We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Lihue
Reviewed November 16, 2011

The Marriott Beach Club Resort provided excellent accomendations..we had a 1 bedroom villa which we enjoyed..very freindly staff, clean rooms..where trashed was picked up daily. Our only issue was with the term "Beach Front"...The so call beach front room was actually several 1000 feet away.....

Room Tip: Beach Front..may not actually be Beach Front....inspect your room before you accept it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnp676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

592 - 598 of 767 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2011

We had originally booked this room via Hotel.com but got a solicitation via Marriott ebreaks the previous Monday for a much lower rate. Never dreamed it would be a "wall bed" - meaning a sofa bed and the room came with no amenities and even a bottle of Gorden's gin and Kirkland flatbread crackers left in the cabinets. We asked for a different room because we are Marriott Gold - We were told it would be a significant upgrade charge only after we were moved to a different room. After a lot of complaining, this was waived. I was absolutely shocked that we were booked not into the hotel side but into the timeshare side with nothing on the confirmation to tell us that. Additionally, there was absolutely no notification that the room was IMMEDIATELY not able to be cancelled because it needed a 10 day notificaiton period and there was only 4 days. This was only available in fine print on the email that was eventually sent and not prior to making the reservation.

The eventual upgraded room was lovely but the shower didn't work, there was only shampoo and soap as amenities and my finger went right through the wash cloth because the cotton was rotten. Most of the other linens were equally in need of replacement.

This is a hotel or timeshare that needs better management. A call the next morning to the front desk manager went poorly. She listened to my complaints about the reservation process being both misleading in terms of cancellation policy, upgrades, sofa bed vs. regular beds, etc. but basically listened politely and said she would pass it on.

My husband and I also felt that the current Marriott policy where points are practically useless is also a terrible problem. We travel extensively and practically no Marriott will ever have availability for point usage as opposed to Starwoods where our points are always used graciously and we are always upgraded if possible. What a difference between the programs!

We own both Marriott and Starwoods timeshares and would love to never hear the word Marriott again after this stay and the one just prior to this at Marriott's Newport Coast where the unit was dirty, had bugs, and was equally in need of better management and renovation.

Room Tip: Don't go to this hotel. The front desk or even the front desk manager will do nothing to assist...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank montauk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We only spent 1 night here and we loved it. We were able to check in early so we got our rooms on the 6 floor overlooking the pool and ocean. We dropped of our stuff and headed to the North Shore,
WE had 2 rooms side by side , one a king size bedroom and the other a wall bed and small kitched area. both rooms had balconies. The beds were comfortable and the room had everything we needed.
The resort is in an awesome location very close to the airport but situated on a nice beach. We had a really good dinner at Dukes, it was Halloween and we were practically the only people there.
WE decided to spend our last day here so we would be closer to the North Shore for our last full day and then be close to the airport for our last day.
I returned our rental car to the airport in the morning and then took the free shuttle back to the hotel. We were able to relax at the beach and pool all day. There are also several places to shop at or near the hotel. We did not hear the planes much.
Our flight did not leave until 8:30 so we really enjoyed a day of relaxation at the Marriott. We took the shuttle to the airport at 7:15 and were good to go.
I hope we can return to this resort again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Everything from check in to check out made for a dream vacation. After trading our vacation week in Orlando for a one bedroom in Kauai, I was so pleased to receive an upper floor ocean front one bedroom unit. The view was great. The king size bed was so comfortable. And the sounds of the ocean to retire at night and wake up to every morning couldn't have been more soothing. The beauty of the landscape was so beautiful. The large heated pool along with the 5 hot tubs and ocean views made for a truly relaxing day in the sun. The on sight restaurants were a bit pricey, even for a resort. But there were plenty of alternatives, even within walking distance of the resort. October-Early November was definitely a good time to go. Very few children and not at all crowded.
The island is so beautiful and there are a number of sightseeing trips. Many trips are available with your rental car. Some areas are accessible only by boat or helicopter. My wife and I never tired of viewing the mountains right out our room window.
Although the resort is only a couple miles from the airport, we never noticed any sound problems. And Lihue is where cruise ships dock. In fact, we could see them come and go.
Our overall experience was just great. From accommodations to staff to cleanliness and beauty of the grounds made for a truly perfect vacation!!!

Room Tip: Kilohana wing-upper floor. Ocean front. One bed-2 bath unit. Limited kitchen. Sleeps 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KJBUCKLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

I have stayed in many Marriott's all around the world and this is the first one that I feel the need to let other people know that it is not worth staying at. The service was bad and they charge you as much as possible with many hidden service charges. We feel that they took advantage of being able to do this to customers. I do not mind paying for service charges but theirs were a bit too much. The rooms do not have much of a view of the pool or ocean.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a direct ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Everything was stellar! The rentable beach cabana was superb, needs more frequent wait staff at cabanas though. Rooms were awesome! View was amazing! Walking distance from great shopping and food.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SweetDeePhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed here on our honeymoon and loved it. The atmosphere is very relaxing and everyone is extremely nice. The pool area is right on the beach so you can pick and choose where you want to cool off without much fuss. The room itself was your typical no frills room. The only draw back was there was no quick way to get any where in the hotel. The shops, pools and restaurants were all a bit of walk to get there. You pretty much had to walk around the entire building to get to the pool area. We were both a little surprised there wasnt a cut through. I found this hotel the right mix of relaxation and fun, we were within walking distance to several types of restaurants, bars and shops. Everything closes pretty early though so there isnt much of a night scene, which was fine for us since most nights we were struggling to make it past 10.

I highly recommend the pool bar also, the staff is extremely nice and helpful and they make a great drink. The little grill they have attached also puts out some decent afternoon snacks and very good lunch specials.
All and all we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lala4583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lihue
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,395 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club

Address: 3610 Rice St, Kalapaki Beach, Lihue, Kauai, HI 96766-1705
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Lihue
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lihue
#3 Spa Hotel in Lihue
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lihue
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lihue
#4 Family Hotel in Lihue
Price Range: $269 - $532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Kaua`i Beach Club Hotel Lihue
Marriott's Kaua'i Beach Club Kauai, HI

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing