We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luau and show - average for both”
Review of Luau Kalamaku

Luau Kalamaku
Book In Advance
More Info
$110.36*
and up
Luau Kalamaku and Buffet Dinner
Ranked #1 of 5 Concerts & Shows in Lihue
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
119 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“A luau and show - average for both”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

So here is the good and the bad.

The price for the luau and show is around a hundred dollars, which about average.

The food is average, except for the pork which is very good. They cook the pig in a pit next to the dining area and you have the option of seeing them remove the pig from the pit. They then bring the pig into the dining area as part of a ceremony. Note: They take the food away quicker than expected so don't delay when getting seconds. Also it is very difficult to get up and get more food or drinks once the show starts as the performers come down all of the aisles.

The show is part hula and part play. Someone mentioned that it was part cirque du soleil, but that would be a major stretch as there is no acrobatics, but just acting and some fire performance. Overall good, but I would suggest paying for a great meal and seeing the Hawaii Alive show at the Marriott if you want a true Hawaiian experience.

Get there a half hour early to see some of the crafts and other exhibits that are on the grounds. Also for those that drink you can get your fill of free drinks.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Masci_JM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    798
    400
    130
    68
    34
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Meh. Not bad to do once. ”
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

The food was pretty average. This is a HUGE event with several hundred attendees. The buffet line moves fast... Service is prompt and efficient. If you're a drinker (we are not), the open bar will be a big plus. But it is not an intimate affair at all. Its a pretty big, well-orchestrated production. Nothing "wowed" me... food was "acceptable" but nothing special. Entertainment was likewise "acceptable" but nothing special. Good to try once; no need to try it again. Ever.

Helpful?
1 Thank herzoke
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Francesville, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This luau is the less traditional one, more like a dinner theater but that's what we wanted. Very enjoyable show especially the musicians and the fire dancers. Food was good considering they have to cook for 400.

Can't go to Hawaii without seeing a luau.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank thoray1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not a Luau But a Full Theatrical Performance”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This is not a Luau in the traditional Hawaiian sense. It is an indoor cultural theatrical performance of the highest quality with a so-so belly stuffer buffet. Held on an old English sugar plantation. The story line depicts the arrival of the first Polynesians to Kauwai in beautiful music, color and fire dancing. This is well worth the cost for the show but shop around for specials on tickets as prices vary widely among dealers. If you want a real luau, shop for the old school outdoor picnic style luau with local dance entertainment which is much cheaper that the $100/ticket we paid.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank zippideedoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Fabulous”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We went to the luau our last night in Kauai and it was wonderful. The story of the people of the island was well told and acted out. Everyone did a great job and I appreciated that we got the English translation of what was happening. The buffet was great and I sampled everything in it. Some I liked, some I can live without. I knew I had been to Kauai with this experience.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank cherylelynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luau Kalamaku also viewed

 

Been to Luau Kalamaku? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing