We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go during rainy season”
Review of Kauai Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kauai Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't go during rainy season”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Beautiful resort, nice pool, friendly staffs and resturant food is good. I stay at one of the privately own condo. Excellent room and resort for its price. Very close to Lihue and Paapa and some of the attractions. 5 mins away from the airport. But Kauai have a bad rain storm off and on for 3 weeks. When I was there it rain for 3 days cats and dogs non stop, resort got flooded no electricity had to evcauate to a crisis centre one night parking lot was flooded car didn't start hotel should have refunded me for charges for parking but didn't. The management at Kauai Beach Resort would not compensate me for anything didn't even say they are sorry. Other than hotel manager the staffs were very helpful. Don't go during rainy season I think this resort is like a soup bowl when rain it flood. The east coast of Kauai is cloudly and rainier than the south area like near Poipu Beach but you pay for that sun the Hyatt, Marriott and Sheraton are in that area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    933
    925
    325
    78
    46
See reviews for
452
1,332
94
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2012

My husband & I, Tyler's, stayed here 4 days the last week in February 2012. I wish I scheduled more time at the Kauai Beach Resort. We loved it so much. Actually, my husband is not real impressive. When he tells people about our trip he starts off with the best place we stayed was at the Kauai Beach Resort. It is beautiful, tranquil and the staff was awesome. We loved the room, view, grounds and the food at the resort was fantastic. We went to 4 islands total. This was my second time to the islands,but did no make it to Kauai. This is now my favorite place. I would recommend this place to everyone. I could go on and on.....

Room Tip: I love the ocean view. The way the resort rooms are situated and as close as you are to the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Don’t be afraid to go on and on…

Really, Thanks for the positive comments. We appreciate it and will share these comments with the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Kauai Beach Resort in the future.

Aloha,

Matt Pickett
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Kauai Beach Resort was great! Even though we were on our honeymoon, we didn't splurge on an ocean view because we figured we wouldn't be in our room much, which we weren't! We still got a view of the mountains, which were beautiful. We loved the pool and super easy access to the beach. We knew when we booked the room that the beach wasn't swimmable, but it was great to walk up and down and take pictures!

The ONLY downside was that it is an open air hallway and the rooms tended to get humid. We turned the air WAY down, which helped. They had a good A/C, so it kept the room cool.

It was in a great location, very centralized. We didn't have to go too far to get to any part of the island. it was a great value for the price and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone. I'd go back in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

Spacious, nicely appointed rooms. Not all rooms have ocean view, but well kept grounds with easy access to rolling surf, gorgeous. They must have the only multi-purpose room this side of Princeville as it was busy every night: a local production of South Pacific and other musical events that filled the parking lot, so that was an inconvenience, you must avail yourself of valet parking on those nights, if you return after 7 PM! Two picky points keep this from an excellent: who locates a towel ring directly over the toilet paper dispenser?? If on terrace or at pool you could not escape a ventilation fan bearing squeaking 24/7; Agree, one should not have to pay for parking

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geigartt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Your feedback is very important to us. We have replaced the squeaky fan; I apologize that it couldn’t have been done sooner. I hadn’t heard of the towel ring over the toilet dispenser. I am going to check that out as soon as I finish this response. Hmm? If it is something out of the ordinary, we will look at relocating it to somewhere else.

Thanks again, I hope that you can return to the Kauai Beach Resort soon.

Aloha,

Matt Pickett
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petaluma, california
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

When we learned we couldn't get through to Hanalei due to flooding, we were rebooked here. It was the beginning of the early March flood, although all anyone knew was that it sure was raining A LOT. Because of flooded parking, our paid parking was waived. We were upgraded to an ocean view room: spacious, comfortable, peaceful, and slept well that night listening to the surf and the rain. The next day, we began to realize this was a Major Storm.
Enjoyed a very good buffet breakfast, left the KBR but returned quickly; the rain was blinding. Dried \our wet clothes in the laundry room, lunched in our room then after we lost power, went to the lounge to play cards and learned we were being evacuated. Despite the staff being under tremendous pressure from distressed, angry, frightened (or all three) guests, they worked calmly and rapidly, and their poise under this type of pressure was simply remarkable. I give highest marks for professionalism under conditions this adverse.
At the school where we were evacuated, hotel staff showed up with sandwiches and plenty of drinks for the 300-odd evacuees. When it was announced there were plenty of lodgings available in Lihue and Kaap'a, we used our cell phone to locate a place since neither of us fancied spending the night not sleeping in a multi-purpose room, no matter the kindness of hotel and school staff.
We returned the next day to check out, not because of displeasure with KBR but because our ground floor room understandably smelt damp and the replacement lodging offered a kitchen and non-flooded parking.
Despite the circumstances, we were most impressed by the comfort of KBR and would be pleased to recommend it to friends, and stay here again.
Without exception, the staff was warm, responsive and utterly delightful, greeting us with smiles and "aloha"s.
Our only complaint is that the tea I ordered when lunching in the lounge arrived lukewarm and strongly flavored of coffee.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodegg2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
I am so sorry that you had to experience the events that occurred on March 5th. I truly wish the entire day could have been avoided. I can’t tell you how much we appreciate your patience and understanding under the very difficult circumstances.

I hope that you can return soon and fully enjoy all of the beauty that the Island of Kauai has to offer.

Aloha,

Matt Pickett
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Good value for the money and perfect location for exploring the island. The only gripe I have is the extra fee they charge for parking every day; and you have to park a bit too far from the hotel. There is live music in the lobby bar every night with different performers every night; which is a treat! Don't waste your time with the restaurants; they are dismal, but because of the great location, you are never far away from other places to eat or purchase food to bring back. One more benefit of this location is the front view of this beach to the sunrise.

Room Tip: Rooms on the outside of the hotel's half-moon shape will be quieter for people noises but louder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPDMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mpickett, Manager at Kauai Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments and feedback. I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us. We will work on the items that you feel that we feel short on.

Hope to see you again soon.

Aloha,

Matt Pickett
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed the night of 3rd February 2012 at this hotel before renting our car from Avis next day and heading to WBH our RCI resort . The room was very spacious and comfortable with a small balcony. We slept with gentle sound of SEA and next morning we woke up with lots of commotion from roaming chickens, (they are everywhere on the island of Kauai) . The gardens very nice and well kept, helpful staff on the desk and porters and free shuttle to the airport is all good.

A few things we did not like, one was when we had our breakfast, there were small birds everywhere, inside and outside, on the table , on the dishes, cereal bowls etc.; the second one was expensive internet, no beach to swim only to walk on and make nice splash! .

Room Tip: lagoon rooms are very good in block 3 with sea view and away from the restaurant .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trupti P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Beach Resort

Property: Kauai Beach Resort
Address: 4331 Kauai Beach Drive, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-8109 (Formerly Kauai Beach Resort - an Aqua Boutique)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 Business Hotel in Lihue
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lihue
#3 Family Hotel in Lihue
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Beach Resort is a beautiful Hawaiian plantation-style resort situated oceanfront on 25 lush acres of Kauai's longest exploring and strolling beach. Guests enjoy stylish accommodations with modern day amenities and Hawaiian ambiance. In a convenient location close to the airport, shopping, and championship golf, the hotel also offers FREE airport shuttle service, 2 restaurants, a lounge, entertainment, 4 pool areas, a 75-foot lava tube water slide, a 24/7 fitness center, spa, business center, meeting rooms, a ballroom, and parking is a $25/daily fee. A daily resort fee includes WiFi internet access, and more. Experience the best in island hospitality and charm of Hawaii when staying at the Kauai Beach Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kauai Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Beach Resort - An Aqua Boutique Hotel Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Hotel
Hilton Lihue
Hilton Kauai Beach Resort
Lihue Hilton
Kauai Beach Resort HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing