We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good stuff!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shaka Shave Ice

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shaka Shave Ice
Ranked #59 of 116 Restaurants in Lihue
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Restaurant details
Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good stuff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

A nice, refreshing treat in the middle of a hot day. Clean. Very Hawaiian! Not much else you can say ... the program wants me to type more characters ... it's shave ice. It's good.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank eggo87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hazen, North Dakota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Shave Ice is nothing like a snow cone. Very flavorful. Great with a scoop of ice cream in the bottom!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank DeeDee748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, SD
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Shake Shave Ice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

The shave ice was just ok but the shakes were wonderful,
especially the chocolate. Did notice the locals came in for
shave ice tho.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank pianokeysMarion_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good stuff but no regular hours.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Happy to find this place for shave ice so close to our hotel. It was really good. Their sign said hours open were from 12:00 to 5:00, but that is not really the case. They open and close when they feel like it. One day we were there at about 12:30 and they weren't open. Also, they told us that when business looks slow they close early. I also think the burger place next store overshadows the shave ice section. It could be easily missed. They don't seem too interested in attracting any business. I guess they're just on island time, so it's all good. There's a better place in Kapa'a (Ono shave ice - and it's less expensive).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank yankeesgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Smooth!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Best texture of all shaved ice I had on the island. Flavor of syrup was ok. I had mango, guava and pineapple.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Corey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shaka Shave Ice also viewed

 

Been to Shaka Shave Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing