We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“we had a beautiful view of the beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“we had a beautiful view of the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Well, we are seniors. But before I get to that part...it is a huge resort...we had an ocean view and that was awesome. Getting from the front door anywhere does not take disabilities into account...you do a lot of mileage getting around. And if you want to go for brunch or dinner at their restaurant then you have steps....Dukes and Portofino are long walks and steps too...but great food. The staff are all very pleasant throughout the resort. Oh yes only bathtubs no stall showers at least where we were.

Room Tip: As for the view that you want. There is a pool view too
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judyhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    205
    91
    34
    24
See reviews for
181
336
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moorpark, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the Marriott Kauai Beach Club after going through our choices of Marriotts on the Kauai Island. I figured others might be interested in knowing our comparisons. It was an absolutely stunning location. We stayed in one of the 1 BR Villas with an oceanfront view that was absolutely breathtaking! We had a view overlooking the ocean, in this case I would actually recommend a lower level. We were on the 5th of 12 floors (which really meant it was the 3rd level and this was just perfect, because we feel asleep to the sound of the waves. If you were staying in the Marriott Resort, the rooms are on the other side of the pool so I would recommend a high room, as these are further away from the pool noise and with a better view of the ocean. Also for those debating between this and the Marriott Lagoons, the lagoons are right on the golf course, but they are off away from the beach. The villas up there at the Lagoons put the Beach Club to shame, but you are away from the pool and beach. Finally, the pool, it was absolutely amazing, biggest pool I think I've ever seeen and clean and at least in May, not overly crowded by the kiddies, great fun.

PROTIP: The drinks at the poolside bar are going to run you $9-10 a beer, or $13-15 for a mixed drink, and while not as delicious, you can buy beer, alcohol and snacks at the ABC store, at the shopping just down the walkway from Duke's.

In addition if you want to avoid paying a ton of money at the restaurants, there are several at a 5 minute walk at the Mall across the street. Good tasting too. Recommend the happy hour at Kalapaki Joe's from 3-6.

Room Tip: If in the Oceanfront suites, choose a lower floor room to get the sound of the waves as you're f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank casiperuano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

If you are staying at the hotel on this property, the rooms are lovely. If you bought a package over the phone, like we did, you do not get what they offered. We purchased a 5-night package to stay and view the time-shares. We were told we would be staying in luxurious accommodations that would normally go for $400-$500 per night if we attended a time-share presentation. They gave us a room in the oldest building on the property, built in the 50's, old furniture and not even a picture on the wall. We were told they were refurbishing the property in August, but we had to use our package by May. We felt deceived and that they definitely did a "bait and switch." Not happy about this trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is our second visit to the resort. As Marriott owners, we expect a higher level of amenities. The resort is slated for a "refresh" in September, according to the staff. Furnishings are tired, no kitchen/stove make this a second-rate Marriott property. The lobby/grounds are much better than the rooms. Location is ideal, however. Come if you want an average hotel in a great location....pass if you're an owner expecting the usual high standards of apartment living.

Room Tip: High floors give you the best view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marriott_Owner_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

This location was great. Five minute comp shuttle from the airport. The hotel grounds were beautiful . The pool was huge and I believe there were five hot tubs. The cove was a great place to swim and see the cruise ship leave from. We ate at dukes for dinner which was really good and I think between 4-5 they had a live band playing not sure on correct times. The second night we ate at the sushi restaurant at the Marriott . Great. Very nice waiter who informed us of great places to see on the island. We had a pool/ ocean view room. The mountains were very green and lush. If you explore behind dukes there are a lot of shops and restaurants. I can't remember the name of the restaurant but it had a big breakfast sign and shaved ice sign. It had awesome breakfasts. We then took the shuttle back o the airport for our helicopter touring our last day before heading o the other side of the island. The staff at the from desk helped us with a scan and fax for unexpected business while we were there. They were very accommodating. I greatly appreciated it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ash_nick_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

When we first arrived at the bellhop and took the escalator down to the lobby level, I was impressed by the size of the structure inside. The large fish and dragon statues on each side of the enclosed garden area brought Vegas to mind. Everything looked relatively modern, aside from the expected historical decor.
However, our room revealed the age of the property. The hallway we were on was long and tomb-like, and felt like something out of "The Shining." We were on the same hall as the Marriott Vacation Club back-office: that is, the offices where those folks check in and out for work, not where timeshare preso's would happen. Our floor (fifth) was on the same level as the bellhop, which turned out to be convenient, because we never had to take the elevator or escalator to walk out to the parking area. Speaking of which, after our initial use of the elevator to get to our floor from the lobby level, I never was able to get the elevator from our floor - I tried a couple of times, but the elevator never came, and I ended up taking a stairwell or the escalator.
An employee mentioned that this converted property was old - I think they said something like 60 years.
Because we had traded from our Marriott Ko Olina timeshare on Oahu, I was expecting a kitchenette. Shame on me for not reading the room description, which states that there's just a mini-refrigerator.
The property is nice. The pool is massive, and having five hot tubs is great. The water slide is small - I'd think not really interesting for kids over 9 or 10. Location is very convenient to the airport, and several tourist shops, activity-booking offices, and restaurants are within easy walking distance. The beach was never crowded during our stay (spring break) - we saw a lot more people at Poipu, which is a bigger beach draw.
We'll be back to Kauai someday, but will opt to stay at a place with a kitchen.

>>> Timeshare tip<<<
We agreed to sit through another Marriott timeshare pitch, and were given the option of either the Lagoons property up the road or the Waiohai at Poipu. To go to the Waiohai, you have to have your own transportation (it's a 25-30 minute drive), so Marriott increases your gift and also gives you a day pass to that property. We went with that, because we wanted to give the kids a change of scenery. Plus we got to see Poipu and a bit of Koloa, which we might not have gotten around to otherwise. So for the effort of a short drive (and a preso of course), you can make a day of visiting another nice area and using another nice property. Remember to bring your own towels from the old Marriott.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank madvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Very comfortable, very nice, good location for all things we wanted to do. Pool at times could get a bit noisy when their parents don't care to pay attention to them, maybe a separate, adult only pool would meet the needs of those who don't want to be around children? Golf course was great, in wonderful shape.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolores N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club

Property: Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1705
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lihue
#3 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#4 Family Hotel in Lihue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 464
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Kaua`i Beach Club Hotel Lihue
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing