We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Oki Diner, very good”
Review of Tiano's Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Tiano's Restaurant & Bar
Price range: $6 - $49
Cuisines: American, Filipino, Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: http://thegardenisland.com/business/local/article_7baaece4-e64a-11df-96a4-001cc4c002e0.html. Went there yesterday and had a yummy breakfast.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old Oki Diner, very good”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The Hawaiian style teriburger very good. Try the Loco Moco, very yummy!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RosemaryAlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    14
    6
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't get your hopes up”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We went to Tiano's with great expectations based on the recommendation of a friend who grew up here on Kauai. Nothing we had was really good and we sure were disappointed. Wish I had read the reviews here first instead of following my friend's advise. In addition our soda had some kind of insect wings in it so we asked for another which had guess what - wings in it. Yuck.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deanamae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Tiano's Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
We apologize for unfavorable experience you had with our restaurant. At Tiano's, we strive to ensure that we deliver high quality of food products & service and we back this 100 %. Because of what happened in your visit, we would like to offer the following option:
Ful Money Back with proof of purchase or $ 50 Gift Cert. than be used for your next visit.
Again, Thanks for trying Tiano's and also thanks for your input.

Sincerely,

Chef Joel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Oki Diner was better!”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Yuck. Avoid. Keep driving. Made my whole family sick last year when we visited.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ignore the decor”
Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

Don't be put off by the unexpected interior. From the outside, one would expect a local style old school dining hall melieu. Nope. Someone in the mid eighties went plaster crazy.
Focus on the food. The dinner chef is outstanding. There are a smattering of different american, ethnic, and local dishes. The pulehu steak with fresh steamed vegetables is perfect in its simplicity, presentation, and flavor. Their vegetables and salads are fresh and well prepared.
The service is friendly and attentive. You can eat inside or out on the back porch.
Breakfast is more popular, which is odd for a place with a full bar. There is a general sense of laid back laissez faire. Just because they seem to be all over the place in terms of defining who they are doesn't mean they don't do several things very well.

Helpful?
Thank Thal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Funky in a good way!”
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We always stop at Tiano's either arriving on the island or leaving. We like to sit on the back deck. We've only been there during non-busy times and the service has been great. Our server is always personable and efficient. The food we've tried has always been flavorful and plentiful. My husband generally gets the Loco Moco there and only there! Says it's the best ever!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chargarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiano's Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing