We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kauai Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Lani(Lihue)
View Hotel
Reviews (2,488)
Filter reviews
2,488 results
Traveler rating
985
992
363
92
56
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
985
992
363
92
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshutters barsand poolnaupaka terracerental carocean viewclose to the airportbreakfast buffetfire pitgift shopvalet parkingour honeymoonpools and hot tubsmain restaurantper dayparking lotpoolside bargrounds are beautiful
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,611 - 1,616 of 2,488 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Jan 13-19, 2013. Happily leaving today. Overall grade - D.

Had to park .2 miles away in rain and mud for (surprise) over $10 a day extra. Oh, you can use valet, and pay more, plus tips, and wait for your car coming and going. No thanks. Could not check in upon arrival. Patronizing desk clerk had an attitude - "go sit in the bar, we'll call you," but never did. Checked in 4.5 hours later, after 16:00. Food, drinks, and hidden charges were expensive. Book your own exursions on-line or just go to them. Booking through hotel costs more, and is through Expedia (live and learn). For example, the nearby rum factory tasting and plantation is free. Don't pay $15 for the hotel to give you a map. Internet? Forget it. It, and cell phone coverage, were down for 2 days. $13 for computer per day. When it returned, my computer got a virus that rendered it useless until I get home. "Beyond our control." Beach was filthy and smelled bad. Not for swimmers - go to Maui. Smashed my knuckles trying to close and latch the rusty, single-pane, off-track, balcony door. Noisy rooms, plus construction in next building. No matter what you set it at, thermostat went back to 72 within an hour or so. Room 2404.

Place was very clean and had nice decor. Comfortable beds. Good location by airport, shopping, and restaurants in Lihue. Pool area is attractive. Chickens are friendly, if vocal all night. Most staff was polite.

They started off on the wrong foot after a bad travel day, and did nothing to improve the situation. I will share with my travel agent. We much preferred our week in Maui. I had better service and fewer problems at the Super 8 in Fargo ND last month, and that was a dive. Price paid had no impact on this review - to be honest, I don't know what we paid, but it wasn't worth it. Maybe we just came at a bad time, is that our fault?? We won't be back.

Room Tip: Try the Marriott - I hear it has a nice beach.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank K P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to write your review on your Kauai Beach Resort visit. We are delighted that you found our property to be in a convenient location and that the facilities and accommodations were comfortable and clean. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced regarding the cell phone coverage. We did have a challenge with the internet/cell phone for one day which was a result of a statewide outage due to a fire in Oahu. In any event, we hope that we may have the pleasure of your return visit to show you what an outstanding property the Kauai Beach Resort is. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

What a wonderful low-key resort. The feeling of ohana (family) pervades your stay here. The staff COULD NOT be more friendly and personify the spirit of Aloha.

Let me say right now, for all the people complaining about the parking lot situation and view......you need to strickly specify your room requests with the hotel reservations agent. We asked for NonSmoking, KingSized Bed, no adjoining room, non-rooster side of the building, not next to the parking lot, not a pool view, building 4, and ocean view. Well, evidently she actually noted it in the reservation, because when we checked in, the front desk clerk happily said, "you got everything you asked for".....and we did. Does that sound picky, yes, it really does. But I read a lot of the Trip Advisor recent review and was ready with all the objectional items. Did the res agent balk or get nasty, no!

Was there a "better" room we could have had? Sure. I took note of that and the next time we stay there (and we will), I'll ask for it.

I don't have enough time to list all the fabulous things about this resort, but just suffice to say, it has something for everyone. Waterfalls abound, there's a SAND pool, which is surrounded by sand and that is surrounded by grass.....and that leads to the beach just steps away. This is NOT a swimming beach. For that you walk along the beach for about 3/4 of a mile and come to Lydgate park a walled in swimming area with great snorkeling and no waves for the little ones to get caught up in.

Back to the resort. Great drinks, happy hours. That's right, 2 happy hours at 2 different bars! Great food, incredibly warm service.

Rooms are very comfortable. If you're looking for the 4 Seasons, this isn't the place for you. Beds are beyond comfortable and bathroom is standard size. Furniture is older, but functioning. Nice refrigerator and coffee pot in the room. Safe is large enough to hold an IPAD.

Lanai was on an angle to the ocean, but certainly large enough to seat us both and a small table where we had our own private happy hour in the afternoon, as we faced toward the airport and there is nothing but open field next to you.

OceanFRONT rooms (10 only) nice, but not private, as lanai's are in full view of passerbys.

Sunrises were spectacular and the resort itself is by itself and not surrounded by other properties, other than a few villas on the lagoon side of the hotel.

Get the Insider's Guide Book to Hawaii, look at the hotel layout and then request your room.

The Staff says the Parking Lot will be done by the end of the month, so let's hope so for those of you who have been bothered by the construction.

Other amenities in the hotel are the spa (didn't have time to try out) a fitness center (didn't want to try out...lazy me...beautiful facility), a gift shop, business center with computer, fax, printer, a counter selling Expedia excursions (overpriced). Loved the fact that transportation to and from the airport is included. I timed it going back to the airport: 4 minutes, door to door! We stayed 4 days and 3 nights and never rented a car. Loved the resort, stayed in, but one day hired a private guide for the day. She picked us up and brought us back. If you are looking for a "local" tour lead by a very knowledgeable and fun guide, contact Karen Tilley @ Kauai Eden Tours, tell her I sent you. She will hook you up with whatever you want to see....whether it's nature, hiking, beaches, history, waterfalls, TV and Movie that was filmed on the island, doesn't matter, she can do it all.

Ok, I've said enough, but if anyone has any questions on either the resort of the Kauai Eden Tours, please feel free to contact me. I really enjoy giving business to local companies, and these are both in that category. Don't hesitate to book..........today!!!! No crowds anywhere during our stay.

Room Tip: Building 4, odd number rooms, we were in 4101, try for 4201 , that would be the 2nd floor, but you only have neighbors on one side of you in either room. Building 4 is the closest to the ocean, furthest from the lobby. If there are mobility issues another building may be better!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyn2lax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Aloha! Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you enjoyed everything about the resort and we appreciate your kind comments on our staff who provided you excellent service "with aloha". We have recently completed the photovoltaic parking structure and it certainly enhances the property with covered ample parking while being energy efficient as well. Your feedback is most valuable to us and again we appreciate your review. We also look forward to welcoming you back to the Kauai Beach Resort in the very near future. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

They lost our reservation - took close to an hour to check in with a surly clerk, despite having confirmation number, etc. The unfriendly reception tainted our stay as did the $13/day charge for parking in a muddy, rutted parking lot; daily charge for wifi; wet floor in room. Despite being 'beachfront', there is no swimming in the ocean here.
Will not be returning.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lynn154913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Aloha and thank you for taking the time to give your feedback on your recent visit to the Kauai Beach Resort. Needless to say, we are dissapointed to learn of the unfortunate experience you had with your reservation at check-in. We take great pride in our service and rest assured, we will address the appropriate department to understand what the circumstances were to avoid this from happening again. Again, we apologize and hope that we may redeem ourselves by your return visit to the Kauai Beach Resort. Mahalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Just returned from the Kauai Beach Resort today. Just a great place to stay, very reasonably priced, restaurants serve above average food and the hotel staff is among the best I've ever encountered. Grounds and pool areas are amongst the best. The beach is a bit small, but still very nice.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joseph D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Aloha! Thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you found our facilities and accommodations to be outstanding. We also appreciate your kind comments regarding the excellent service you received from our staff and we will be happy to share those with them. We look forward to your return visit to the Garden Island. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Currently staying here and so far not impressed that my Ocean view room is also of your make shift muddy parking lot in a field. As well, if this is your high season why do renovations on the main part of the building right beside the pool and next to your 'ocean view' rooms?

Room Tip: don't book the 'ocean view' right now as you'll be looking at a muddy parking lot.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dan1430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2013

Aloha and thank you for your feedback on your stay here at Kauai Beach Resort. We apologize for any inconvenience that our rennovation project has caused you. We carefully planned these projects around our high occupancy periods and unfortunately, the weather has not cooperated. We have made every effort to expedite the process and we are pleased to report that our parking structure is complete and the adjacent field will be back in shape for more pleasant views. We hope that you will give us the pleasure of your return visit so that you may enjoy the enhancements to this beautiful property. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews