We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas at The Beach Club”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Christmas at The Beach Club”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We spent two weeks in Kauai, the first week at the Marriott property at Poipu Beach and our second week over Christmas at the Beach Club.
We much preferred Poipu Beach Marriott, but were also happy with The Beach Club.
It is a larger property, so you we felt we were with the "masses" for most of the time. While we had beach/poolside chairs each day, it was busy. We are Owners and requested and paid for an Ocean View. We were a bit disappointed having a full view of the rooftop, just over the lobby and partial ocean views. The small kitchen facilities were great, blender, microwave, mini-fridge etc. We were in a Suite and only had our room tidied once over the 7 day stay. They would come in daily and take the garbage out, but really should also have been checking/changing towels. We are a family of four and we had to ask several time for new towels and extra toilet paper. These are small details, but should be handled better. The food on site is very good, but expensive. The ocean is great for swimming, boogie boarding and paddling. It is not good for snorkelling. Small boardwalk that takes you to various other restaurants, which is very convenient, so no need to drive. Dukes was great, they have a different menu for upstairs and a different one for downstairs. Both were worth the visit. We also went to Portifino, as we heard it was excellent. Honestly, it was nothing special. They were busy, and the service was poor, food quality was mid-Italian. If you like a larger resort atmosphere you will not be disappointed. If you like a smaller more intimate location, with a few walking choices for beaches, great snorkelling and a bit more of a surf, then try the Poipu location (which is known as the sunniest part of the Island). The rooms were also nicer and larger, but no on-site restaurants, except for the pool bar. We will visit Kauai again, I preferred it to Maui. Lots to see and explore. Enjoy.

Room Tip: Lots of ocean view options. While its a large resort, we did not think it was difficult to walk aro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fourniers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    219
    103
    41
    27
See reviews for
195
374
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lantana, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

What a beautiful view!! You won't regret your choice of hotels. The pool is huge and it's steps away from the beach. You are surrounded by mountains and pure beauty! Water sport rentals are available nearby as well as a few restaurants that are off property.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tammy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
85 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

The pool and beach a this location are very impressive, though the rip currents in the ocean are brutal most days it seems. We stayed here for a week in an ocean view room on the 5th floor which was in excellent shape. The pool is one of the most beautiful I have ever seen and there were plenty of poolside options for food and drinks. A downside is that it is expensive, as is much of Hawaii. The 1 oz rum pina colada, for example, was $11.50 plus tip, of course. To save some money you can walk across the road to the harbor shops or to JJ's on the same side of the road. The only other downside is part of the beach is spoiled by an ugly container / port area and factory, but it's really not noticeable.

We stayed over Christmas they had lots of fun things for the kids.

They could not (or would not, one never knows) accommodate a late checkout request, and gave us keys to the hospitality suite which has only one shower for males and one for females. Given the limited flights from Lihue to the mainland, this is one area they really fall down, especially with a lot of families staying here.

It's still one of the most beautiful resorts I've ever been at view wise and has excellent facilities. I would stay here again given the opportunity.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdamC668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Just came back from 20 days on the Hawaiian Islands of Kauai and Big Island. We stayed in 4 different places but our trip started here. We were using our Interval International time share and exchanged for a week at the Marriott. Because of this, we didn't get the best view - we had a garden view villa that looked at a wall. It didn't matter, because we didn't spend much time in the room and we had pretty flowers and trees in our view as well. Our room was a hotel room with a king and then adjoined another studio which had a kitchenette and a murphy bed in the wall. The rooms very comfortable, clean with lots of towels. The small kitchen area is incredibly equipped for such a small space - have just about everything you could need to cook a simple meal - there are barbecues on property. We made our own lunches and breakfasts and then ate dinners at the local restaurants (we ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant the first day - it was quite pricey but good). The hotel staff went out of their way to get us some food when we arrived very late - all restaurants were closed but they managed to put together some sandwiches for us. Very appreciated. The hotel is located at the end of a bay which has lots of other restaurants and shops within easy walking distance. We enjoyed this aspect of staying here, as all other places we stayed required driving to get anywhere. The grounds and pool are beautiful and staff very helpful. The beach is gorgeous - very swimmable and the kids enjoyed boogie boarding here but the snorkelling is much better other places. Make sure to visit Dukes while you are here - great drinks and food. I would definitely recommend this place to stay. Here's another tip - the resort sells a Marriott travel mug for $32 - and then you can refill it with any kind of soft drink or coffee for your entire stay. I didn't discover it until day 3, so could have used it a few days earlier, but nobody offered it to me. I saw lots of people with the mug, but thought it was something they had picked up in the gift shop. Make sure to purchase one right away. You will save lot's of money, because coffee and soft drinks are quite pricey. We didn't participate in many resort organized activities but my daughter loved feeding the Koi at 9 every morning. A staff member comes out and feeds the fish and then leaves a tray of little containers of fish food. We discovered that if you wait for the fish to finish all the food that the staff member gives them, the fish will literally come and eat out of your hand - they kind of suck on your palm. They don't have teeth and my daughter got the biggest kick out of this!

Room Tip: Garden view rooms may look at another building, but are close to pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank aliceaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I have managed to get lucky in the time-share trading game twice in getting to trade into the Kauai Beach Club. This time around we got a much nicer suite. It was a recently renovated two room unit on the 11th floor with a wonderful view of Kalapaki beach. (Renovations aside, there is that feeling of entering a time capsule from 1962, walking around the grounds) The service was pretty good. One needs to keep in mind that this is a big property, and there is a lot of walking involved to get from one's room, to the parking lot, to the pool, to the beach, to the restaurants, etc. It is located very convenient to the airport, and centrally located for access to island attractions. Also, we got to extend our stay in one of the hotel rooms on the property, which was less nice, but still acceptable accommodations one would expect at a brand-name resort. I would try to trade here again next time I'm on Kauai.

Room Tip: The "Kilohana Tower" has all beach view rooms and has renovations in progress, so the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJDx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is one of the best family beaches in Kauai. All Hawaii beaches, regardless of location, are open to the public. However, Kalapaki Beach on the Marriott property, because of its relative inaccessibility is very much like a private beach. Parking is somewhat limited but if you're lucky enough to find a spot you'll be rewarded with one of the quietest beaches on the island. And, since the harbor is sheltered by a huge stone jetty it is usually very child friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

First time at Mariott Kauai Beach Club. Stayed Dec 15-22, 2013. We were given a one bedroom renovated unit (1115/1116) on the 11th floor of Kilohana building. Room was ocean front. We had end unit with balcony. We were the first ones to use this unit as it was just completed the week before we checked in. We arrived early from airport and called the resort. They said come on over as the room was ready. We checked in just a little after noon.

Room had two separate entrances, both using same key. Two tv and two fridge. Two bathrooms. We were on the second floor from the top and had unobstructed views of the water and the harbor. We enjoyed watching surfing from the balcony and the cruise ship squeezing into and out of the harbor.

It was like we were in a brand new hotel. Not only was the room completely renovated, the halls had new carpet and all woodwork in the hallway had fresh varnish.

Pool was beautiful. Plenty of lounge chairs at pool and beach any time.

We got this room via a timeshare exchange thru Interval International. Not sure what we would get when we made the reservation. Thanks to Aaron Higa, Mariott Vacation Planner. He contacted us a couple weeks prior to our arrival to ask us our room preference. Initially we were assigned to a sixth floor room. When the 11th floor opened up he had us reassigned to 1115/1116.

We stay in Kauai every year for two to four weeks. Hope to be able to come back to this Mariott again.

Room Tip: High floor Kilohana, for ocean front. You won't be disappointed. Nice views, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coolgolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,270 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club

Property: Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lihue
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#3 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#4 Family Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Vacatia, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Kaua`i Beach Club Hotel Lihue
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing