We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Nice clean comfortable rooms.”
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Nice clean comfortable rooms.”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here only two night. Next time we'll stay longer. We were a group of eight and had three rooms. All were clean, comfortable beds, ours had a terrific view of the ocean. We were all in the main building. The pools are beautiful. The service from front desk, concierge and restaurant staff was excellent. There's fun gift shops. The food at the restaurant is a bit pricey for what you get. Breakfast is worth the money. The other meals you're probably better off eating in Lihue or in Kapaa. The hotel's common areas and grounds are beautiful. Our only issue was the elevators. The whole time we were there only one was working.

Room Tip: If you have little ones or traveling with seniors you probably want to ask if you can get a room in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CanadianAmericanGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the resort to beautiful and the accommodations clean and comfortable. We appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the excellent service they provided you. We do apologize for the inconvenience you might have experienced with our elevator dilemma. Rest assured, it has been resolved and all our elevators are operating nicely. We look forward to the pleasure of your return visit in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    928
    917
    324
    78
    46
See reviews for
444
1,329
94
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (701)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lenox, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is an excellent hotel and very good value. It is an older property but well maintained. The Staff are courteous, helpful and knowledgeable. The nicer you are to them, the more they will bend over backwards to help. The pools are very nice as well as jacuzzis. The back pool is perfect for kids and families. The location is very good- i.e. close to airport and other places yet quiet and secluded at the same time. Food is quite good overall, but could be improved somewhat. Buy the breakfast vouchers and you save $5 a day for the buffet which is ok. A la carte is still $10 plus. I would recommend this hotel for couples, families where day care and game room is not necessary and quiet solo folks who are not looking for a party but a good solid nice place from which to venture out or just stay in and enjoy the pools and ambience. The Driftwood lounge is better than any I saw at other hotels, had better music, more room and better mood. Drinks were very good and food above avg. I will go again!

Room Tip: Rooms on wings closer to ocean are quieter. I had a garden view which is fine for most everyone. Don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charl0070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to wirte your review on your recent stay at the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found our property to be in a convenient location and our facilities to be of great value. Your feedback is valuable to us and we appreciate your comments on our restaurants and for acknowledging our staff and the excellent service they provided you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I stayed at this resort for a week in mid-February. It is a beautiful resort and we would recommend it to our friends and family. We too were concerned about previous reviews but found the parking lot, etc. to be just fine. Our rooms were clean, the beds were awesome and the employees were friendly and accommodating. Our hair dryer & coffee maker didnt work and we were brought new ones immediately. We do wish the rooms had microwaves but it wasnt a big issue. The only complaint we had is the price of food and drinks but since we were out and about most of the time, this was not a problem for us. We tried many other restrauants on Kauai and never went hungry.

Stayed February 2013
Helpful?
Thank nellybell57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Kauai Beach Resort. We are pleased that you enjoyed our beautiful resort and that you found the accommodations to be clean and comfortable. We also appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the excellent service they provided. We look forward to the pleasure of your return visit to the Garden Island in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

It was not bad. It wasn't the best, but then we didn't pay for the best. The grounds are well kept. The first room 3317 had a moldy smell and it was more than we could deal with. So we called the front desk and we told them , and while we went to eat, they aired out the room and used a dehumidifier so they said. It was still very bad...so we called them again and the moved us to another room. Ocean front. So that was nice. But the maid service sucked.. they never left toilet paper. Had to call the front desk for that. Lost a pair of Tommy flip flops....never to be seen again.

Helpful?
2 Thank DeniseToth-Hidalgo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to write your review on your recent stay at the Kauai Beach Resort. We sincerely apologize that the condition of your room was not satisfactory upon check-in, however we are pleased that we were able to offer you an alternative room that you enjoyed. Rest assured, we will address your housekeeping concerns and also research your missing items. It is our resort policy to report lost and found items as more often than not, they are found and returned to our guests. We hope that we may have the pleasure of your return visit so that you can experience the outstanding job that we really can do. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The best part of our stay was the concierge and the amenities they provided. Otherwise, we would both agree that our six night stay was average. We didn't have a rental car initially, but after three days found that we would need one to get to restaurants and shopping (which were about 5 miles away) and escape the wind. The spa was real nice and the massage was high quality. They had upscale products and a nice sauna too. Our room was ok, Holiday Inn quality. We did request a room change immediately, as we were originally placed on the ground floor and the screen door would not lock. When requested, they moved us right away. Also, the refrigerator was stinky and needed cleaning. I didnt bother complaining again, as I didnt want to be a pest. Room service was quick. I only give this place a 3 of 5 stars because it served a purpose and was reasonably priced. Front desk service was super slow and the restaurant on site lacked creativity.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review on your recent stay at the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found our resort to be a good value and that our concierge and spa facilities were excellent. We do apologize for any inconvenience you experienced in your accommodations, we make it our priority to provide clean and comfortable rooms and we appreciate when our guests let us know if something is not satisfactory. Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of your return visit to the Garden Island in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited the first week of February, and we had a really good experience. We aren't the sort to spend much time at our hotel, as we generally like to be out exploring, so this was a great choice for us as we could explore the island from a central starting point (very helpful!) and pay a reasonable price for lodging. The hotel staff was pleasant and mostly helpful when we asked, and in contrast from prior reviews, parking really isn't an issue (and not nearly as far away as other reviewers might have you believe), though you do pay extra for it. It's a beautiful place to stay in that region, we'd like to thank them for the room upgrade to ocean front, and we would suggest this place to other travelers!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJB12Montana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at the Kauai Beach Resort. We are pleased that you found our resort to be of great value and a perfect location for your island activities. We appreciate your kind comments on our staff and the execllent service they provided you. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island soon. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Picked the Kauai Beach Resort in order to be central to all we wanted to do, and to get an affordable ocean view room. Was a bit worried about a lot of reviews on the parking lot and the dated-ness of the place and found them to be non-issues. Room was just great, but my wife and I are not super picky or as particular as some people seem to be--just want clean and not 70s avocado and gold. Rooms compared to the Hilton Waikoloa on the Big Island (only other Hawaiian hotel we've stayed at). Parking is just fine and don't pay attention to reviews saying otherwise. When we came back late (after 8:30 pr 9), we DID have to park on the dirt part of the lot twice. Be a man, drop your wife at the door and stop whining--it's still very close parking. The self park fee is a non-issue. If you price other comparable resorts, you pay $30/day "resort fee", so $13/day is completely reasonable (caveat is if you have mobility issues--probably go for the valet parking)

What was great:

1. GREAT walking beach--miles and miles, as long as you get a decent day for it
2. Very clean rooms and hotel overall. We had a big flat screen TV and room was fairly updated (building 4), so not sure if other units are older. Definitely hotel-like and not condo-tel "unique" (which we have NOT been fans of from a consistency point of view)
3. Great staff, everyone was incredibly friendly from check-in staff, valet, to ALL restaurant personnel!!
4. Was a more secluded location--other areas can seem packed with eating places, crowded beaches, etc, and we loved the feel of not having tons of other cars coming to the area
5. The breakfast buffet was fantastic! Not sure I'd pay full price every morning, but we got it for a good package deal for our entire stay and just loved it, would do it for the deal price again in a heartbeat. The breakfast staff were super friendly and even packed a continental breakfast for us the day we left at 5 AM for the Kalalau Trail!! Not the same as the buffet, but awesome for them to do it for us in lieu of the buffet!
6. Okay, I am NOT a person who really cares about the bed at a hotel, they all seem alike to me. These, however, were fantastic, and I don't know why.

Other considerations--these are NOT negatives (there weren't any) just a few tips from our thought process.

1. No places to walk to for eating/shopping besides the resort. If you want a resort in the middle of everything (think Clearwater Beach in FL, or Waikiki) this is not it. We thought that was a GOOD thing but others may not. Kapaa is literally just a few minutes north and is great for eating/shopping however, so don't think you're in the middle of nowhere.
2. If you are in one place for the whole week and have to choose a single hotel (packages are like that), this was a perfect choice. If we could've split our time, we may have picked something in Poipu and then farther north or Hanalei--we did end up driving a lot. Again, not a bad thing and no other way to see everything cool in Kauai (Waimea, Kalalau Trail, Queen's Pond, Poipu, etc). Probably just how Kauai is.
3. This is DEFINITELY the windward side. Sounds like we were here a more windy than usual week, but seriously, it is REALLY windy and was EVERY DAY we were there. If you're one to want to sit by the pool or the beach (which we are NOT) then this may not be the right choice. Again, know what you like or you're going to be one of the goofballs here who reads about a walking but not swim-able beach, and then complains they can't lay out on the beach. We used the nice hot tubs, but not the pool--was just too cool, cloudy and windy.

We do wish we would have had one warm day with minimum wind to sit by the pool, but we didn't. Not the resort's fault, so I'm not dinging them for it, we went to southwest shore for that. We had the breakfast buffet each morning, but then only had appetizers at Shutters the night we arrived late. Loved the live music and the flat bread pizzas were awesome. Didn't try the infamous seafood buffet or have dinner at the other place.

Overall, a great time, we would ABSOLUTELY stay there again because it was our kind of place.

Room Tip: Building 4, and facing the south side feel more secluded
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FamilyAdventuresMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review on your recent visit to the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you found our location to be very convenient and the facilities of great value. Thank you also for your kind comments on our staff and the excellent service they provided you. It is true that we are located on the "windward" side of the island, however, during your visit the very windy conditions you experienced are not the norm here. These elevated trade winds were reported statewide and part of storm system moving across the island chain. Again, we are delilghted that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit to the Garden Island and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Property: Kauai Beach Resort
Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8109 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#3 Business Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. Guests enjoy stylish accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambiance. In a convenient location close to the airport, shopping, and championship golf, the hotel also offers FREE airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, a lounge, entertainment, 4 pool areas, a 75-foot lava tube water slide, a 24/7 fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms, a ballroom, and parking is a $25/daily fee. A daily resort fee includes WiFi internet access, movie and game rentals, and more. Experience the best in island hospitality and charm of Hawaii when staying at the Kauai Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing