We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Best location in Kauai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best location in Kauai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I've stayed at this resort 3x -- 1x in the timeshare, 2x in hotel. The rooms come in various sizes. The suites are very nice with 1-2 bedrooms, and/or a wallbed (Murphy bed) in the living room. All beds, including the wallbed, are very comfortable. Kitchenette is small, with sink, microwave, small fridge, and dishwasher. No stove/oven. However there are plenty of excellent restaurants both at the resort or nearby. Everything is in walking distance. Hotel also provides a free shuttle to airport, which is just a few miles away (but there is no noise from planes, despite nearness of airport). Resort is located right on ocean, with beautiful views, nice beach, and nicely landscaped gardens. Resort pool is nice size, circular, not too deep, and has numerous (4?) hot tubs.
Service: When I booked my reservation online, I was asked my room preference. This was followed up with a personal email from a Marriott rep, confirming my request. They gave me exactly what I requested. And when I arrived on site, this representative contacted me twice more to confirm my satisfaction and offer any additional assistance. Nice customer service touch, Marriott! Keep it up!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaggieM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    190
    84
    31
    21
See reviews for
172
309
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Centennial, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This place is pretty nice. The pool is really nice. I just wish it had different areas with different depths for kids. The room was decent. They seem to keep them up to date.
The beach was decent, not amazing. I saw some people surfing so there is a little of everything.
The grounds were beautiful. They have fish feeding at the Koi Pond.
This resort is very close to the airport but you don't get lots of plane noise. Being that close is very convenient. It is also within a couple of miles from Costco where we get lots of food and drinks for much less than the resort charges. Taking a helicopter out of Lihue is very convenient too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken_from_Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

To start with, many reviews here are mixing up one of three properties that Marriott runs in this local area. This one, is the vacation club units or time share owned units which can be and are booked for nightly or longer stays. At this same loction on Rice street, they also run a true hotel called Marriott Kauai Resort which is really the large multi floor(15 tall I believe) building overlooking the pool. So if people write about looking down on the pool, they are really writing about the hotel rooms. In addition, Marriott has opened up the Kauai Lagoon units which are true time share units up the hill in the golf course by the ocean cliffs. We stayed there one night and the units are very nice but you don't have access to the great pool and beach equipment at this location.
So this is the Beach Club or time share units. They have one bedroom villa units with a king bedroom and a murphy (pull down wall bed) in the living room/eating room side and the two rooms can be locked off. They also have two bedroom villas. So if you book a studio, you'll get the murphy bed unit and if you book a guest room, you'l get the king bed but no eating area. Both sides have full bathrooms. Combined rooms is the one bedroom villa. Location of the room is also extra where the Oceanfront rooms are premium and very close to the ocean but a long walk from the main entrance. Ocean view can be anywhere and especially the higher floors. Garden view are the lower floors. We own a premium timeshare week and as we tend to travel to here in non-premium times, have always been able to get our favorite location which is ground floor ocean front. From the sliding glass door, you can literally walk out of the room, cross the pathway and enjoy one of the finest beaches for little kids to play in. Because the hotel is on the Nawiliwili bay, the waves are very mild and rarely rough. The sand is very fine and our two grandkids really enjoy playing and digging on the beach.
This resort/hotel is very large so expect to do a lot of walking. Don't expect to do much cooking as they only have a microwave in the unit although you can use the shared gas barbecues in the garden area. Both sides have small refrigerators but only the studio side has a microwave and dishes. We love the local food in Kauai so we have no problems with this. Look up Mark's Place for a really surprising place to get takeout food. You'll need a car if you want to enjoy the local food. There are the regular hotel restaurants and some close by tourist restaurants which are not too bad to walk too. You get to these by walking the ocean pathway. Duke's is also next to the hotel and you can do a room charge at Duke's where we've always enjoyed one meal upstairs every visit. Downstairs Duke is mostly drinks and a limited food menu.
One of the best things about the Resort is the hugh pool. It's a large circular but shallow (4 ft.) pool and is probably the largest fresh water pool in Hawaii. You never feel crowded although the lounge chairs can fill up and there is not much shade. There are three or more spas around the back side of the pools which are also fun to relax in. There's also a chldren pool with a slide and there's more shade here as it's next to the tall hotel building. One of the problems these days are the cruise ships which wander into the harbor and dock a couple of miles away. The touristy shops near the hotel run free shuttles for the cruisers so you will see a lot of them when a ship is docked. You can tell by the same color of their towels that they are off the ship. They are free to use the beach as it's a public beach but not the pool nor the beach equipment which the hotel provides for it's customers. It's a very large beach so you really don't notice them too much. The same is true for the Marriott Lagoon customers where there they can get a free shuttle down to the Resort area and use the beach, but not the pool (suppose to have a wrist band on if you're staying here) or the lawn chair.
One of the fun things to do is the 9 a.m. koi fish feeding. Bring a camera and watch out for splashing fishes. The hotel supplies free food and kids and adults get to feed pellets to the hundreds of colorful fishes. There is also a very nice exercise room with good equipment to use. There are laundry rooms but not necessarily on every floor. The staff is generally good but did experience one desk clerk who guessed as to how to transfer to the Lagoon till I made her call the place and confirm we could just send up our luggage via the shuttle and not have to go up there first. She told us we had to go check in before we sent the luggage which was not what we wanted to do as checkin there like here is 4 p.m. and checkout is 10 a.m. It would be nice if they changed these rediculous times to something more normal like out at 11 a.m. and in at 3 p.m. It's a matter of staffing and planning but apparently not the way here. Depending on how you get booked into these rooms, you may not have any towel changes or beds made (called a tidy). A full tidy (changing of sheets, vacuuming and general clean up) normally costs you extra if you're timesharing.

This is a great place to stay with grandkids(4th time) and we always (6 stays now) have enjoyed the place. There seems to be less wild chickens now so you don't hear them crow as much as before. Being close to the airport has always been a plus for this location. Use the phone at the information booth to call for the shuttle when you arrive to make sure it comes and gets you. A great place to relax and enjoy the warm Hawaiian weather.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Pudgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had rented a bungalow in Poipu Beach and opted to stay our last night closer to the airport in Lihue. We used points and got a stunning pool view room with a lavishly appointed suite. The room was very bright and airy with gorgeous furniture and bedding. They even brought us up a microwave to use for our young daughter's food. The pool is really something to see - the pictures on their website don't do it justice. The grounds are very 'Zen' and calming as you wind your way to the front lobby. One of the many highlights was feeding the crazy giant Koi fish in the lobby pond! There's also a comical talking bird that hangs out and makes goofy noises for the camera. The service in ALL areas of the hotel was outstanding. The morning breakfast buffet was delicious, too. Oh....one thing......don't waste your time at the Italian restaurant attached to the hotel - service there was very slow and my $50 (!) piece of lobster was the most boring seafood I have ever eaten. The white rice was void of any seasoning. Portions are small - my husband's pasta dish was child sized. Go to Duke's or somewhere down the street.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor for some great photos of the whole property!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SockMonkey67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Springs, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We have stayed at this Marriott property every time we stay on Kauai. Very nice accommodations, we always stay in a 2 bedroom unit facing the beach! We are Marriott vacation club members and we really love this Marriott property. Close to the airport and several local restaurants. In fact you can walk to the end of the beach and have some good food right in the beach parking lot.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Harvey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I came to Hawaii for Labor Day week. After spending 3 days/4 nights in Maui we decided to spend the last 4 days/5 nights in Kauai. Staying at this Marriott was the best decision of the entire trip! Driving into the resort, we were amazed at the size and beauty of the property. It's central location was perfect. The attached and surrounding restaurants and stores mean you never have to travel far to enjoy the island, although this island has so much to offer that a rental car is recommended. The staff is friendly and accommodating. We went on a tour of the property and explored the property extensively. The lagoon has a breathtaking view and was perfect for sipping Mai Thai's and enjoying yourself. I HIGHLY recommend the resort for your next getaway!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank brandonlavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The room was a good size. I prefer a bathroom with door on the separate WC. I also like a magnifying mirror. The mini fridge was nice to have.
The beach is a beautiful golden sand on a fairly protected bay which is good for paddle boarding. The overall feeling I got was that this hotel/vacation club is also a good place for conferences. It reminded me of Vegas. The pool is huge, the hot tubs make me think of Caesars Palace.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oystertravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 2,023 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 stars 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club

Property: Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Address: 3610 Rice Street, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lihue
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#3 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#4 Family Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 464
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Kaua`i Beach Club Hotel Lihue
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing