We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“No place to eat between 10:30 and 11:30.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Magnolia, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“No place to eat between 10:30 and 11:30.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Stopped for lunch with a car full of hungry people. Was told to go around the pool to a restaurant. Walked around place was closed til 11:30. Other restaurant on property was also closed.
Strange. Won't be back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to write about your visit to the Kauai Beach Resort. We apologize that our food and beverage facilities were not open as they were in between breakfast and lunch service when you arrived. We would be happy to have you return to experience the excellent food and service that we provide. Please contact the resort directly to make your reservation. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    870
    841
    299
    75
    43
See reviews for
405
1,229
88
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (662)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Great value. Hotel was beautiful, nicer than the pictures. We went for our honeymoon and received an upgraded room and free parking. The staff was really friendly. Only grip was that Hotwire classified this as a 4+ rated hotel..but this is a Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline rating, not the KBR. Rooms were really nice but probably more a 3.5 if the highest rated hotels in Kauai are pretty much a 4. Great value and gorgeous ocean views. Probably one of the best beaches in Kauai. Would definitely say here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Khax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Aloha and thank you for your feedback from your recent visit to the Kauai Beach Resort. We are pleased that you found our accommodations comfortable and our location to be ideal. Your kind comments will be shared with the staff and we look foward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

Very nice hotel, great value for the money. Large pool area, slide for kids. Couple of things, if you want to have breakfast at the hotel, buy the package with breakfast included. you'll save $5 per person per day and it's a good buffet breakfast. The parking lot is under renovation so depending on where your room is it might be better to just pay the extra $3 per day for valet parking. But overall nice hotel, close to Kihue and Kaapa restaurants and attractions and a great value. Beach right in front of hotel has quite a bit of coral rocks, but just a short walk, to north end of hotel is a wide beach. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank funtotravel4926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Aloha! Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback from your recent visit to the Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found our facilities and accommodations to be excellent and a great value. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Garden Island in the very near future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papaikou, Hawaii
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Danny and the front desk staff found us a beautiful one bedroom condo when we left our booked hotel because it was so bad. We found KBR by fluke, but it saved our vacation. Our room was so comfortable and super clean, the whole area was lovely, and the pool area spotless and lots of space. Heated pool was nice as the weather was a bit iffy. Super friendly front desk staff, on the ball and happy. We loved every second. Thanks Troy and Danny for our best vacation, you made our special time wonderful. Love the effort to Go Green too....and the bed was comfy too....

Room Tip: Don't think you could get a bad room here, well situated, so each room has a view...lovely. Nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gardengirl54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to post your review about your recent visit to the Kauai Beach Resort. We are pleased that we were able to turn your vacation around when you chose to stay at our facility. We will share your kind comments with our staff and we look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

This resort might not have been the most updated place, BUT the service definitely made up for WE had a blast!!! the views are incredible the food was great and the nightly entertainment was a nice treat very relaxing just an overall greaT TIME

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traci H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Aloha and thank you for your feedback on your recent visit to Kauai Beach Resort. We are delighted that you found our facilities to be comfortable and that our staff provided you with excellent service. We hope to have the pleasure of your return in the not too distant future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Visiting Kauai for the first time, we chose the KBR for location, amenities and value. We were not disappointed! From the shuttle bus driver who delivered us late in the evening, to Christina who checked us in, to the lovely, pristine room with the sound of the breakers as we sat on the lanai we were delighted from the get- go. We had chosen the fall car promotion and added the breakfast buffet which was a great price for such a beautiful resort- we were greeted warmly by the breakfast staff each morning for 14 days and really enjoyed the choices available at the buffet. The car promotion cost us approximately $10 per day in taxes and fees which was still a great bargain. We really enjoyed the very talented entertainers in the Lounge each evening and had several meals there. Sitting in the lobby checking emails was even more enjoyable listening to the music! Kudos to the front desk staff for answering questions with patience, and the housekeeping staff for keeping our room immaculate. The only sour note was the state of the parking lot which was rutted and muddy while construction of the new covered lot was completed- not a major problem but the lot could have been graded and gravelled during construction.
Overall, we LOVED this resort and the excellent and pleasant staff!! Thanks again to all for making our first visit to Kauai such a great experience- we'll be back!
Room 1331

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindalou907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Aloha and thank you for your very kind comments with respect to your recent stay here at the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so delighted that you chose the Kauai Beach Resort as your destination for your first trip to Kauai and that our accommodations and service met your expectations. We will share your feedback with all those you mentioned and again, we appreciate you taking the time to write your review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the beautiful Garden Island in the very near future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain Cook
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Good location. Friendly staff. Nice room. Elegant holiday decorations. Enjoyed the live Hawaiian music. The only bummer was parking. Out of the way and muddy. Thankfully we didn't have to pay the daily self-parking fee. Yay for room-and-car deals!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank konalunas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager808, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Aloha and thank your for your feedback from your recent stay at the Kauai Beach Resort. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and that you found the accommodations, service and location to be outstanding. We apologize for any inconvenience our temporary parking lot caused you, we did have some unusual inclement weather during the period you were here which resulted in a bit of debris. Our new parking structure will be completed soon and we can assure you that it will be a fabulous enhancement to the property. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Property: Kauai Beach Resort
Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8109 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 Business Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kauai Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. This hotel features stylish vintage accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambience and is conveniently located close to the airport, shopping, championship golf and more. The hotel also offers complimentary airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, lounge, entertainment, 4 pools, 75-foot lava tube water slide, fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms and ballroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing