We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Pools and Water Slide”
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The hotel is a fairly basic hotel room. There were Three different pools one of them was split down the middle, one side being a two ft deep sand bottom pool. My 2 year old spent most of his time in the sand pool. The slide does have a height restriction which my son was within an inch of. One attendant allowed him to use the slide if I was at the bottom to catch him, however the other attendant was a bit more strict. The beach definitely is not a good swimming beach, however it is nice to walk on. Food is a bit expensive and the pool bar closes down food at 5 and shuts down totally around 8, but Lihue is literally 5 min away so if you have a rental car its nice. They do have pickup and drop off shuttle to and from the airport. Pool bar should stay open longer, would have loved to have drinks in the warm evening air.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group
5  Thank Firefightermmm7234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,680 - 1,686 of 2,384 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2012

Here's the bottom line on this resort. If you want to be able to walk out of your room and be on a beautiful stretch of white sand where you can swim, snorkel and frolic in the surf, book the Sheraton, Hyatt or Marriott. But if you want a better price, a site with three beautiful pools, ocean views, great service staff, a good restaurant, and plan on taking your show on the road to a different part of the island every day, Kauai Beach Resort is perfect.

Pros
* Short drive to either the North or South parts of the island (approx 45 minutes to both Waimea Canyon and Tunnel's Beach) depending on the traffic flow.
* Kapaa's shopping and wide variety of restaurants is mere minutes away (including Bubba's Burgers only a five-minute drive)
* Friendly, responsive staff. Beautifully kept grounds.
* Beautiful beach views during the day and surf sounds to put you to sleep at night.
* Great restaurants, including a pool-side location that serves comfort food and drinks.
* Desk for booking tours right at the resort for less-experienced travelers.
* About a five minute drive to Wailua Golf Course, a local club with very friendly staff and low greens fees.
* Very short trip to the Lihue Airport and Nawiliwili Harbor.

Cons
* Beach isn't very good for swimming.
* Rooms and beds are a bit small, but we don't spend much time in the rooms while we're in Hawaii.
* Restaurant and bar is "resort priced." ($25 breakfast buffet)
* Parking fee and slight walk to the lot (less than a city block, and through Hawaii weather, so how bad can it be?)
* Located on the eastern shore of Kauai, which is more developed and fewer great beaches than the Poipu and Princeville areas.
* The short trip to the airport means you will occasionally hear jets and helicopters taking off and landing.
* While we were there, one of the hot tubs was really hot and one was only luke-warm (neither was just right).

A few more tips:
* There's a Safeway about two miles north. Go there and get your breakfast and snacks.
* No one seemed to care that we brought our own beer poolside, so while you're at the Safeway, pick up your beverage of choice and leave it in your resort-supplied mini-fridge.
* Snorkel Bobs is just North of the resort. Rent for the week and get some tips on where the best beaches are depending on time of year and weather.

Room Tip: Best ocean view rooms on in building 4. Unless you want to be pampered, no one uses the valet parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank bebizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed a week at Kauai Beach Resort and a week at Westin Princeville. As far as rooms go it is apples and oranges but the service was more friendly at KBR. Was a perfect location for exploring the rest of the island. It was a short drive to good eats and other amenities. Overall we enjoyed our time more at KBR vs. Westin.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sol2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We went here on our honeymoon and it is not honeymoon material. The price is good but it's in the middle of nowhere, beds are uncomfortable, rooms need to be renovated. Our ocean view rooms overlooked a wing of rooms that appeared to be occupied by locals bc there were air conditioning units in their windows. Does not scream luxury. This is not a 4 star hotel although you may see it described as such. It felt vacant, low energy. Not many people staying here. So we checked in for an hour and immediately checked out and moved to the sheraton in poipu. Much better. KBR is near nothing.... I does not feel like a vacation spot. I will say the staff is friendly, lobby is pretty and pool is nice. I had quesadillas for lunch and they we're bad. Overall- avoid.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank joelyskye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We made the trip from Oahu while visiting family there. The resort had beautiful views and access to the ocean. Several pools, with waterfalls, slides and sandy bottoms for the little ones to experience the beach without worrying about the waves. Fantastic and friendly service from the staff. Breakfast buffet was just right for an additional $10.00/person per day. We even had a rental car included in our stay, for getting around the island to see what this island had to offer us. This island is a must see, as it is so different than Oahu and Maui. So green and lush. The staff at the reception desk was as excited for the guests as the guests were and extremely helpful in navigating the resort as well as the "island sightseeing" especially Kuulei, she couldn't have been any more helpful. A true asset to this resort.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms are all wonderful, however, if you like the sounds of the ocean, request a room clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in November 2011 for four nights. The room price, which included breakfast, cannot be beat on the islands for a resort of this quality. No, there is not a great beach at this location, but the resort is located well off of the highway, it is family friendly, it has a very nice pool area, and the staff was very accommodating for our additional needs. The breakfast buffet is more than sufficient. No, this is not the Hyatt or the Marriott, but it is a very good resort that is owned by Hilton. On Wednesday nights they perform South Pacific in the ballroom with local talent and while the production is not Broadway caliber, the two leads could have easily performed on Broadway. The performance comes with a dinner that was very good. Two years ago ( we come to Kauai every year), we came to hear a slack-key guitar concert, which was very enjoyable. We have already made our reservations to come back this November.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank hkcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

The service was amazing, always smiling and happy. The landscaping is so beautiful and we loved the BBQ pits!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaoSlats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
64 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8109 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#3 Business Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: $183 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. Guests enjoy stylish accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambiance. In a convenient location close to the airport, shopping, and championship golf, the hotel also offers FREE airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, a lounge, entertainment, 4 pool areas, a 75-foot lava tube water slide, a 24/7 fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms, a ballroom, and parking is a $25/daily fee. A daily resort fee includes WiFi internet access, and more. Experience the best in island hospitality and charm of Hawaii when staying at the Kauai Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Otel, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing