We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot”
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

This resort has the most comfortable beds of any place that I've stayed. I actually slept well from the first night to the last. The grounds are very impressive and the beach is very nice for walking. A swimmable beach is not too far away, but not right in front of the resort. My only complaint is that you HAVE to pay for parking at $13/day. We found reasonably priced places to eat in Lihue so overall we didn't spend a lot.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BoringNE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to the Kauai Beach Resort. We appreciate your feedback and we are delighted that you found our accommodations to be very comfortable and the property to be well maintained. We do charge a small parking fee, but unlike most properties we do not charge a resort fee. We hope to have the pleasure of your return visit to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,448)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,545 - 1,551 of 2,448 reviews

Reviewed February 11, 2013

The front desk staff seemed Inflexible and unfriendly. They did not go out of their way to be accomodating on fairly simple requests like late checkout, apology for incessant construction, etc. rather rhan accomodate their guests, they seemed accusatory and punitive. Poorly maintained interior, for instance rusted elevator doors.
Now the bell staff were superbly helpful and willing to go out of their way. Why the huge discrepancy?

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diesprop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of your recent visit to the Kauai Beach Resort. Needless to say, we are disspointed to learn that you did not recieve excellent service from our front desk and that your requests were not addressed to your satisfaction. This is certainly not the norm here and we will be be discussing your concerns with the appropriate management. We appreciate your feedback and we do hope that we may have the pleasure of your return visit to the beautful Garden Island. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed for one night on January 18th. We were very happy with our choice, a really nice property. The pool looked great they had everything you could want. I would stay here again even longer. Airport shuttle was really nice.

Room Tip: We had a bottom floor room and it was nice. You could walk out your patio to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dianem163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Kauai Beach Resort. Although we wish your stay could have been longer, we are pleased that you found our property to be convenient and our accommodations comfortable for the one night. We look forward to welcoming you back so that you can truly experience all the wonderful amenities we have to offer. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Excellent Job Aqua!!!
This is the first Aqua property I stayed at. I'm usually the type to book with Hyatt's, Hilton's and Marriotts but was very pleasantly surprised at this property. Great value. We stayed at this hotel for a week for my wife's birthday and have been to the island a number of times before. For us this trip was more important just to get away and spend the days relaxing and maybe doing very little sightseeing. As mentioned the beach wasn't great but still nice to walk along. The pools made up for that easily. I found the food to be top notched and was really surprised on its presentation and taste. We booked directly through the hotels website and received a great package deal with a rental car. The hotel is a little older but has a better atmosphere of Hawaiian character compared to the other big white concrete hotels on the island in my option.
The construction last Oct. was not a major issue or disturbance and we did not have any problem with parking, not sure during busier times of the year if that would be a issue.
Take care turning left out of the main drive out of the hotel as traffic can be a little busy. Hopefully they'll consider putting a traffic light in at that intersection. All in all I would highly recommend this property. Also remember you won't see any sunsets but the sunrises are just as nice.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank cousinit8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and that our facilities and food outlets exceeded your expectations. We appreciate your feedback and we will share your kind comments with our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Garden Island in the not too distant future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 9 days. Our initial choice of room was over the entrance area and so a bit noisy at times. O discussion we were given an excellent ocean facing room for a small amount extra. Staff were excellent, especially Sandy on reception. The hotel was kept very clean and quick to provide service. Beach is poor but well compensated by the pools. However you can go for long walks. The hotel stands by itself so very peaceful. Food seemed fresh; but cooking not special. We liked the bar more than restaurant. Breakfast was reasonable. Free shuttles to airport and local shopping mall. Overall excellent value for money and good for a week, especially if you hire a car for a day or two to look around the island. Only warning is that there is a lot of car park construction going on at the hotel - so check what you will see before you accept a room.
The grass areas near the beach were a bit marked by golf carts used by hotel staff. I would recommend that the hotel limit this because it may not appeal to everyone to see the odd tire track. We booked throug hotel; but heat taht Home Away or similar may have options.

Room Tip: Look for ocean facing rooms n the blocks closest to reception. Check befor you accept, and ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank British_member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of your recent stay at the Kauai Beach Resort. We appreciate your feedback and we are delighted that you found our resort to be of great value. We take great pride in our facilities and providing excellent service to our guests. We will share your kind comments with our staff. We hope to have the pleasure of your return visit to the Garden Island in the very near future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

A perfect place to land and unpack your stress. The staff is friendly, helpful and caring. The grounds are pristine with multiple pools, colorful landscaping and designed so you catch a breeze at every turn. The room was very clean and plush. Let the puffy cloudlike pillows cuddle your head and the scruptious immense towels wipe away the mainland. Early in the morning open the sliding glass door to your room's lanai and watch the swaying palms and listen to the chirping birds. When the roosters start to crow it's time to go down for breakfast. The food is very good-the best hash browns I have ever had and the hamburger was delicious and large. Actually, all the food I had was reasonably priced and very good. Be there on the right day and the resort provides a one-hour hula show with music and free mai tais around the pool! I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Mine looked out over the lagoon and it was quiet and scenic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turquoise_orchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Aloha and thank you for you for taking the time to give a review of your recent visit to the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you found our facilities and accommodations to be beautiful and relaxing. We appreciate your wonderful description of your experience here and we will share those comments with our staff. We look forward to your next visit to the Garden Island and welcoming you back to the Kauai Beach Resort. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I picked this resort off the Internet and didn't know much about it. It was perfect for me! It is the only resort in this area,so the beach area is secluded and goes on forever. The scenery around the beach is breathtaking. I booked a room with a beach view and got one off to the side which was ok since the breezes off the ocean can be strong,at times. My room was up to date,clean and cozy,the staff was friendly and service was good. The swimming pools were too cold to swim in at this time of year,(January)but I was more interested in walking on the beach and laying out in the sun. The food at the restaurants was good,but a bit pricey. There are a lot of great restaurants down the road in Kapaa,and you will need a car to get around,unless you are there for a short time. They do have an airport shuttle. Valet service is extra,but well worth it. Some friends from a cruise ship visited me and were very impressed with what they saw. The concierge can arrange any tours--and you have to take the helicopter tour,if you do nothing else. The rates,through Travelocity, were so reasonable,it was hard to believe.
If you want to get away from it all,enjoy the simple,more Hawaiian-like atmosphere,and want quiet and seclusion this is the place for you. I feel I was very fortunate to spend 16 days on the beautiful island of Kauai and would return again and again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a lanai with a beach view,if you like to see the ocean--although the ocean is 50-60 ya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your review of the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you had a wonderful experience at our resort and that you found our accommodations and service to be excellent. We take great pride in keeping the feel of the property in traditional Hawaiiana and we very much appreciate your comments. We know you will be back and we look forward to having you as our guest again. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
3 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#7 of 11 in Kapaa
135 reviews
17 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
12.1 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort at Poipu, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
3 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
3.5 mi away
Kaua'i Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8109 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#3 Business Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: $196 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. Guests enjoy stylish accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambiance. In a convenient location close to the airport, shopping, and championship golf, the hotel also offers FREE airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, a lounge, entertainment, 4 pool areas, a 75-foot lava tube water slide, a 24/7 fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms, a ballroom, and parking is a $25/daily fee. A daily resort fee includes WiFi internet access, and more. Experience the best in island hospitality and charm of Hawaii when staying at the Kauai Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing