback is valuable to us and we appreciate your comments on our restaurants and for acknowledging our staff and the excellent service they provided you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I stayed at this resort for a week in mid-February. It is a beautiful resort and we would recommend it to our friends and family. We too were concerned about previous reviews but found the parking lot, etc. to be just fine. Our rooms were clean, the beds were awesome and the employees were friendly and accommodating. Our hair dryer & coffee maker didnt work and we were brought new ones immediately. We do wish the rooms had microwaves but it wasnt a big issue. The only complaint we had is the price of food and drinks but since we were out and about most of the time, this was not a problem for us. We tried many other restrauants on Kauai and never went hungry.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank nellybell57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Kauai Beach Resort. We are pleased that you enjoyed our beautiful resort and that you found the accommodations to be clean and comfortable. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the excellent service they provided. We look forward to the pleasure of your return visit to the Garden Island in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

It was not bad. It wasn't the best, but then we didn't pay for the best. The grounds are well kept. The first room 3317 had a moldy smell and it was more than we could deal with. So we called the front desk and we told them , and while we went to eat, they aired out the room and used a dehumidifier so they said. It was still very bad...so we called them again and the moved us to another room. Ocean front. So that was nice. But the maid service sucked.. they never left toilet paper. Had to call the front desk for that. Lost a pair of Tommy flip flops....never to be seen again.

Helpful?
2 Thank DeniseToth-Hidalgo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay at the Kauai Beach Resort. We sincerely apologize that the condition of your room was not satisfactory upon check-in, however we are pleased that we were able to offer you an alternative room that you enjoyed. Rest assured, we will address your housekeeping concerns and also research your missing items. It is our resort policy to report lost and found items as more often than not, they are found and returned to our guests. We hope that we may have the pleasure of your return visit so that you can experience the outstanding job that we really can do. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Property: Kauai Beach Resort
Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8109 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#3 Business Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. Guests enjoy stylish accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambiance. In a convenient location close to the airport, shopping, and championship golf, the hotel also offers FREE airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, a lounge, entertainment, 4 pool areas, a 75-foot lava tube water slide, a 24/7 fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms, a ballroom, and parking is a $25/daily fee. A daily resort fee includes WiFi internet access, movie and game rentals, and more. Experience the best in island hospitality and charm of Hawaii when staying at the Kauai Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing